We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

City Picnic

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Unit 5 Castle Court Royal Avenue | 2-6 Castle Street, Belfast BT1 1BH, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9024 6122
Website
Today
11:30 - 18:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Tue 11:30 - 18:00
Wed - Sat 11:30 - 20:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 366: English reviews
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

City Picnic has been like a yo-yo in terms of food quality and has gone through phases of brilliance to phases of average then back again. This visit however was particularly disappointing with two colleagues. I ordered the ceaser salad which came with no egg and croutons/leaves that tasted like they were straight of of a tesco isle. While the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Markus J
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

In Belfast shopping and looking for lunch.. Spotted City Picnic & the menu looked pretty good.. Modern and very relaxed.. Helpful member of staff presented menus and advice. The place is licensed so beer and wine available.. We ordered a fully loaded burger and chilli chicken wrap. Both were delicious. Will be back. Very reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank Belfast2015
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

Brilliant review, but only four stars?! I hope this means you'll give us five on your second visit! More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After walking round Belfast all day we were shattered and this place really caught our eye! I couldn't believe how cheap it was but though we could give it a go anyway! I ordered the bacon and cheeseburger with chipotle fries! Amazing! My boyfriend had the chicken burger which he enjoyed just as much! We also ordered nachos which we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank abbirose93
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

Fab review - you're our favourite! So glad you enjoyed your meal, come back and make your way through the rest of our menu, and the cocktails too! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great Value for money and atmosphere was great. A lot of choice on the burgers and the fries were delicious. Only thing I could fault them for was the plastic utensils.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mari W
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

HI Mari, Believe it or not we have real cutlery too! Make sure to let one of our staff know on your next visit and we'll point you in the right direction :) More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice staff but food is below average. The nachos were awful. Burger had no taste whatsoever. Won't be back

Helpful?
2 Thank 231petef
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

Not a happy customer! Hope you let our "nice staff" know at the time - nobody likes a keyboard warrior! More 

Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first visit. We were looking for something to keep us going whilst we were shopping. The greeter was very friendly and explained the concept. The beef and chicken burgers were very nice. However the nachos weren't a hit with my son. The guacamole was the squeezy bottle type which I suppose we should have anticipated. Sweet potato... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna P
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

Hi Anna, Thanks for the review. Sorry to hear you wouldn't "make a point of coming back" even though overall you sounded pretty happy with your meal - guacamole aside, of course! We can't win them all! More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Entered to a friendly welcome and quickly seated. There was a good selection of fast food with some healthy options. My burger and sweet potato fries were quickly served, tasty and a reasonable price. Ambience was modern and relaxing.

Helpful?
Thank Lagosnomore
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks for the great feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back :) More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

We've been coming here for a few years, have a loyalty card/app and in the past and was always good. However we were sorely disappointed on our visit today. Firstly the place was absolutely baltic inside and had to sit with our coats on, secondly, the portion sizes have got MUCH smaller. (Nothing like the picture above) There always used... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scotquine
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

Hi Scotquine, I'm sorry to hear that, unlike so many of our recent reviewers, you are not a fan of our new menu! If you were a little cold rife, we apologise, but we haven't quite anticipated the April chill that we're experiencing - then again, it is Northern Ireland! Our new menu is all about choice. Not only can... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Found this place after a long day sightseeing and the burgers looked nice from the pictures in the window. We weren't disappointed by the burgers when they arrived and they were very tasty and juicy. The staff were very friendly and the service was good and it weren't a long wait to receive food. The local cider I tried was... More 

Helpful?
Thank UKtravelerone
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks for the rave review! Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to City Picnic, and we hope you enjoyed the rest of the city! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

I had a chicken burger and garlic fries, cant complain about any of it, my cousin had a veggie burger which was homemade and apparently great. Garlic mayo was great, pitty they dont do desserts

Helpful?
Thank Clareblack
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

Hi Clare, Yippee, another fan! Glad to hear you enjoyed your food, please come again soon! More 

Travellers who viewed City Picnic also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to City Picnic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Fast food, British, Diner, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 18:00
Monday
11:30 - 18:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 18:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 20:00
Thursday
11:30 - 20:00
Friday
11:30 - 20:00
Saturday
11:30 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Unit 5 Castle Court Royal Avenue | 2-6 Castle Street, Belfast BT1 1BH, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9024 6122
Description
We make real hamburgers, made from the best local beef, grounded with just a touch of pepper and nothing else, served in a soft fresh brioche bun with fries.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from City Picnic staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?