We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan at Stoford

$$ - $$$, British,
Warminster Road | Stoford, Salisbury SP2 OPR, England
+44 1722 790236
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good28%
  • Average10%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“pork belly” (8 reviews)
“pudding” (8 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Warminster Road | Stoford, Salisbury SP2 OPR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

We booked a table on the Sunday night and whatever we ordered on the menu was unavailable so we plumped for homemade curry which was awful my husband had a turkey curry which seemed to be made up of all the innerds of the turkey...More

Thank Squidders_10
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy the Turkey Madras. I am glad that it was taken off your bill, however, we would have gladly replaced the meal for something your husband preferred instead. We would not want him to go to bed...More

Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Xmas day. Wow... it’s a get up and get it yourself carvery. The meat is so dry it’s arid. The carrots are so raw I can’t get my fork in. Disgraceful. There wasn’t a happy table in the place. People wanted to leave but obviously...More

Thank katherine h
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear your comments about the carvery as it was clearly advertised on the Christmas Day menu under Mains that it was a "Festive Carvery". Our experience has been across all our pubs that generally people prefer...More

Reviewed 18 December 2017

This establishment could be much better than it is but is sadly let down by the quality of the food. Some items tasted as if they were heated directly from a can instead of using fresh ingredients. The staff are friendly and well mannered even...More

Thank longfellow57
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to feedback. I apologise that you did not enjoy your meal with us but pleased that the staff dealt with your complaints in the expected friendly manner. Liz

Reviewed 1 December 2017

recommended. Staff welcoming and friendly,bed very comfortable. evening meal and breakfast both excellent. Good value for money

Thank loulee2015
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you for your lovely five star review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Liz

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

We came here for a Sunday carvery but wouldn't return. The welcome was less than warm, the food was OK but really not great and it smelt unpleasant. Having waited 10 minutes for someone to serve at the carvery my husband went to ask for...More

Thank Heva19
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to feedback. We were very disappointed to hear that you were not delighted with your carvery. I apologise for the less than friendly welcome, there is always a team in the kitchen on busy Sundays, so I am not...More

Reviewed 18 October 2017

We did not stay in the hotel as we went there for lunch. Good food and the staff were helpful and efficent and the prices are reasonable. Will definitely go there again when we are in the Salisbury area.

Thank Malcolm F
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your five star review, we appreciate your positive feedback.

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We weren't expecting a palace...more so ..your typical country English pub. The food was reasonable and generous but the reception from the woman who checked us in was saccharin and insincere. We were hurried out of the bar at closing with a run down on...More

Thank Jo W
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your food. The current menu does not include a breakdown of the continental breakfast so I am a little surprised by your comments. I am very sorry that the member of staff was insincere and...More

Reviewed 14 September 2017

We have dined at the Swan twice whilst staying there, once IN December 2016 and once in April 2017. On both times we chose to eat in the bar area rather than the restaurant as it appeared more cosy, especially in December with the fire...More

Thank Mandyw30
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your nice review - I am glad that the venison issue was rectified and that you have enjoyed your meals on your visits. Liz

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Came here for a family meal, 8 of us in total. Food was excellent, the majority of us had the steak and ale pie and there were no complaints! Plenty of really tasty, good quality meat which was not at all grisly like you find...More

Thank Nicola8242
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your steak and ale pie which are indeed very filling! Thank you for your continued custom and recommendations, as a family business it means a lot. Liz

Reviewed 15 August 2017

The bus tour we were on organized lunch for us here. Some places call themselves a pub but this is the real deal. Worn wooden beams, cozy nooks for dining, great beer and delicious food. Our party had the locally roasted duck salad, Ploughman's lunch,...More

Thank needles4ewe
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you for such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your meals and really appreciate your positive feedback. Liz

PreviousNext
12345625
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Salisbury
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
558 reviews
4.75 km away
Cricket Field House
434 reviews
6.36 km away
The Stones Hotel
324 reviews
6.79 km away
Salisbury Apartments
24 reviews
7.30 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Pelican Inn Restaurant
109 reviews
4.00 km away
The Boot Inn
273 reviews
4.04 km away
Greyhound Inn
317 reviews
4.66 km away
The Ship Inn
251 reviews
4.83 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wilton Windmill
52 reviews
4.80 km away
Wilton House
289 reviews
4.92 km away
The White Horse
6 reviews
5.33 km away
Church of St. Mary and St. Nicholas
72 reviews
4.51 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$28
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday
7:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
7:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
7:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
7:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
7:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
8:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Warminster Road | Stoford, Salisbury SP2 OPR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1722 790236
  • E-mail
Description
The Swan at Stoford is a lovely historical coaching inn set in rural Wiltshire, yet very accessible on the A36. 6 miles from Salisbury, it is an ideal place to base yourself for tourist attractions in the area, including Stonehenge, Wilton House, Longleat, Old Sarum airfield and much more. With 9 letting rooms, a lovely restaurant, a spacious function room with a Skittles Alley, a cottage garden and a great riverside garden perfect for marquees, BBQs and outdoor parties. The Swan is a family run business with an emphasis on customer service and a guaranteed warm welcome.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing