We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Buffers

#260 of 1,532 Restaurants in Leeds}
$$ - $$$, British,
Rakehill Road | Scholes, Leeds LS15 4AL, England
+44 113 265 9000
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good27%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rakehill Road | Scholes, Leeds LS15 4AL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited as a family party of five adults and a child. I was expecting something exceptional from previous reviews but was totally disappointed. Garlic mushrooms starter wasn't recognisable. Not deep fried but sliced mushrooms in a sauce on toast! Prawn cocktail had few prawns.The roast...More

Thank Trevor H
Darren B, Owner at The Buffers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Trevor thank you for your review, sorry that you felt we didn’t hit the mark. All the dishes that you commented on are freshly cooked firm favourites that can vary slightly from batch to batch, however we do strive for consistency. Again apologies that you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four of us ate here last week and were all pleasantly surprised. The decor and ambiance are pretty basic but the food was excellent. A good selection to choose from on the menu and all at reasonable prices. I had an excellent Malaysian Laksa, the...More

Thank MikeWadeSherburn
Darren B, Owner at The Buffers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind comments Mike and we hope to see you again very soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not been in ages, then been twice in a fortnight. Perfect each time. Hubby had steak both times which he said were better than places like Gaucho and The Ryther. Staff are a real credit too. Many thanks

Thank beaniesmum
Darren B, Owner at The Buffers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind comments. We are extremely happy with our meat supplier and it is very encouraging to hear that we at the very least compete with great steak houses. Hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Welcoming staff and excellent service. Lovely home cooked food Huge portions ( no starters needed) Children welcome Definitely worth a try

Thank Stewart W
Darren B, Owner at The Buffers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Stewart, many thanks for your kind comments. We hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed 7 November 2017

6 of us went all thoroughly enjoyed mum had Alaska and it was lovely myth husband had the steak and it was cooked to perfection lively place and friendly staff

Thank kellybird1970
Darren B, Owner at The Buffers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Many thanks for your kind comments and extremely pleased that you all enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Steak cooked to perfection. Wife had Laksa which looked and tasted lovely. Would recommend the food here.More

Thank John B
Darren B, Owner at The Buffers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for kind comments. We do pride ourselves on sourcing the finest cuts and are extremely happy with the consistency. This enables us to more than compete with the best steak houses in Leeds at pub prices. We hope to see you again very...More

Reviewed 10 October 2017

Food and staff wonderful I always enjoy an evening in The Buffers there was a number of us on the 9th Oct 2017 and the service was Great lovely evening Thank You

Thank ebkelly1952
Darren B, Owner at The Buffers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your kind comments and making The Buffers your choice for sharing this special get together.

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Food was excellent for ten of us, young to old worth a slight wait because it was freshly cooked and really good Service relaxed and pleasant

Thank Julie F
Darren B, Owner at The Buffers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your kind comments and whilst we apologise for slight delays in service most agree that the quality of freshly cooked meals is more than worth a wait. We hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed 16 September 2017

Last visited last Sunday 6 of us in party we are regulars and have always found the food excellent however on this occasion we found out that the Stella lager(which has always been of a very good quality) has been discontinued hence this week we...More

Thank L S
Darren B, Owner at The Buffers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Hi, very sorry to hear that you will not be returning. We do pride ourselves on serving quality keg and cask ales. Unfortunately we are just simply being priced out by our brewery on keeping it. It is not something we have a choice in...More

Reviewed 8 September 2017

We had lunch at the Buffers today to celebrate my sisters birthday and were so disappointed. My meal (fish, chips and peas) was lukewarm -I asked for the peas to be re-heated but did not fancy re-heated fish/chips as they dry out. I am not...More

Thank jenevier590
Darren B, Owner at The Buffers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit and on such a special occasion. Having not been there on this occasion I take it that you chose the light bite smaller portion of fish from our menu? The freshly battered haddock that we use...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Langlands Garden Centre & Coffee Shop
26 reviews
.97 km away
Cafe indulgence
8 reviews
1.56 km away
Tesco's cafe
8 reviews
1.58 km away
Nearby Attractions
Quirky Ales
24 reviews
5.09 km away
Roundhay Park
1,963 reviews
5.71 km away
Temple Newsam
895 reviews
5.03 km away
Monkey Maze
17 reviews
5.57 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
carmel h
16 November 2017|
Answer
Response from Darren B | Property representative |
Hi Carmel, sorry but we do not serve pizza. We do have a very varied menu of all freshly cooked meals using great ingredients. We hope to host you very soon.
1
Vote
Caroline P
14 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TowniesLeedsLulu | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I'm late answering....there is no dress code. Casual is fine.
0
Votes
David B
2 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Darren B | Property representative |
Early Bird Menu is 5-7pm Monday to Friday.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rakehill Road | Scholes, Leeds LS15 4AL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Leeds
  • Phone Number: +44 113 265 9000
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing