We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fresh Bytes

51 Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AB, Scotland
+44 1586 551666
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“rhubarb cake” (2 reviews)
“cakes” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Cafe, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options
51 Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AB, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Walking around in the morning I wanted (needed) a good cup of coffee. I found it here. The coffee was well made and very, very good. Then I tried a homemade scone to go with it and I was delighted. Great coffee and a great...More

Thank ChathamTom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not pretentious, but honest. Food OK. Very helpful staff, just ask and they will do what they can to help you.

Thank murox2017
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Great find - owner really friendly and accommodating. Came here after big walk to Mull of Kintyre lighthouse so we were all starving. Came with gluten intolerant friends who were well-catered for here. Wide-ranging menu with all-day breakfast, baked potatoes, casseroles, sausage and mash, pie...More

Thank MadameRenard77
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

4 of us called around 11am on a saturday morning. We all had full breakfast one didn't want fresh mushrooms he was given something else, the breakfast was full freshly cooked and the plates were warm the coffee was freshly made to our request extra...More

Thank Robert M
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Definitely not the place to order coffee and a scone.The coffee from a dispensing machine was pretty grim, and the scone , whilst heated up, tasted four days old. You can do better elsewhere .More

Thank LanarkshireKillieboy
Kathryn B, Owner at Fresh Bytes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

All our scones are freshly baked and we always heat them up as the majority of our customers prefer them that way. Our coffee is Lavazza and is very popular. If you had complained at the time we would have done everything we could to...More

Reviewed 12 September 2016

We have been coming here for several years as I always get a great choice of meals and cakes. I'm gluten and lactose intolerant as well as having IBS. The people are friendly and helpful and have been known to share recipes with me which...More

1  Thank Stephanie20091973
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

I ordered a cheese scone and a coffee. The coffee tasted like dishwater (it was from a dispensing machine) and the scone was heated up so quickly I can only assume it was microwaved. Aren't fresh ones normally served cold?More

1  Thank Marrowontour
Kathryn B, Owner at Fresh Bytes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

I am so sorry you were disappointed with both your scone and coffee. If we had known we would had responded with immediate replacements. We use a Lavazza recommended machine and have no control over strength of the coffee dispensed but we could have added...More

Reviewed 17 August 2016

We were visiting Campbeltown for the day with our Guide Dog pup (Kenzie, 14 months old). We only wanted a quick snack. This cafe was the perfect find! We were welcomed by a very friendly couple who had no problem with a dog. We ordered...More

Thank SHECheshire
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We recently moved to the area & stumbled across this little gem of a place, being a Coeliac I find it usually quite difficult in a lot of cafes/ restaurants etc to have a good choice in any food that I can safely eat, here...More

Thank Anyak111
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Me and my family were staying near Campbeltown and whilst walking around the town felt like a cup of coffee and a small bite to eat. On the 'Campbeltown tourist map' 'Fresh Bytes' was mentioned so we thought we would give it a go. Unfortunately...More

1  Thank Urnshehe
Kathryn B, Owner at Fresh Bytes, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

I thoroughly apologise for your negative experience at Fresh Bytes. Unfortunately on the day in question ( and other times) we had a local lady in who does not seem to know about personal hygiene. We know she is lonely and spends the whole day...More

Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Bluebell
171 reviews
.18 km away
The Black Sheep Pub
144 reviews
.21 km away
Ardshiel Restaurant
147 reviews
.32 km away
Whisky Macs Bar & Grill
48 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Springbank Distillery
194 reviews
.27 km away
Davaar Island Cave Painting of the Crucifixion
35 reviews
.94 km away
Coastal Design
31 reviews
.18 km away
Glen Scotia Distillery
14 reviews
.70 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
20 July 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from jingscrivens717 | Reviewed this property |
I'm not certain, but I think they don't. They have a board outside, advertising the specials, and it doesn't mention Wi-Fi. (the only place I am certain has Wifi in Campbeltown is the Royal Hotel coffee bar, but probably... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Takeout, Highchairs Available
Good for
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 51 Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AB, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Argyll and Bute  >  Kintyre Peninsula  >  Campbeltown
  • Phone Number: +44 1586 551666
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing