We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Y Castell Restaurant

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Local family run bar and restaurant, serving good beer and local fresh food. Family friendly, and dog friendly! Private function room available.
PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$30
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Buffet, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Y Castell Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
248
97
27
7
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
248
97
27
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef mussels pie sunday roast onion rings burger sea bass peas pudding salad ice cream compliments to the chef excellent food monday evening pub food friendly atmosphere lovely lunch
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 30 of 392 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Travelled to Caernarfon on the steam train with the family and dogs. It can sometimes be hard to eat somewhere when travelling with dogs. I had found this place online. Yes they are welcoming of people and dogs. Ordered four very different meals. A BLT...More

Date of visit: August 2018
3  Thank sarahfS4816DY
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

Oh dear, how bad can food get? Lamb shank that has to be cut off the bone with a steak knife rather than falling off the bone as advertised. Fillet steak that is so tense, and cold, that it doesn’t bleed when cut even though...More

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank kevtilley
Gwyndaf J, Owner at Y Castell Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Dear kevtilley, i am sorry your meal was not to our usual standard. We have experienced problems recruiting suitable chefs this year, but im pleased to announce weve now recruited a very strong team. Its a case of out with the old and in with...More

Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

To start off the service from the waiter and waitress was good. The FOOD was cold, there was vegetable, onion rings and other things missing from our main meal and to top it all off we waited an HOUR & A HAlF for the food.More

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Rebecca Louise P
Gwyndaf J, Owner at Y Castell Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Dear rebecca, i am sorry your meal was not to our usual standard. We have experienced problems recruiting suitable chefs this year, but im pleased to announce weve now recruited a very strong team. Its a case of out with the old and in with...More

Reviewed June 25, 2018

Being a Sunday evening we did not have a lot of choice. The food we had was fairly ordinary and not good value. It was acceptable but not nearly good enough to make us want to come back

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank OceanWanderer
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Celebrated our wedding with a 2 course meal at Y Castell for us and 30 friends. The dining room upstairs was decorated and laid out perfectly for our needs and had stunning views of the Caernarfon Square. We had soup for starters and a beef...More

Date of visit: July 2017
2  Thank anthh316
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Great place to eat right in the center of town. Food and staff were very nice. Definitely worth a visit

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank ioanw989
Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

Fine restaurant in the centre of Caernarfon situated at a very nice surrounding. Staff was very friendly and helpful, nice choice of plates at a very, very, very fair price. Good choice !!!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Bombero47
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

Probably the worst meal out we’ve ever had. Not sure but maybe the microwave was on the blink, but the food was almost inedible. Luckily my lemonade saved the day and washed it down. The hunters chicken presumably used to be chicken (or beef or...More

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank bathzoo
Nia J, Manager at Y Castell Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us yesterday. In future if you are not happy with a meal please let a member of staff know so they may be able to rectify any issues as nothing was said at the time...More

Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

Had a meal here with my Wife, Daughter, Dad and step mum. Service was friendly and with a smile. Food was lovely and we all polished off our meals. Even the three drunk lads in the corner talking nonsense didn’t ruin our meal. Well worth...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 487kevw
Nia J, Manager at Y Castell Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We're so glad you gave us a visit. Diolch

Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

Family of six enjoyed evening meal. Excellent and clean surroundings with good atmosphere. One or two items were off the menu due to being sold out but overall good selection of food at good prices to please everyone. Staff were very helpful and had a...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank MARKD7
Nia J, Manager at Y Castell Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope you visit us again in future. Diolch

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
redsiren
March 18, 2018|
Answer
Response from NiaJ118 | Property representative |
Hello, We do have gluten free options available. Unfortunately we do not at present have a separate fryer (onion rings are cooked in the same fryer) However we do have other options available. We normally offer pan fried... More
2
Votes
Tony H
March 18, 2018|
Answer
Response from NiaJ118 | Property representative |
Hello Yes, we are open 11am - late. We serve food from 12-9pm. Both our regular menu and Sunday lunch set menu are available. Hope you give us a visit! Kind Regards, Nia Jones
0
Votes
di137
June 21, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from GJonesWales | Property representative |
Unfortunately we do not at Y Castell due to it being primarily carpeted and a eating venue. Our sister venue Copa a few doors away do allow dogs though.
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing