We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hardwick

Old Raglan Road, Abergavenny NP7 9AA, Wales
+44 1873 854220
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good20%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Old Raglan Road, Abergavenny NP7 9AA, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Four for lunch. Expensive though nice service. Meals were disappointing my Ragout of lamb was tasty but very heavy, my wife's middle east chicken went down very badly. The coffee was undrinkable. The good bits - starters really excellent and the wine list well chosen,...More

Thank sandflopper j
Reviewed 4 days ago

We had been to the Hardwick twice before several years ago and the experience was excellent. Having recently returned we found the standards had significantly dropped. The restaurant itself is now rather tired, the food was good, but not great, and the service was very...More

1  Thank Chris B
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying in Ross on Wye about half an hour away and were recommended the food here by a lady at another local restaurant. I loved the fact that they did small and large versions of most dishes which meant that we could try...More

Thank Smudger S
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the fifth time I have been to the Hardwick. The reason I go back is because I really like the food and the views of the hills from the restaurant. I have never been particularly impressed with the service but the food has...More

1  Thank Peter J
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent food and service to be proud of. Its a must visit if your staying anywhere near this place. P.s best cheese cake ever..... so far!

Thank valleyslegend
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We popped in late afternoon (2.30) on the off chance of a table, this was no problem, and enjoyed a drink and a browse of the menu in a really lovely bar area. Our ginger beers were the nicest I've tasted to date. Though tempted...More

Thank CarmellaRed
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We'd been waiting for an excuse to visit the Hardwick. In the end we were able to link it to a family visit and add the chance to climb the Sugar Loaf, which is on the other side of Abergavenny. We enjoyed Sunday lunch, a...More

Thank Chinthurst18
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Hardwick. One of the high spots of eating in South Wales. The food, the environment, the atmosphere is nothing like you would ever experience in restaurants that are far more lauded than this. We were advised on the extensive gin list in the bar...More

Thank samanddar
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had the duck hash as my starter which was absolutely excellent. The onion rings were the best I'd ever tasted and it was generally very nice. My main was quite nice. I had a brownie with marmalade ice cream for pudding. The ice cream...More

Thank Luke8508
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall we had a decent meal but somehow not as good as we expected from its reputation. Its actually a fairly large restaurant spread across several "rooms". Our starter of beetroot and goats cheese was superb --- super taste and decent portion. Initially we was...More

Thank jimbosmiff
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Afternoon Tea at the Angel
410 reviews
3.06 km away
Cwtch Cafe
419 reviews
3.11 km away
Cinnamon Tree
196 reviews
2.96 km away
Nearby Attractions
Abergavenny Museum and Castle
226 reviews
2.94 km away
Goytre Wharf & Canal Visitor Centre
92 reviews
5.06 km away
The Horseshoe Inn
16 reviews
7.72 km away
Sugarloaf Mountain
57 reviews
6.63 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ed W
20 November 2016|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from KLE292010 | Reviewed this property |
wgole was a typo for as a whole! We did have a disappointing experience just the once, but it was an overall experience not any one thing in particular. We've been back since and were very happy.
0
Votes
globetrotter51_10
7 October 2015|
Answer
Response from LondonTraveller1983 | Reviewed this property |
Order the fish, even for a toddler it will be mushy enough!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$65 - US$65
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Old Raglan Road, Abergavenny NP7 9AA, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Abergavenny
  • Phone Number: +44 1873 854220
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing