We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse

$$ - $$$, ,
Church Terrace | Coychurch, Bridgend CF35 5HD, Wales
+44 1656 652583
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good21%
  • Average8%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (12 reviews)
“roast dinner” (3 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Church Terrace | Coychurch, Bridgend CF35 5HD, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been here many times for a meal but not recently,and have enjoyed some lovely meals,but our recent visit was very disappointing. Although the staff were helpful and friendly, the food was a let down. I had a beef and ale pie meal, the...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank WelshMenace
WhiteHorseCoychurch, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Welshmenace, I'm so sorry that on this occasion we didn't meet your expectations, I can assure you this is not the usual standard here. If you would like to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate to contact me, I sincerely hope this...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took the dog for a walk to Ogmore so decided to stop here on the way back to feed a hungry teenager. The pub was lovely and warm after our walk and we had a lovely welcome from the manager. Food was quick and tasty...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Chris C
WhiteHorseCoychurch, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Chris, Thank you for your review, we do like to spoil our four legged friends just as much as everyone else :) We hope to welcome you again on your next venture out Many thanks Jen

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Today I took my 2 year old twins to the white horse for lunch, 1 of which has severe allergies. All of the staff went out of their way to help, the chef was fantastic,nothing was too much trouble. Food was prepared separately, and chips...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Samantha C
WhiteHorseCoychurch, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Samantha, I'm so pleased we were able to accommodate your needs, especially having such a little one to think about, it's good to know you can enjoy dining out without a worry :) We love welcoming new families so look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Although not a local, whenever we are in the area we always visit this pub. When we visited this week the beer, menu choice and service (thanks to the member of staff from New Zealand who was more than helpful and polite - sorry don't...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank JAC446
WhiteHorseCoychurch, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi JAC446, Thank you for your lovely review, the member of staff in question would be Reece and I shall make sure he knows about your feedback :) We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit Many thanks Jen

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went to the Whitehorse for New Year's Eve and it was a great experience. Not only the food was good but the staff were great! Jen and Rhys (sorry I didn't get the other names) were attentive, helpful, always smiling and they made it...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Denismarion
WhiteHorseCoychurch, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Denismarion, So pleased you enjoyed your evening as much as we did, we thought it was a lovely night with a fab atmosphere so good to know our customers felt the same. We hope to see you again soon in the new year :)...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant service from the team and the food was fantastic; nothing was too much trouble and we'll definitely be back!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank iandavidson1986
WhiteHorseCoychurch, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi iand492, We pride ourselves on good service so to hear we are doing just that for our customers is brilliant. We hope to welcome you again in the near future Many thanks Jen

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went there with the family for Sunday lunch, was a great meal and plenty of it! Staff were amazing too! Would definitely recommend it, not only for lunch but evenings too.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 844laurenceo
WhiteHorseCoychurch, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi 844laurenceo, So pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch here with us, I have already passed on your lovely comments to the team. We hope to welcome you again very soon :) Many thanks Jen

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We provided all our menu choices and paid in advance for a significant family event..When we were served with our main meals, with the exception of the beef, the food was over cooked, tough and dry. We can only assume it had been precooked too...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Bojo50
WhiteHorseCoychurch, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Bojo, I am sorry that on this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations. This matter has already been discussed on Facebook so as I have already said please give me a call if you would like to discuss the matter further Kind...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Contacted the White Horse on the spur of the moment and they fitted us in at very short notice. Lovely atmosphere and surroundings, cracking meal for four, including two fussy kids!! But it was the service which really struck a cord - incredibly friendly and...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Brizz76
WhiteHorseCoychurch, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Brizz, We pride ourselves on good service so to receive such a wonderful review will really help boost team moral. I'm so pleased with all the staff for continuing to exceed expectations amongst the chaos, I will ensure your lovely comments are passed on...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Family were visiting from Netherlands, so got the family together for a festive meal as we can't be together at Xmas. Pub was nicely decorated for the season, with table decorations too. We all enjoyed the food, starters, mains and desserts. Staff were really friendly...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Carol J
WhiteHorseCoychurch, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Carol, Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that we went above your expectations for your festive booking. I will pass the comments onto the team and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. Many Thanks The Whitehorse Team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Bridgend
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
680 reviews
1.00 km away
Premier Inn Bridgend (M4, J35) Hotel
517 reviews
2.56 km away
Travelodge Bridgend Pencoed
284 reviews
2.58 km away
The Wyndham Arms
454 reviews
3.40 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Eliots Restaurant
45 reviews
1.49 km away
The Star Inn
1,110 reviews
1.47 km away
The Cherry Laurel
605 reviews
.75 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ewenny Priory Church
42 reviews
3.94 km away
Taskforce Paint Ball Games
266 reviews
5.89 km away
Showcase Cinema Nantgarw
31 reviews
.71 km away
Go 4 It Activities Wales
14 reviews
2.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The White Horse staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wine and Beer
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Monday
11:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
11:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
11:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
11:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
11:30 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Saturday
11:30 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Terrace | Coychurch, Bridgend CF35 5HD, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Bridgend County  >  Bridgend
  • Phone Number: +44 1656 652583
  • E-mail
Description
When you step inside this beautiful village pub, you can always expect a warm welcome.Coychurch (Welsh: Llangrallo) is a small village that sits between Pencoed and Bridgend in ... Near the church is a public houses, the White Horse The only other businesses in the village are a hairdressing salon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing