We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hare and Hounds

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Watery Lane | Keresley, Coventry CV7 8JA, England
+44 24 7633 2716
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 129: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a lovely mothers day family meal. Carvery is fab really filling. What can I say about desert. So filling and yummy it's to die for. Service is excellent so welcoming.

Helpful?
1 Thank sarah k
Kellie H, Owner at The Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your mother's day family meal with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I've not been here for years......but still quaint...... great atmosphere and lots of happy locals frequenting the bar. Now it's under new management so managing folk are obviously finding their feet and put their own touch on things but we were all impressed. ....... bearing in mind there was also a wedding going on...... poor chef must have been ran... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Lincsfella
U.K.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked for a wake. Just wanted sandwiches and chips. Nothing fancy but excellent quality. Staff were friendly but not pushy. Good value for the price. Under new management and as we live locally we will definitely be back for an evening meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marod77
Kellie H, Owner at The Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Tthank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed it and look forward to seeing you again in the near future More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just been into the Hare and Hounds. After looking online at their menu the evening before we were looking forward to going. Booked a table for 8pm. On arrival told "we'll have to take your order straight away cos the restaurant closes at 8 and the chef has to get home"! Alarm bells ringing. Then given 2 menus which had... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank TheUserCov
Kellie H, Owner at The Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had such a bad experience with us. We only took over 10 days ago and are still trying to settle in. Due to new kitchen management we are in the process of creating a fresh new menu using fresh ingredients and a local selected butcher. Your comments have been taken on board and as the new owners... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a party of 18 for lunch. It appears that this was the first day under new management so I can not be too critical. In fact they were not even aware of our booking, poor handover. They are obviously short staffed as we were served by one waitress who did a sterling job. However, it was 20 minutes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liam D
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent choice of bar food for adults & kids. Friendly staff & lovely venue. They lost a star from my rating only because they missed a couple of items off the plates & couldn't replace them without taking the whole plate away & cooking again - and also my first & second choice of desserts from the menu were not... More 

Helpful?
Thank JLMorris81
Kellie H, Owner at The Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future. We take all your comments on board and are working hard to improve. We are currently putting together a new menu which will be on the website shortly . Regards Kellie, Gaz & Team More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We travelled from Lancashire to meet friends from Berkshire with 2 dogs between us. Staff were so friendly, food was great and they allowed us to serve our own birthday cake after the meal. Will definitely be back. Thank you very much.

Helpful?
Thank KizzieGreen
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017

Recommended to go for Sunday lunch,what a mistake.Cheap produce of very poor quality,limited selection of produce,desserts small and certainly not homemade.Staff disinterested ,customer service skills need attention.

Helpful?
Thank coventryWestMidlands
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Despite pre- booking, we endured a spoilt duration of our long anticipated joyous occasion. A family get together had to endure high cost, lukewarm and poor quality meal. Small portions, lukewarm food, mushy veg which resembled frozen and all main meal pre-served on the plate with no consideration of choices of veg or quantity of veg or gravy. Not acceptable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane A
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016

Great food well served, varied menu , sorts all pockets and good for children, small play area, staff friendly

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W

Travellers who viewed The Hare and Hounds also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Watery Lane | Keresley, Coventry CV7 8JA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Coventry
  • Phone Number: +44 24 7633 2716

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hare and Hounds staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?