We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brodies

) #1 of 18 Restaurants in Moffat $$ - $$$ European, British,
1-2 Altrive Place Holm Street | Holm Street, Moffat DG10 9EB, Scotland
+44 1683 222870
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good17%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish cakes” (14 reviews)
“afternoon tea” (32 reviews)
“gin menu” (10 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Scottish, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1-2 Altrive Place Holm Street | Holm Street, Moffat DG10 9EB, Scotland
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped in Moffat on the way to the Lake District, good choice of food. Very busy wee place, very clean and tidy. Waitress was very friendly. Waiting time for food was quick. Nice size of portions too! Lovely ploughman's for me and the fish cakes...More

Thank Peter B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful afternoon tea lots of cakes but could have done with more sandwiches, very busy, lovely restaurant

Thank cbraid4food
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fab restaurant, relaxing atmosphere,nicely decorated, fab food,very helpful with dietary requirements,only negative small portions does'nt really say fine dining looking at the menu.

1  Thank toasty2
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for lunch today and was pleasantly surprised- the menu is inviting, the service good, decor relaxing. And when the food arrived it was attractively served and delicious.Would certainly return, and did I mention the prices were reasonable. Well done Brodies

Thank claretok
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a morning of intense hiking, we stumbled upon this restaurant for lunch. The staff were very welcoming and warm. The menu boasted delicious food at very reasonable prices. A good selection. The food turned out just as delicious as it sounded. The owner is...More

Thank eyeHateSand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good looking food, amazing tastes. This place is a must if visiting Moffat, you can have a few gins as well.

Thank Tony O
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited this delightful restaurant today and ordered the afternoon tea although there was a good variety of choice on the lunch menu.. The majority of the staff were young but very friendly and attentive Our afternoon tea was presented beautifully and everything was delicious especially...More

Thank Christine P
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Visited here when staying in Moffat for a few days. Telephoned in advance to book a table as we were disappointed at not getting a table the year before. The lovely girl who took my booking asked if it was a special occasion...Yes it was...More

Thank Shirley B
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Third or fourth visit to this delightful restaurant. The atmosphere is both relaxing and visually stimulating with the well thought out interior design and newly introduced gin lounge, with its tasteful period features. The food and service was, as ever, excellent. As vegetarians, it is...More

Thank Gary E
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Brodie's in Moffat was a real find. The meal was superb and the menu was particularly good on veggie choices. All wines (many v reasonably priced) were also served by the glass which is pretty unusual. Staff may have been young but were very professional...More

Thank LassInFife
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Claudios Restaurant
372 reviews
.17 km away
Cafe Ariete
219 reviews
.14 km away
The Limetree Restaurant
130 reviews
.49 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lothlorien Emporium and Toy Museum
37 reviews
.14 km away
Moffat Woolen Mill
129 reviews
.19 km away
The Green Frog
67 reviews
.52 km away
The Coachman Bar
13 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Brian D
Why can't your chef cook the most basic of food. The chips we had last Saturday were the worst I have ever tasted. Dark brown in colour soggy and limp. The beef burger can't have had any beef in it and the meal portions very poor for the money you are charging.
5 July 2015|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from David C | Reviewed this property |
Apologies for my delay in responding. Yes, we had chips with our meals. They were larger than one would normally expect and were perhaps more salted than I would have liked but they were properly cooked. The portion of... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$25 - US$33
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1-2 Altrive Place Holm Street | Holm Street, Moffat DG10 9EB, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Moffat
  • Phone Number: +44 1683 222870
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing