We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carmelite Bar & Grill

Stirling Street | Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU, Scotland
+44 1224 589101
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good30%
  • Average17%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“chateaubriand” (4 reviews)
“brownie” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, British, Grill, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stirling Street | Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were quite shocked re the really slow service, even after we'd said we were in a hurry to attend an event. Even sticking to easy things like soup and sandwiches still took ages and we had to constantly keep going to ask what was...More

Thank Sheena F
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

I also find it difficult to understand why soup and sandwiches would take so long, without further information, however I apologise for this delay. Our team do take notice of requests of speed of service when such people maybe theatre-goers etc. Regarding your comments about...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall good service from the waiter Ryan, however not many other positives. There was a nice seating area but we were placed by the messy bar where the staff were rushing around, tidying up from the night before. Did not create a relaxing or professional...More

Thank Abdn-23
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your positive comments relating to Ryan and his service to you. Depending on what day, and time you visited would determine where we allocate seating. It sounds as though you may have dined on a Sunday morning which Saturday evening accommodation is...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Was here with 3 friends. Service was good and the food was good. We had the goats cheese with salted beetroot which was served on a slate and was tasty. This was followed by Amity Scampi, skinny fries and mushy peas. It was good but...More

Thank LynnSS_10
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your meal. We are into our 'Winter' All Day Menu which does have 9 starters, 16 main courses and a Festive set 3 course menu for £18.95. We feel that's quite an extensive menu choice which covers comfort...More

Reviewed 5 November 2017

Food not that nice, wouldnt recommend the steak. service not that great, took ages to acknowledge us and it wasnt even busy, we were just ignored. Didnt really like this place that much, might come back to see if we were just unlucky with the...More

Thank kristinabarwell
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your comments and I do hope you allow us another opportunity, as we don't usually ignore customers. All comments are reviewed by our managers who share them with the team, so I am confident this was an isolated time.

Reviewed 15 October 2017

We've never eaten here but have started popping in for a relaxing drink or two from time to time. It's a really large bar with comfortable seating and decent background music. Sometimes there's a pianist playing which adds to the ambiance. Staff are always really...More

Thank globetrotting168
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thank you for visiting Carmelite for drinks and pleased yo enjoy the ambience and live pianists. I also welcome and appreciate your constructive comments, although also generally pleased your overall experience was positive. I have spoken at length with the Senior Mixologists and have revised...More

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

After being served 15 mins after the rest of the party, I was so disappointed. They should just say they can not cater for vegetarians and vegans. My sandwich had tomato and cumber in bread...that was it. Then packaged bought cakes and a small bowel...More

2  Thank mhjm43
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Apologies for this poor service. I have investigated and we so have a pre-agreed vegetarian and vegan offer for our afternoon teas. It would appear you had a trainee server trying to assist, whereby poorly communicated with our chefs. Apologies, hopefully you will allow us...More

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We had to return 2 cold teapots , it was 3 rd time lucky before we got tea that had been boiled , we were told problems with the boiler but we suggested they use the kettle this time, disappointed as not much apology and...More

1  Thank Julieanne M
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Disappointed to read of your decision not to return..... Cucumber sandwiches are a classic for traditional afternoon tea, however we do rotate the various sandwich fillings by the season, so a new selection of savoury sandwiches will be presented. Apologies for the boiler, apologies, but...More

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

I left here just about in tears. After having an operation I decided to book a brunch "stacker" for some family members and my 1 year old to thank them for all their help. Wish I'd stayed at home and made them toast. Arrived at...More

Thank Nicole S
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

I am so disappointed to read of these shortcomings and apologise, I am sorry we let you down, especially having brought your family for a thank you, after your operation. I would like to maker it up to you, please email me direct - gary.atkinson@carmelitehotels.com

Reviewed 22 August 2017

My partners purchased this deal through groupon, I have been before and I was quite impressed as the chateaubriand was lovely, however on this occasion what we got was definately not a chateaubriand and do not appreciate being given a lesser substitute. The FAKE chateaubriand...More

Thank Angela D
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

There is nothing 'fake' about our Rump Chateaubriand, which is clearly outlined on our menu. We used to offer Fillet Chateaubriand, but received comments it was too expensive. We therefore sourced great Romp joints from a local butcher, prepare and marinate them, before cooking in...More

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

I have had many gluten free Afternoon Teas and to be honest none really live up to expectation....until visiting Carmelite! Very impressed with presentation...arrived on slate tray with sandwiches and cakes arranged in a tin lunch type box...how nice!😀 Sandwiches were freshly made with selection...More

Thank julie f
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thanks for your positive review. We present this fashion so as you know it's been prepared completely separate and is clear these items are gluten free.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Madame Mews Thai Cafe
244 reviews
.05 km away
Bistro Verde
631 reviews
.11 km away
Cafe 52
621 reviews
.10 km away
Musa
563 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aberdeen Maritime Museum
1,385 reviews
.21 km away
Kirk of St. Nicholas
75 reviews
.23 km away
Serco Northlink Ferries
101 reviews
.13 km away
Tivoli Theatre
29 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Carmelite Bar & Grill staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$32
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stirling Street | Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU, Scotland
  • Public Transportation: Well served by both bus and rail links.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Aberdeenshire  >  Aberdeen
  • Phone Number: +44 1224 589101
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Carmelite
Description
Carmelite Bar & Grill in Aberdeen's Merchant Quarter is a fabulous venue adjacent to the transport hub, and surrounded by FIVE of the City Centre under-cover retail centres. Known for our Intoxicating Afternoon Teas, with cocktails served from Vintage Coffee Pots into china cups, Saturdays also offer Mad Hatter Tea parties the private setting of the Library, and Rock & Roll parties in a 4 Poster Bed located in our lounge and our Waltzer with your own spinning booth. An extensive range of menus, from Breakfast & Brunch, "Wake Up till Noon" menu, a full A'la Cart style "All Day Menu' from noon till 10pm, complemented with a superb Cocktail, Champagne, Wines & Bar menu complete with "Lounge Food Nibbles" to choose from as well as afternoon teas. The antique revolving door leads into a hip lounge and informal bar & grill with floor-to-ceiling windows and sleek open plan design – a perfect backdrop for the warm service and uncomplicated cuisine.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing