We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square

31-33 East Parade, Leeds LS1 5PS, England
+44 113 246 0669
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (478 reviews)
“oysters” (29 reviews)
“chateaubriand” (30 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, British, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
31-33 East Parade, Leeds LS1 5PS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We chose to come here on a weekend away in Leeds, encouraged by a positive trip adviser rating....how wrong can something be ! We arrived on time at 8pm on a Saturday night, we left drinks unfinished in a previous bar in order to show...More

Thank Vic100Lichfield
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Just popped in for a steak and my wife ordered sausage and mash and when it came the sausages were pink! The waiter who clearly needs to nip across the way to Vision Express told me they were pre cooked before they came in haha...More

Thank Timothy S
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We come to Leeds about twice a year. Every visit we make sure we eat at The Blackhouse. And every visit is amazing.. We had the most amazing meal.. The waitress Courtney advised me that I Could have Lobster on the side which I did.....More

Thank Demented_Em
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Called in yesterday for a late lunch. The table we were initially offered was a little cramped. We asked to sit somewhere differently and this was immediately provided. We both had an excellent chicken parfait snd my husband followed with possibly the most quirky steak...More

Thank Jill A
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are here Sunday afternoon and it was poor, the service was shockingly bad in loads of ways from really slow to been offered a desert menu before our mains and drinks had arrived to asking for the bill twice. We have eaten here loads...More

Thank MollyandSky
Amanda K, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Molly Thank you for taking the time out to leave us your feedback. It seems we have under delivered on your visit and we'd like to opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please could you email me with your details so that my...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Dined here on a very VERY busy Saturday evening and the food was just superb! A lovely bustling atmosphere with a brilliant live pianist - it's a shame he isn't on every night! Despite the restaurant being incredibly busy the service was still top notch,...More

Thank laurenbaker2017
Amanda K, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Lauren, Thank you so much for taking the time out to leave such lovely feedback. Myself and the team are really pleased you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Anything else I can do for you don't hesitate...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Ate here last night and it was excellent. Steaks were delicious as was the Cauliflower Cheese, very good service and was so good overall we tried to book to go again this evening but it was closed which was a shame but would definitely recommend...More

Thank SARACEN77
Amanda K, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving us such nice feedback. We're sorry we couldn't accommodate you last week - we were closed for a private event. We'd love to see you again on your next visit to Leeds. Kindest regards Amanda

Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing Steak and amazing atmosphere. We really do love it every time we come here. Service is always spot on. This time our table was booked for 8 oclock but we didn't get seated until 8:35 which was a little annoying, but we had drinks...More

Thank xoFairyKissox
Amanda K, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello there Thank you so much for the feedback. Myself and the team are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards Amanda

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was good but unfortunately the service was disappointing. We had booked a table for two for my husband and I. Was shown to a small table next to a very large party which included a children. In the space in between the two...More

Thank KathD07
Amanda K, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kath, Thank you for your feedback and review. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your table at Blackhouse. Sunday's in particular are family orientated with many of our regular guests choosing to bring the kids along with them. I'm sorry we couldn't offer you a...More

A TripAdvisor Member
73
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here with friends on a friday night. Literally had to shout at each other all night due to the pianist being so loud - best bit of the meal was when he took a break. Eaten here a lot of the last few years...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Amanda K, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Thank you for leaving us your review and feedback. We'd like to discuss the aspect of food quality a little further with you. I'm sorry to hear your experience wasn't up to scratch this time and we hope to make things right. Kindest regards...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Tattu
431 reviews
.03 km away
Gusto Restaurant & Bar
531 reviews
.07 km away
The Lost & Found
153 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Leeds Town Hall
254 reviews
.23 km away
White Cloth Gallery
66 reviews
.23 km away
Leeds Central Library
47 reviews
.25 km away
Park Square
31 reviews
.17 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
IlPariota
15 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Grill-on-the-Square | Property representative |
We serve until it has sold out, on a regular Sunday they usually last into the evening or at least until 7pm.
0
Votes
Deanobt6
19 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jean-Paul B | Reviewed this property |
Hello there, To answer the question "how close is the restaurant to Neville Street" . If you stay at the Hilton hotel the answer is 10 minutes walk. Pass through the tunnel and go toward city Square. There, you should see... More
0
Votes
Clarec885
3 August 2015|
Answer
Response from Ami N | Reviewed this property |
I wouldn't have thought so no! Its quite classy at a reasonable price!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14 - US$47
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Monday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31-33 East Parade, Leeds LS1 5PS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Leeds
  • Phone Number: +44 113 246 0669
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing