We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Percy French

Downs Road, Newcastle, Northern Ireland
+44 28 4372 3175
Call
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good22%
  • Average17%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (29 reviews)
“cheesecake” (10 reviews)
“mussels” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Downs Road, Newcastle, Northern Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 720 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I had lunch here on Sunday past and I loved both the food and service! On arrival we were greeted by Martin and brought to our table, we booked weeks ago and luckily got a window table. Aimee was our waitress and was excellent, we...More

Thank Bangorman
Reviewed 2 days ago

Visited Percy French Restuarant today 18 Feb for first and last time. Greeting by waiter and waitress was luke warm. Seating and tables are quite basic and not overly comfortable. Carpeted area looks like it hadn't been cleaned in a week. My wife told me...More

Thank MIMAC61
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I ate here quite some time ago and was disappointed but thought I would give it another go. The service is great and couldn’t be faulted. The food and atmosphere was again...average. To me it is has more of a ‘cafe’ feel that a restaurant....More

Thank mumof2chn
Reviewed 1 week ago

Brilliant service very friendly staff and above all excellent food atmosphere very homely and cosy can highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. I will definitely be back.

Thank Hilary K
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my partner went here for dinner last night. Nice atmosphere and lovely staff. We had for starters soup and chilli chicken which was lovely and for main I had fish and chip and my partner had the vegetable curry which he said was...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great lunch, friendly staff and the food was really delicious as well as a great selection of wine! Will be back soon :-)

Thank Machina41
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter and I had the most amazing meal in Percy French and the service was incredible, thanks to our lovely and attentive waitress Hayley. Will definitely be back.

Thank Jacqui S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came in around half six, was told we could eat in bar area instead of the Restaurant with the same food because it was fully booked fair enough be probably should have booked. Drinks are fairly priced. I would give the liver pàtè a miss...More

Thank LPK1997
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went for light lunch and had the chowder. One word - delicious! I asked the chef for the recipe and made a pot myself. Although not as nice as the Percy French it was good. This is a fabulous place - great food and...More

Thank Helen B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were first class always there when needed and made sure we had all we needed . Checked after starter and main to ensure we enjoying. We both had Fish cakes which were first class the issues was the portion to big . One...More

Thank Jtbendix
PreviousNext
12345672
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Newcastle
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
3,245 reviews
.17 km away
Donard Hotel
133 reviews
.18 km away
Roma
2 reviews
.45 km away
Golf Links House
123 reviews
.88 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Vanilla Restaurant
926 reviews
.31 km away
Villa Vinci
910 reviews
.20 km away
Great Jones Craft & Kitchen
254 reviews
.32 km away
Brunel's Restaurant
339 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Life Adventure Centre
104 reviews
1.04 km away
Murlough National Nature Reserve
240 reviews
1.45 km away
Slieve Donard
242 reviews
.21 km away
Newcastle Visitor Information Centre
85 reviews
.65 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
john h
Mr.Toal, I have just read your unprofessional reply to my comment of 22 May 2017. I don't believe there was any need to bring clarity to my comment, you are correct in so far as my 'attack' on your staff member was personal, she was a disgrace to her profession in showing little more than contempt for a potential paying customer. My dog is ten years old, (15?) I made no mention to her of a previous visit to your establishment, she made no mention of your policy in allowing pets to eat with us outside, I asked her! She did not offer a high chair, I returned to the restaurant and requested one, she placed it just outside of the door, approximately ten yards from where we were seated, that was rude, so rude we left without further ado. Perhaps Mr Toal you ought to do your job and manage, get a grip of your staff instead of making ill informed replies to customers complaints. Perhaps you will invite me to return after reassuring me my concerns have been addressed? I will not hold my breath. Regards, John Hall
29 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Ashleigh_GS | Property representative |
Dear Mr Hall, Your 'Review' if you want to call it that, was a personal attack of our team member. It was insulting as it stated that she was 'elderly' and had messy hair. I would happily invite you back so that you could... More
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$33
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Downs Road, Newcastle, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Newcastle
  • Phone Number: +44 28 4372 3175
Description
Situated in the grounds of the luxurious Slieve Donard Resort & Spa, the Perch French is the perfect place to relax with a drink and enjoy the finest of local produce, cooked to perfection.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing