We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Castle Harvester

Old Castle Road, Salisbury SP1 3SF, England
+44 1722 328703
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good32%
  • Average19%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“rack of ribs” (5 reviews)
“mixed grill” (5 reviews)
“salad bar” (30 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Old Castle Road, Salisbury SP1 3SF, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited last weekend with husband and was disappointed to find no disabled/ wheelchair access to buffet area. meaning hubby could not choose his own food, and yet again made to feel like second class citizen. There was in fact room to put a small ramp...More

Thank ClareHolmes2014
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Castle Harvester, responded to this review

We work hard to provide a fantastic experience for everyone. It's discouraging to see that you had a negative experience. The Old Castle is a Grade 2 listed building, while we do comply with the Equality Act, our ability to make further changes is obviously...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have eaten at 'The Old Castle' several times with the experience general hovering between good and very good occasionally fringing on excellent. However our latest visit was not anyway near those standards and, I trust, was just a blip. We stood in a small...More

Thank Brianford
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Castle Harvester, responded to this review

Hi Brianford, we regret your most recent visit with us was not up to the standards we strive for.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we visited on a very busy Bank Holiday Sunday lunchtime having booked a table. The staff both behind the bar and in the restaurant were friendly and efficient The food was cooked exactly as we asked and with many choices in the salad bar more...More

Thank Amanda E
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Castle Harvester, responded to this review

Hello Amanda E, thank you; we appreciate your feedback!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

What an absolute joke!! Freezing cold restaurant, dull, lifeless and useless staff (other than Aaron) food that I wouldn't serve to my dog and as the the 'manager' pathetic!! When I asked for the manager as I wasn't happy with the slop my girlfriend and...More

Thank johndoe6969
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Castle Harvester, responded to this review

Johndoe6969, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. No senior Male member of Management was aware that they had been requested, if issues arise, our team are empowered to deal with the issues to a Guests satisfaction, Aaron does not recall...More

Reviewed 18 April 2017

Efficient, friendly, staff, good food, good service. You are seated in the bar area while you have a short wait to be seated in the restaurant.

Thank G9584QWjanets
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Castle Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you, G9584qwjanets, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service.

Reviewed 16 April 2017

Go to harvester regularly but they have recently changed there menu and there are some nice new additions.

Thank Hao2014
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Castle Harvester, responded to this review

Hao2014, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback.

Reviewed 15 April 2017

We visited for breakfast on Saturday morning while our car was being serviced. We were greeted and taken to a table by a very friendly chap, who fully explained the menu etc. We selected the all you could eat cooked breakfast as it seemed good...More

1  Thank Nicr0n
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Castle Harvester, responded to this review

Nicr0n, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Old Castle.

Reviewed 14 April 2017

Well as you can probably tell from my not-so-subtle title, I was less than impressed with a meal I had here just around Christmas time. These people obviously use Trip Advisor reviews as constructive criticism, because boy they HAVE upped their game. Fast, friendly and...More

Thank jenni_nelson736
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Castle Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you, Jenni_nelson736, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service.

Reviewed 14 April 2017

Whilst working in the area we went to this Harvester for lunch. We really wanted a sandwich but they don't offer these so we picked from the £5.99 lunchtime menu and chose gammon and chips which came with a choice of pineapple or egg. Our...More

Thank AngieP49
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Castle Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Angiep49.

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Me and my family went for a meal here on Saturday 8th April , and it is safe to say that the meal was horrible. my sister had the ultimate burger and my lettuce was mouldy. My father had the gammon and the chips came...More

Thank Zara P
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
grillado
561 reviews
2.24 km away
JR Kitchens
43 reviews
2.26 km away
The Avon Brewery Inn
128 reviews
2.23 km away
The George and Dragon
41 reviews
2.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Boscombe Down Aviation Collection
364 reviews
1.32 km away
Old Sarum
1,088 reviews
.40 km away
Salisbury Playhouse
108 reviews
2.41 km away
Salisbury Arts Centre
26 reviews
2.29 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Sharon M
Do you allow dogs
9 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Corey M |
Dogs are welcome in the beer garden with water available, restaurant and bar is guide dog only
1
Vote
Sharon M
Are you pet friendly?
9 October 2016|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
ian267
thinking of going next Thursday 9th at around 4 o,clock probably 7 of us do i need to book table
1 April 2015|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$20
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 23:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:30
Thursday
11:30 - 23:30
Friday
11:30 - 23:30
Saturday
11:30 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Old Castle Road, Salisbury SP1 3SF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1722 328703
  • E-mail
Description
At The Old Castle Harvester in Salisbury food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.