We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club

) #45 of 106 Restaurants in St Andrews $$ - $$$ , , British
1 St. Marys Place, St Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
+44 1334 476964
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (87 reviews)
“curly fries” (7 reviews)
“fajitas” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Grill, Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 St. Marys Place, St Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We had an amazing experience at the Vic. We were made to feel very welcome. Nicole went the extra mile and made us off the menu espresso martinis which were amazing. We will defiantly be returning.More

Thank Aneliese M
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Aneliese, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review! Our staff are always trying their best to improve the customer's experience by going the extra mile. We look forward to your next visit to enjoy some espresso martinis! Thanks, The...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Girls day out and chose here for food and we were not disappointed by the food, drinks or staff, super friendly, nice relaxed atmosphere.More

Thank Shona1979
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Shona, I'm glad to hear that you had a great day here at The Vic, and thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review. We aim to maintain a relaxed atmosphere by having delicious food, great drinks and hard working staff...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

A friend and I ate here for lunch recently and we found the staff and atmosphere to be very uncomfortable and unfriendly. The food was okay however the mac and cheese was rather bland. Beautiful building however, will not be in a rush to return.More

Thank louisemclaren98
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Louise, I'm upset to hear about your recent visit, we aim to make the venue as comfortable and inviting as possible through great service and delicious food. It's a shame your experience did not reflect this, I'd very much like to discuss this further...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We found fhis place looking for food before a night out. Ifs brilliant the atmosphere is relaxed and happy there are books and games to play theres plenty of space to move around a lift for access. The menu is mostly burgers hot dogs and...More

Thank therewasanoldlady
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review! Our burgers and hot dogs are a favourite here at and I'm glad that you agree. We look forward to your next trip to The Vic. Thanks, The Vic.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Supposedly rated for excellent hamburgers, sadly they are only cooked one way....well done. Sides, fries, drinks, all good, but would prefer a rare or at least pink and moist burger.More

Thank realChrisZoller
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! I'm glad you enjoyed our bar, the drinks selection is great and ever expanding. As for the burgers, we take public health very seriously and serving burgers rare in the UK is a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for lunch with friends and we waited 15 minutes for our order to be taken (after going up to the bar to remind them that we were waiting). A nice simple order of 1 soup and 2 lots of the potato wedges - nothing...More

Thank Polo16
VicCafe, Supervisor at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, First of all I just want to apologise for such a long wait on a simple order, even if it was a busy service you should have been updated if there were any issues/delays with your order and I'm terribly sorry you felt like...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here today on a day trip to St Andrews. Very surprised at how stunning it was inside. The outside is cool with an old cinema look then you go inside and it's modern and trendy. The food was great. Very filling. Well presented and...More

Thank Gavceltic
VicCafe, Supervisor at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! We're glad you enjoyed our generous portions and hope you'll return to sample more of our menu. We will also pass on your comments to the staff who were...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First visit we came for lunch, to try find something for the family for a birthday, had such a horrendous experience, it wasn't all bad though, up until we ordered food the visit was excellent, the food we ordered was wrong, the waitress apologized and...More

Thank Adamski12345
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi there, I'm sorry to hear about your first visit, this is not our usual standard of service and I'm glad you gave us another visit to see the standards that we aim to achieve. Consistency is something we strive for, to maintain an enjoyable...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Looked this place up on the internet as we needed a place that was child friendly! And this is what popped up! Apart from having a kids menu i wouldn't recommend this place at all! The two female server's were not great at all! The...More

1  Thank Elaine D
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Elaine, I'm terribly sorry to hear of your recent visit. What you have described is not our usual standard of service and we aim for a much higher level. If you could email me at hello@vicstandrews.co.uk, as I'd very much like to discuss this...More

Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

After a great golfing holiday with my friend and our husbands, my friend and I came into the Vic for some food, even though we had heard mixed reviews. The staff working were so friendly and welcoming and the food was exactly what we wanted!...More

Thank amandajones1960
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Hi, Amanda. We hope you enjoyed your holiday here in Scotland! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. It's fantastic to see you had such a good experience, the member of staff that you are referring to is brand new...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Vine Leaf Restaurant
546 reviews
.14 km away
The Tailend Restaurant and Fish Bar
1,229 reviews
.08 km away
Forgan's
2,159 reviews
.13 km away
Mitchell Deli
1,187 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
University of St Andrews
163 reviews
.32 km away
Fisher and Donaldson
51 reviews
.27 km away
St Andrews VisitScotland iCentre
41 reviews
.27 km away
Holy Trinity Church (Town Kirk)
45 reviews
.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Louise G
7 June 2016|
Answer
Response from VicCafe | Property representative |
Hey Louise, those under 18 are welcome from 10am-10pm everyday. Our kitchen closes at 9pm some nights, so I suggest booking if you think it will be a late one. Hope to see you soon!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$14
Cuisine
Grill, Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:00
Monday
10:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 02:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 02:00
Thursday
10:00 - 02:00
Friday
10:00 - 02:00
Saturday
10:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 St. Marys Place, St Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St Andrews
  • Phone Number: +44 1334 476964
  • E-mail
Description
The VIC is a twin venue of sorts, like the Olsens, except everyone here is a healthy eater and we don't see ourselves being billionaires anytime soon. There’s the pub/kitchen, which pretty much does exactly what it says on the tin, clinkity clink drinks from crafty craft beer to posher than posh teacup gin serves. Food glorious food, there may or may not be hot sausage and mustard (depending on the day and the chef's mood and whether or not we were able to catch fresh sausages that morning). The social club, although on the same floor as the pub/kitchen, is on an altogether lower level morally. The DJs are fresher than the air up on the 11th hole, totally non generic and they show up and play records really good. Then there's the one off club nights, the ceilidh and a whole bunch of other great stuff.We’re all about cheap as chips food, shin digs befitting of this ancient old town, cocktails, fairy tales, and pretty much anything else we can get away with doing in a licensed premises that won't result in our long suffering manager and his associates spending a casual weekend in the jailhouse.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you’ve got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing