We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Alma

$$ - $$$, British,
61 Springfield Road, Windsor SL4 3PP, England
+44 1753 267977
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good24%
  • Average2%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (31 reviews)
“burger” (23 reviews)
“chilli” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
61 Springfield Road, Windsor SL4 3PP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A perfect pub with a regular local clientele and very friendly ambiance. With excellent staff who make a point of getting to know you and your tastes, regular music - see Murphy James on a Sunday at 7pm - and quiz night. Great garden, warm...More

Thank Delski68
Mike H, Owner at The Alma, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Kind words- thanks very much and see you soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Needed to find a pub that was family friendly so that my daughter and I could watch the England v Sweden match. Lovely family pub. Staff worked so hard. Awesome art work to buy. Food lovely and atmosphere fantastic. Will definitely go back ❤️

Thank Maria H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fab visit to Windsor today. After a trip to the castle and a walk around the town we found this lovely pub called The Alma. The 2 girls on the bar as we walked in were very friendly and were very chatty...More

Thank DaddyCool29
Mike H, Owner at The Alma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed it- hope you come back soon!!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I went with 4 friends to have a Sunday roast and one of my friends asked if he could take his dog in there and the boss said he could but my friend was told he wouldn’t be served because he had had too much...More

1  Thank nomad41
Mike H, Owner at The Alma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Speaking to the staff who were on shift, it sounds as though your friend was very aggressive at the time, challenging my staff to “step outside”- there was no mention of a disability, and threats made physically so I have to say I am...More

Reviewed June 10, 2018

I selected this pub via Trip Advisor when we visited a function at the Windsor Race Course. Set within a residential area we rather wondered what we would find. A typical 'pub' with a large rear garden under the flight path into Heathrow. It was...More

Thank U8696YHpaulg
Mike H, Owner at The Alma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed it! We are always working to improve our speed of serve, see you again soon!

Reviewed May 30, 2018 via mobile

Thank you for a fab evening enjoyed by friends and family. Great gin selection, good food and fun atmosphere. Will come again soon !

Thank cabbages67
Mike H, Owner at The Alma, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Glad you enjoyed it! See you soon

Reviewed April 16, 2018

Yesterday, 5 of us enjoyed yet another great Sunday lunch at the Alma. 4 of us chose the roast pork with the other being a 'go large' lamb roast. There were no complaints from any of us and it was nice to meet the relatively...More

Thank cassviv
Mike H, Owner at The Alma, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Thanks very much - glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewed April 5, 2018

We visited the Alma during a two day trip to Legoland after I had researched "family friendly" pubs in Windsor. Located in a local residential street, the Alma gives the impression of a "local" pub and initially we weren't sure about the place until we...More

1  Thank slovell1965
Mike H, Owner at The Alma, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Really glad you enjoyed it - hope you bought the annual pass for Legoland so that we can welcome you again!

Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

Please, don’t say you serve vegetarian food if you don’t. First, we were waiting almost 1 h until our mains arrived. Then, I ordered vegetarian Sunday roast that consisted basically of one deep fried sad ‘croquette’ (I wasn’t even able to eat it) plus the...More

Thank SpanishKangarOOs
Mike H, Owner at The Alma, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Sorry that you felt the standard dropped below what we expect on your visit. Sunday was very busy for us, but we do try to stagger the tables to keep wait times down. We are looking at ways to expand the kitchen in order to...More

Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely roast portion size very good the pork is amazing sooo tasty hospitality and prices very good a genuine welcoming place

Thank Ally J
Mike H, Owner at The Alma, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Thanks ally, glad you enjoyed it, see you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 hotels in Windsor
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
627 reviews
.34 km away
Aurora Garden Hotel
1 review
.66 km away
Oscar Lodge
153 reviews
.90 km away
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
521 reviews
.93 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Meimo
1,644 reviews
.80 km away
Burger Stack
339 reviews
.55 km away
Windsor Grill
496 reviews
.57 km away
Bite Cafe
136 reviews
.72 km away
Nearby Attractions
Windsor & Eton Brewery
305 reviews
1.08 km away
Diamond Jubilee Fountain
56 reviews
1.14 km away
St John the Baptist, Windsor
44 reviews
1.16 km away
Bachelor's Acre
36 reviews
1.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Titefleurlondon
July 18, 2018|
Answer
Response from Mike H | Property representative |
Hi We have had some live music recently, before which we have beeen fliering local residents in order to gather feedback both before and after events. If people do wish to discuss this we are always keen to talk through... More
0
Votes
trace196
May 31, 2018|
Answer
Response from Mike H | Property representative |
Hi We are in a bit of an old building here, so we do have a couple of steps- we have a few regular wheelchair users who bring their own ramps, but the toilets aren’t the most accessible- if you would like to talk through... More
0
Votes
Susan N
November 17, 2017|
Answer
Response from PandPCotswoldsUK | Reviewed this property |
Don't think so it is abit old fashioned but very British!!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$37
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 61 Springfield Road, Windsor SL4 3PP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Windsor and Maidenhead  >  Windsor
  • Phone Number: +44 1753 267977
  • E-mail
Description
You'll find The Alma just 5 minutes walk from Windsor town centre tucked away on a charming Victorian red brick terraced lined street. We are a traditional English pub serving a range of beers, ales, fine wines and great food... We also have the largest beer garden in Windsor which has recently been given a real polish, great for those hot summer days and evenings! We are conveniently located for Heathrow, the M4 and the M25. The Alma is full of antiques and collectable's including: furniture, paintings, pictures, mirrors, ceramics and interesting knick-knacks We also have a collection of rare film posters and are constantly adding interesting and unusual items. It's like pubs used to be and, in our opinion, should be.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing