We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Botanist

#58 of 1,482 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
67 Boar Lane, Leeds LS1 6HW, England
+44 113 205 3240
Website
Today
12:00 - 01:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Wed 12:00 - 00:00
Thu 12:00 - 01:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 02:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

949 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 942: English reviews
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I have only given this place 2 stars as the decor is so nice and the cocktails amazing.. but after about a 10 minute wait to get served our barman started to make our cocktails then served another party to which we thought was strange he then proceeded to do this twice more inbetween each one doing 1 more stage... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chrissie A
Botanist L, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review

Hi Chrissie A, We're really sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience on your most recent visit. We'd like to know more about your visit so we can try rectify these issues. Please email us on; trinitybookings@thebotanist.uk.com. Best Wishes The Botanist Team More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Shocking, Rude staff, Watering cans very small and full of ice but worst of all the food was very bad quality. There was 10 of us for a friends birthday and 4 of the girls had steak sandwich which were over cooked and the bread stale, I had the Lamb kofta hanging kebab which came up with 3 very small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danielle_Sollof
Botanist L, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review

Hi Danielle_Sollof, I'm sorry to hear you didn't experience our usual high standards on your most recent visit. We'd like to know more so we can try rectify these issues, please feel free to email us on; trinitybookings@thebotanist.uk.com Best Wishes The Botanist Team :) More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Enjoyed drinks with friends on Saturday evening in the out door area under the heaters, lovely atmosphere, great night out, just a bit hot for my head.

Helpful?
Thank Brownrat19
Botanist L, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review

Hi Brownrat19, Thank you for your lovely review! We hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes, The Botanist Team :) More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my wife went on a friday night at 8.30 to eat. Although the bar area was busy the tables for food are seperated. Good atmosphere and very nice food at a reasonable price

Helpful?
Thank Graham P
Botanist L, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review

Hi Graham P, Thank you for your lovely review! It's great to hear you had a good time. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes The Botanist Team :) More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We went here for my wife birthday as a party of 8, and after spending an hour choosing what to get from the vast menu i settled on the steak sandwich. This was unbelievably tough steak, however nice. everything else was brilliant from the drinks to the service and desserts. thumbs up, would go again, just wouldn't choose the sandwich.

Helpful?
Thank GazzyStampede
Botanist L, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review

Hi GazzyStempede, Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review! It's great to hear you had a fabulous time for your wife's birthday. We hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes The Botanist Team :) More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

been here a few times for cocktails - have yet to come here food but would really like to one day. beautiful inside with the tree and the dome. Also really good upstairs outside - has nice views of greys street and there is also a bar up there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley W
Botanist L, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review

Hi Hayley W, Thank you for taking your to review our Newcastle site! It's great to hear you had a good time! Best Wishes The Botanist Team :) More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great day out in Leeds with friends and called in the Botanist for cocktails and a meal. Had the scotch egg stater which was really good and a excellent filet stake. Staff good and cocktails excellent. Happy birthday to me.

Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
Botanist L, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review

Hi Neil B, Thank you for taking your time to leave us such a lovely review. It's great to hear you had a fabulous birthday! We hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes The Botanist Team :) More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The restaurant is simply beautiful. Very simple yet classy. The staff is very friendly. It s a nice place to have drinks with friends and eat food. The food is not excellent but decent. Price is reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
Botanist L, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review

Hi Mary M, Thank you for taking your time to leave us some feedback. It's great to hear you found our restaurant beautiful. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes The Botanist Team :) More 

Northern England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Central stylish restaurant. Nice helpful staff. Let down by average food (for vegetarians). Had a sharing board and the hanging vegetarian kebab. Nice chips!

Helpful?
Thank mid-age-travellers
Botanist L, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review

Hi mid-age-travellers, Thanks for your kind words regarding out team and venue, we take pride in what we do as well as our amazing team. We're glad you enjoyed your food too, although, if you'd like to discuss the options further and perhaps give us some more information on what we could do to improve our vegetarian options feel free... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We decided to call in for a couple of drinks for a birthday. We both decided on a beer but were not willing to pay more than double what we would elsewhere. The atmosphere as well as the staff felt pretentious' and we definitely wouldn't return. It's a shame as the bar itself looks nice.

Helpful?
Thank CJh88
Botanist L, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review

Hi CJh88, We're sorry to hear about how you feel about your recent experience with us - we'd like to discuss this further if you could email us at trinity@thebotanist.uk.com We hope to hear from you soon! Have a lovely week Many Thanks, All the Botanist Team More 

Travellers who viewed The Botanist also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Botanist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 01:00
Friday
12:00 - 02:00
Saturday
12:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 67 Boar Lane, Leeds LS1 6HW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Leeds
  • Phone Number: +44 113 205 3240
Description
The Botanist offers a well-stocked cellar of cask-conditioned ales, more than 40 bottled beers and ciders from around the world, a selection of finest champagnes and an intriguing cocktail menu. Food at The Botanist comes in the form of a deli-style menu with rotisserie and barbecue. Owned and operated by the New World Trading Company, The Botanist is a concept unlike anything else!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Botanist and other visitors
11 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Lee, United Kingdom
Appleby, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Alnwick, United Kingdom

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Botanist staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?