We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Moody Boar Restaurant

Palace Demesne | Armagh Public Park, Palace Demesne, Armagh BT60 4EN, Northern Ireland
+44 28 3752 9678
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good20%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
10:00 AM - 4:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
European, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Palace Demesne | Armagh Public Park, Palace Demesne, Armagh BT60 4EN, Northern Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Very busy restaurant relaxed friendly and efficient staff. My wife and I had a beautiful meal Saturday 14/10/2017. It was probably a little dearer than the normal for the area but well worth the extra expense.

Thank edoogan7
Reviewed 6 days ago

Had a lovely Sunday evening meal in the Moody Boar. This was our first visit and won't be the last. Three of us ate and we all practically licked our plates! The good was beautiful and well presented. The restaurant isn't big but it is...More

Thank LucyCass1718
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Just love this place one of my favourite places to go with family and friends. Food is delicious and well presented the slow cooked beef is a real hit with me. They also have a very good choice for another that needs to eat a...More

Thank Jenny R
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I visited the Moody Boar last night and had a fantastic meal. My wife loved the vegetarian selections on offer and I had a beautiful beef dish. The staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for us. Looking forward to visiting...More

Thank Gareth W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Four of us visited on a Saturday evening. The restaurant wasn't very busy, we had pre booked a table. The staff were not very attentive. The food we received was lovely but the portions were too small for the price we were paying. I have...More

Thank Paula N
themoodyboar, Owner at The Moody Boar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning Paula N, Thank you for reviewing us, we will take note of your review and let are guys know your thoughts. PS. We would love that you come back to try us again. thank you once again. Sean

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is fantastic, I went with a group of 4 and each of us got a different starter and main, we all sampled each other's and every dish was so flavoursome and I think I would struggle with what to order next time as...More

Thank LG_8992
moodyboarmanagment, Owner at The Moody Boar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good morning LG_8992, Thank you your review, and glad to see you all enjoyed your food so much. Look forward to seeing you all again. Sean

Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a gorgeous dinner at The Moody Boar. The restaurant is located in a beautiful setting in Armagh. The atmosphere and decor is wonderful. The food superb. If it's made the Michelin guide, then it pretty much speaks for itself, added to its celebrity clientele...More

Thank Roccoco M
moodyboarmanagment, Owner at The Moody Boar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Hi Roccoco M, Thank you for your review. Glad to see that you both enjoyed your Anniversary dinner with us and we will continue to work hard at what we enjoy doing and bringing something different to Armagh. Hope to see you again soon Sean

Reviewed 6 September 2017

I visited this restaurant and I really liked the pretty setting in the courtyard. It showed promise but unfortunately we felt some other aspects let it down. The food was tasty but extremely small portions and you will have to have several courses to avoid...More

2  Thank Elaine B
moodyboarmanagment, Owner at The Moody Boar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi Elaine B, Thank you for your review and will look into what you have pointed out. If you don't mind me adding; we source local produce, alot of it from raw products and work hard at ensuring it is tasty. Due to the costs...More

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Got takeaway salad and coffee and paid £10 for it . The plastic container (like u get in Chinese) was half full with salad leave 4-5 thinly sliced chicken, about one tbs of quinoa and 2 half stuffed peppers with feta. And slice of bread...More

4  Thank Tanya P
moodyboarmanagment, Owner at The Moody Boar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi Tanya P, We serve food that has been prepared from raw products sourced locally, we put alot of effort and time into what we do as do the small local artisan producers that we get alot of our ingredients from. We do believe that...More

Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

The setting is lovely...we just wanted a light snack & a couple of drinks. Sharing platter was poor (1 small piece of chicken & 2 slices of black pudding was the only meat on it - didn't justify the £16 price tag) & we had...More

4  Thank PJ J
moodyboarmanagment, Owner at The Moody Boar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Good day PJ J, Thank you for you feedback, and we will look into this. Sean

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Embers Coffee House and Grill Bar
606 reviews
.88 km away
4 Vicars Restaurant
133 reviews
.95 km away
Uluru Bar & Grill
559 reviews
.86 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Patrick's Cathedral (Roman Catholic)
205 reviews
1.42 km away
Armagh Astronomy Centre and Planetarium
195 reviews
1.36 km away
St. Patrick's Cathedral (Church of Ireland)
95 reviews
.94 km away
Armagh Robinson Library
36 reviews
1.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
LallycON
8 July 2015|
Answer
Response from MrMBoar | Property representative |
Hi LallycON, we have no dress code for the restaurant, we are a casual dinning restaurant and always have been. What we emphasis to our customers in our restaurant is to: relax, eat and enjoy. Some come in suits and others... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$28
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
5:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Palace Demesne | Armagh Public Park, Palace Demesne, Armagh BT60 4EN, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Armagh  >  Armagh
  • Phone Number: +44 28 3752 9678
  • E-mail
Description
At The Moody Boar we are a casual dining restaurant working for sustainability, value, local produce & most of all Flavour. Surrounded by the beautiful Armagh Palace Demesne Public Park & grounds we infuse the Smells, Sights & Flavours from the grounds by growing our own at the restaurant garden & foraging in the Park.This also crosses over into The Moody Boars Interior, out with the new & in with the 'up-cycled', the restaurant is relaxed, quirky & stylish in a moody way.We Love Food to be fresh, home-made & full of flavor so we use traditional techniques to ensure respect for the ingredients that we use and the dishes we produce. You'll notice the difference!!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing