We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Walsgrave

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
382 Walsgrave Road, Coventry CV2 4AF, England
+44 24 7645 1174
Website
Today
08:00 - 22:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 151: English reviews
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

During a recent visit to Coventry we went for lunch at the Walsgrave as we had heard good reports about the carvery. We were not disappointed the carvery was very good, with a good selection of vegetables to go with it, my only criticism would be that it all could have been a little bit hotter. The price was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rppz
Bernie C, General Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Hi Rppz, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.We are really pleased you you enjoyed your visit,but are sorry that the temperature was not up to standard.Please do not hesitate to let a member of our team know of any problems on your next visit so we can put it right immediately. Many thanks Bernie... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to The Walsgrave yesterday. I used to go regularly to The Walsgrave years ago when it was under different management. Thought i would visit and see what it was like seeing as it is now a Sizzling Pub which i have been to a few but not a Carvery one. I had the Traditional Carvery which was £4.99! Awesome... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
Bernie C, General Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review. We are really glad you have returned to the Walsgrave after a few years although we are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your brownie. Please do not hesitate to let us know on your next visit if something is not to your... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I wasn't very impressed with the lack of greeting received. Found something blue in cabbage then no more to come or for "while" as unimpressed chef stated. No apology for this. Not been made aware of table service as well as bar. Didn't get checked in enough. Meat was quite fatty. No option for chicken for small carvery the two... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zara C
Bernie C, General Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Hi Zara. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations.I would really like the opportunity to discuss the above issues with you.Please feel free to call anytime on 02476451174. Regards Bernie Curley General Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Went for lunch yesterday , walked in and was looked after from word go ! Carvery was excellent , food piping hot and fresh , plenty of choice of meats and veg , beautiful salad bar available , desserts came out promptly , for such a busy place the speed of service was fantastic well done to the Walsgrave, best... More 

Helpful?
Thank rainey120
Bernie C, General Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Hi Rainy120, Thankyou so much for your great feedback , we are very happy that you had a great visit and hope to see you again very soon !! Kindest regards, Bernie Curley & the team More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

Who can not resist a good traditional roast, certainly not me. This carvery appears to have thought of everything, there is even pizza and a salad bar, just in case anyone in your party does not like a carvery. We did have to wait approx. 15-20 minutes for a table to become free but this was explained at the beginning... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda B
Bernie C, General Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Hi Linda, Thankyou very much for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are so pleased that you had a great visit and enjoyed your meal.All of our guest feedback is essential to our business and is discussed with all of the team. So again thsnkyou very much for a great review !! Kind regards, Bernie Curley &... More 

Coventry
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

Visited for the first time with a group of 16. Had the carvery, meat great and plenty.of hot fresh vegetables to choose from . Great choice of desserts and massive portions too. Friendly staff ,nice atmosphere. Large bar area with pool table for those who just want a drink which was nice to see.

Helpful?
Thank Graham H
Bernie C, General Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Hi Graham, Thankyou so much for taking the time to give us a great review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your meal and really hope you and your large party return very soon !! Kind regards, Bernie Curley & the team More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I was taken here by my daughter for lunch on my birthday. As well as the carvery there is more on the menu. Still quite limited though. Food was very nice and there was 7 of us. Carvery still good, but I had gammon egg & chips. The gammon was very nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank AndyMM1963
Bernie C, General Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Hi Andy, Thnakyou very much for taking the time to do us a great review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your meal and hope you had a great birthday :-) we hope you all return very soon Kind regards Bernie Curley & the team More 

Bedworth, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Been going to The Walsgrave for a Sunday carvery over 20 years and this morning was the first time we visited for a cooked breakfast. There's plenty to choose from; fried bread, bacon, sausage, fried egg, plum tomatoes, beans, chips, hash browns, button mushrooms (in individual pots) and toast. You also have a choice of condiments and jams. Hot drinks... More 

Helpful?
Thank pajawa
Bernie C, General Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Hi Pajawa, 20 years ....Wow !!! thankyou so very much for taking the time to give us fantastic feedback and also thankyou for the last 20 years !! we are really pleased you had a great breakfast and hope you continue to visit us for another 20 years ! very kind regards, Bernie Curley & the team More 

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

We visited today and, although it was almost 3pm on a Monday afternoon, the restaurant area was quite busy. We both had the £6.49 meal deal which was really good value for money - carvery, steak and ale pie, treacle sponge and custard, ice cream. Even without the meal deal, there was plenty of choice at reasonable prices. I like... More 

Helpful?
Thank MMP56
Bernie C, General Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Hi MMP56, Thanks so much for taking the time to do a review, We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal and hope you return again very soon ! Many thanks Bernie Curley More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2016

My first visit to this pub for donkies years and what a pleasant surprise we had. the place is very clean and nicely decorated, we had lunch and the food was very good as were the very polite and efficient staff. we will definitely visit again soon. Staff well done keep it up.

Helpful?
Thank philipburgess45
Bernie C, General Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Hi Philip, Thanks for you review, we are really pleased you had a great visit.We look forward to seeing you back again soon. Many thanks Bernie Curley More 

Travellers who viewed The Walsgrave also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Walsgrave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$11
Cuisine
British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 382 Walsgrave Road, Coventry CV2 4AF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Coventry
  • Phone Number: +44 24 7645 1174
Description
We are a new brand of the Mitchells and Butlers group. Formerly a Crown Carvery we have been transformed into a Sizzling - Pizza, Pub & Carvery, which now provides great guest service and freshly cooked meals for all food lovers. The pub reopened in december and has continued to thrive with its new trade, with happy guests leaving every day. situated on walsgrave road it is a perfect place for all the family to come and eat and at any time of the day, we serve breakfast from 8:00 until 11:30 and Main meals continue throughout the day until 22:00.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Walsgrave staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?