We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

House of Zen

$$ - $$$Chinese, Asian,
3 St Annes Square | Unit 3 St Anne’s Square, Belfast BT1 2LR, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9027 8688
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“honey pepper” (7 reviews)
“duck” (36 reviews)
“fried rice” (17 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 3:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Contemporary, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3 St Annes Square | Unit 3 St Anne’s Square, Belfast BT1 2LR, Northern Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, lovely decorated,good food and good if you want to try something different, plenty of choices in the menu, customer service is the best.

Thank Tarkan T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well guys were do we start. Excellent excellent excellent , we where a party of 9 and from the moment we walked in it was brilliant. It was a casino royal evening with a 7 course meal. The service , food , staff were perfect....More

Thank billyjan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We fancied some nice Asian food so arrived at House of Zen looking forward to a delicious meal. How wrong could I have been, I still feel traumatised by the experience. For starters we ordered the dim sum, at £9 we received 3 small dumplings...More

Thank Christina H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

8 of us when here recently for pre Christmas treat and it was so disappointing. It was a Wednesday night and the restaurant wasn't overly busy but food was just average. Some of the dishes where dry with little to no favouring in them. The...More

Thank Craic32
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a meal with colleagues and customers here recently and as usual, it caters for all tastes. The staff are very accomodating and the atmosphere is always good. I will keep returning.

Thank John M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Been to this restaurant a few times now. My wife loves it but the jury has always been out on it for me, particularly in respect of their main courses. Went there for lunch today and the jury found them guilty of poor quality mains....More

Thank charliepollockc
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

My son recommend this place, and what a place. There is a lunch time special, two courses for £10. Which is well worth it.

Thank Anubis14
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Table of 9 looking forward to a nice meal but can't even comment on the food as my appetite quickly vanished. In the men's toilets a member of the kitchen staff left a cubicle after I assume was a no.2 and walked straight out of...More

5  Thank SLK20
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

Went as group for pre-show menu. Same as ordinary menu but set price, unless of course you want beef or noodles or a large selection of whats on menu when more money gets added. Food was average and seemed to be based on quantity. A...More

Thank Keith T
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

I visited this fine establishment whilst on a business trip. There are not many Chinese restaurants in this area of Belfast so I kind of came here by chance. It is a busy and popular restaurant that has adopted a rather trendy modern Asian cuisine...More

Thank seriously_fussy
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 45 hotels in Belfast
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre
1,749 reviews
.10 km away
Premier Inn Belfast City Cathedral Quarter Hotel
2,454 reviews
.27 km away
Merchant Hotel
2,624 reviews
.27 km away
Dream Apartments Belfast
52 reviews
.37 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Coppi Restaurant
1,115 reviews
.03 km away
Made in Belfast Cathedral Quarter
943 reviews
.06 km away
Hadskis
790 reviews
.17 km away
Established Coffee
261 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cathedral Quarter
678 reviews
.14 km away
St. Anne's Cathedral
391 reviews
.11 km away
The MAC Belfast
198 reviews
.05 km away
Northern Ireland War Memorial Museum
38 reviews
.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Hayley J
29 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Declan C | Reviewed this property |
You can just walk in which is what I have done on the last two occasions. But, this is a popular restaurant so it's best to make a reservation to avoid disappointment.
0
Votes
Sarah L
25 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from dawnecallender | Reviewed this property |
Im sure if you ask they would be willing to accommodate. The staff were very friendly and accommodating
2
Votes
Sarah L
25 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Rosslyn S | Reviewed this property |
Can't see this being a problem but just to be sure give the restaurant a ring .
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$35
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Digital Payments, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
1:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
1:00 PM - 12:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 St Annes Square | Unit 3 St Anne’s Square, Belfast BT1 2LR, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9027 8688
  • E-mail
Description
Cocooned in the Heart of the Cathedral Quarter is the newest addition to the Zen Restaurant Group, the Cool and Elegant House of Zen. The House of Zen blends a little bit of The Orient into the Traditional cobbled streets and cosy bars of the Cathedral Quarter in Belfast.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing