We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Yr Hen Orsaf

Yr Hen Orsaf Alexandra Road, Aberystwyth SY23 1LH, Wales
+44 1970 636080
Call
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good34%
  • Average23%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (17 reviews)
“railway station” (30 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Yr Hen Orsaf Alexandra Road, Aberystwyth SY23 1LH, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Popped into Wetherspoons Aberystwyth for a Pint of Guinness today, a young lady served me and to my astonishment I watched her swirling the glass around like a spin dryer while it slowly poured in!! Good grief, the most cherished of all Pint drinks, my...More

Thank jayl824
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Took the family in for a lunchtime meal. The place was full of students and single old men hogging tables with one cup of coffee for what felt like ages! We decided to stay and order via the app. Not working. Went to the bar....More

Thank Mike D
Reviewed 1 week ago

My colleague and i visited Yr Hen Orsaf on Wednesday 7th whilst waiting for our train (3.30) and as usual their drinks pricing was good value (we originally was going to have a drink at lunchtime but it was very busy...appear we could only find...More

Thank busterSolihull
YrHenOrsaf, Manager at Yr Hen Orsaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello busterSolihull, Thank you for your positive and honest review of our restaurant. I appreciate your comments and indeed the refurbishment is due to happen soon! Kind regards, Nick

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We called in for the steak deal and as usual the steak was well presented and tasteful. We have never been disappointed with the steak deal at Wetherspoons.

Thank Ieuan44
YrHenOrsaf, Manager at Yr Hen Orsaf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Ieuan, Thank you so much for your five star review! I hope you continue to use JDW in the future! Kind regards, Nick

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

3rd Tuesday for steak knight and yet again ran out of steaks !!😡😡 at 17-00 hrs Talk about bad management!! So I’d advice people if you fancy a steak get there by 10am before they run out !!! Or try another restaurant!!More

Thank george3rd6th
YrHenOrsaf, Manager at Yr Hen Orsaf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello George, Thank you for your one star review. I am sure if you check any reputable news site you will see that we have had to withdraw our steak deal and it is not only our company that has been affected but other well...More

Reviewed 9 January 2018

A great shame that Wetherspoons is no longer opening at 7am which means that you can no longer take a hot drink onto the 7.30am train. Also Yr Hen Orsaf has only gained 3 out of 5 with regard to the kitchen hygiene.

Thank ivan c
YrHenOrsaf, Manager at Yr Hen Orsaf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Ivan, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. The EHO ratings you see on the front door represent the business as a whole, not just the kitchen hygiene, and I can assure our kitchen standards are excellent. Kind regards, Nick

Reviewed 7 January 2018

Can I first say that I have had several good experiences in Wetherspoons pub/restaurants - including Yr Hen Orsaf. Unfortunately, last Wednesday evening (Jan 2nd) was appalling. It was due to a combination of a new poorly trained member of staff whose knowledge of the...More

Thank Alan W
YrHenOrsaf, Manager at Yr Hen Orsaf, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Hello Alan, First and foremost please let me apologise for the dissatisfaction you feel after visiting my premises. We do not offer receipts unless asked for to be more eco friendly and indeed, as you have discovered, we do offer the afternoon deals outside of...More

Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Eaten here lots of times; always receive food quickly, it’s always hot and fairly priced. Staff always pleasant and the place is open all day. Will continue to visit when in Aber.

Thank TravelMunchkinFP
YrHenOrsaf, Manager at Yr Hen Orsaf, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Hello TravelMunchkinFP, Thank you for kjind words and review. We look gforard to seeing you again! Kind regards, Nick

Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Used the new ordering online app. Didn't work. Took nearly £30 from my account. 5-7 working days to refund it. Spoke to the manager who was worse than useless. Family now hungry. Thanks Wetherspoon and your staff for ruining a family day out.More

3  Thank Kevin D
YrHenOrsaf, Manager at Yr Hen Orsaf, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Hello Kevin, Thank you for your review. Please can you get in contact with me on p1176@jdwetherspoon.co.uk to discuss this matter further. All our staff are trained in dealing with app issues so I would appreciate hearing more on your experience. I can also assure...More

Reviewed 17 December 2017

Needs to review their menu - and it's looking a bit tired in the seating area. The choices are not expensive, but they always seem to have run out of whatever I chose. Otherwise, a fast delivery, but not many frills with the food>

Thank lis_o_j
PreviousNext
12345650
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Aberystwyth
Harry's Hotel
335 reviews
.22 km away
Four Seasons Hotel
355 reviews
.34 km away
Gwesty Cymru
505 reviews
.34 km away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
373 reviews
.36 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Little Italy
366 reviews
.20 km away
Sophie's
236 reviews
.16 km away
Sophie Bach Tea & Coffee Room
143 reviews
.10 km away
Med Delight
223 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Vale of Rheidol Railway
868 reviews
.37 km away
Aberystwyth Cliff Railway
754 reviews
.99 km away
Aberystwyth Castle
741 reviews
.35 km away
Ceredigion Museum
240 reviews
.29 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Louise D
15 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Rob M | Reviewed this property |
as far as I remember, it's a flat run from train station platform all the way into the pub
2
Votes
Isobel M
5 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Andrew W |
When we visited on Sunday (18/09/16) there was no seating outside the front and despite being told by a member of staff that we could sit in the beer garden we were asked to leave prior to our meals arriving. We had a much... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$35
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Monday
7:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Tuesday
7:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Wednesday
7:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Thursday
7:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Friday
7:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m.
Saturday
7:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Yr Hen Orsaf Alexandra Road, Aberystwyth SY23 1LH, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Ceredigion  >  Aberystwyth
  • Phone Number: +44 1970 636080
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing