We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Harvester

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Victoria Road | Gowerton, Swansea, Wales
+44 1792 872444
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 320: English reviews
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food was fantastic. I have definitely had my ups and downs at harvester, however the last few times have been spot on. The menu has changed, so there is a lot more choice. The food is always cooked well and served hot. Waitresses are good and pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank Emma E
General Manager A, General Manager at Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate it More 

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Slow & lazy service. Unpleasant smells. Bizarre cooking and highly unpalatable food. We've had meals served with sauces which weren't even on the menu and were about 50% butter. "Rare" meat served burnt. Drinks dispensers with no syrup (which stayed that way despite letting the uninterested staff know)... The only reason im not rating 1 star is thst it used... More 

Helpful?
Thank gtb1987
General Manager A, Guest Relations Manager at Harvester, responded to this review

Gtb1987, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. We'd like the opportunity to make this up to you, so if you're willing, please contact our manager at 01792 872444. We hope to hear from you. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Seated instantly in all fairness, but seated in someone else's seats so was seated elsewhere. We were sat next to a couple and a child for about 10 minutes before there drinks were even brought to them. We never got asked what we wanted to drink as we were seated by the waitress. Or even after 15 minutes of sitting.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Waited to be seated although not busy. Member of staff was rude and got very annoyed when we did not want to sit at the table she led us to. This set the tone to our visit as she pushed past us when we visited the salad bar. If we had not had our disabled 86 year old mother with... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeanne201520152015
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

chicken was over cooked and tough... everything was very overpriced. I didn't have huge expectations but not even they were met. The only reason I'm giving three stars is due to the staff being as pleasant as they were.

Helpful?
Thank jamiedavies1972
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Dumped at table in noisy area then asked to be moved. Just as bad. All quiet areas were "booked" but empty. After being given menus we were left waiting for 15 minutes whilst the staff chatted at work stations with each other. Not interested in customers. Don't deserve to have customers. Left in disgust. Lead waitress shouted "thank you" couldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank MickyB1956
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback as it can help us to improve. I can see that we have let you down as a guest and for that I am very sorry. I hope you will return to us so that we can amend the issues you have raised. More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Met here with two friends. I didn't eat as I'm Coeliac and as it said on the menu, food made in an area where gluten is made. One friend had steak, the other gammon. Both meals came out together which was good. Chips on the gammon were half cooked, still looked raw. Food was cold on both plates. Sent the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hanna S
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your recent visit to us. From what you have told us all I can do is apologise, I can see that we have let you down, I hope you will return to us soon so that we can show you that the issues you have raised have been amended. As always thank you... More 

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

Extremely disappoint with the breakfast. Burnt Sausages and reduced portion sizes to previous visits. Requested fresh sausages only to be given yet more burnt ones and told sorry these are not much better, service was poor, no wonder it was empty. Hopefully if you do visit the chef we had is on holiday..... we wont be visiting again.

Helpful?
Thank fizzle68
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your recent experience with us, From what you have said I can see that we have let you down. I hope you will return to us so that we can show you that we have worked to amend the issues you have raised. Thank you for your feedback as we can now work... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

It was Saturday so expected it to be busy. Called this one after being turned away from Neath as it was a 1.5 hour wait there. We were told current wait times 15 mins so hoped we could book as the drive time there was 20 mins but no! On arrival told wait times 20 mins which was pretty accurate.... More 

Helpful?
Thank DGD3020
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, we appreciate you taking the time. We will take your issues on board and amend them as best as possible regarding the salad bar. More 

Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016

The good thing about Harvester is that it is the first restaurant after the M4 when visiting Gower. We popped in for lunch one Saturday at the beginning of our holiday - the service was fairly good, the beer was good value, and the salad bar was very good. My wife asked for an omelette , but without the cheese,... More 

Helpful?
Thank 543jrr
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback, we will work on amending the issues you have brought to our attention. Hope you visit us again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed Harvester also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Llandarcy, Neath Port Talbot
 
Gorseinon, Vale of Glamorgan
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Gorseinon, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Victoria Road | Gowerton, Swansea, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Swansea County  >  Swansea
  • Phone Number: +44 1792 872444

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Harvester and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Harvester staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?