We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Adamson

127 South Street, St Andrews KY16 9UH, Scotland
+44 1334 479191
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (112 reviews)
“trifle” (23 reviews)
“chateaubriand” (23 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Soups, Scottish, Grill, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
127 South Street, St Andrews KY16 9UH, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Went in during the oyster happy hour. All in the group able to try one for £1 each and it was a fun experience. Cocktails are absolutely fabulous with some great presentation involved. Would highly recommend if in St. Andrews

Thank SqeakyLady
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I love this place, the food has never disappointed, nor have the cocktails in their bar. The decor is lovely, the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and it’s a great spot for lunch or dinner. Highly recommend The Adamson 😊

Thank BlueTattoo
Reviewed 4 days ago

What an amazing bar, huge selection of scotches and their hand made craft drinks were simply amazing. Would absolutely visit here again

Thank HeloSapper
Reviewed 5 days ago

We had our last dinner in St Andrews at the Adamson and we had a great time.The meal was great and the service outstanding.Compliments all around.

Thank Stefan S
127theadamson, Manager at The Adamson, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Stefan, Absolutely delighted you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Julie Lewis

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First lunch for 4 here and enjoyed the delicious food from the main menu, so serious customers. Sadly the service let us down - Despite having ordered wine, we had to remind staff after our starters had been served. By the time it came we...More

Thank Brian F
127theadamson, Manager at The Adamson, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Brian, Thank you for your review. Delighted you enjoyed your meal with us. the other issue you raised have been addressed. I hope you might return in the future. Best regards, Julie Lewis

Reviewed 1 week ago

Delicious cocktails followed by a very nice meal. We had a reservation and table was ready when we arrived a few minutes early. I enjoyed the house salad and had salmon for my main course. We shared the cheese cake with mint ice-cream for dessert....More

Thank ChristineD20162016
127theadamson, Manager at The Adamson, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Christine, So cool you enjoyed your meal and I have a feeling you want to return for another Gypsy Eyes. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Best regards, Julie Lewis

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very loud restaurant. Granted, we were there on a Saturday night, but we could hardly hear each other. Further, we were seated at a table that overlooked a "Service Door" which was opened by staff at least twice a minute. It appeared...More

Thank DestinyRides
127theadamson, Manager at The Adamson, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on the number of issues. Action is being taking on each. Best regards, Julie Lewis

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been here many times and always normal give you 10/10. Went for lunch today and the food was still first class but service was not so great! Feeling disappointed today Adamson.

Thank gibbsters
127theadamson, Manager at The Adamson, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Guest, Delighted you enjoyed our food. Your comments on service have been noted and actioned hopefully will not be a concern in the future. Best regards, Julie Lewis

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a reservation because we were a group of 8 adults. It was packed and they gave us a table by the kitchen which made it noisy and hot! The heat lamps from the kitchen were very warm on our table. The food was...More

Thank Bigpizzapie
127theadamson, Manager at The Adamson, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Guest, Sorry if your table was uncomfortable during your dinner. I don't know whether you mentioned this to team. We would certainly have tried to approve your comfort. Comments on food and service are duly noted and thank you for taking the time to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The atmosphere is a bit trendy, but the food is top notch. A crowd of six had a great meal without one complaint. Would highly recommend.

Thank Carl S
127theadamson, Manager at The Adamson, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Carl, Superb review! Delighted that you had a great time. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Julie Lewis

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
St Andrews Waffle Company
132 reviews
.02 km away
Vine Leaf Restaurant
567 reviews
.04 km away
The Tailend Restaurant and Fish Bar
1,360 reviews
.12 km away
Little Italy
1,450 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
University of St Andrews
182 reviews
.31 km away
Fisher and Donaldson
58 reviews
.13 km away
Holy Trinity Church (Town Kirk)
49 reviews
.22 km away
St Andrews VisitScotland iCentre
46 reviews
.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
TeenaEM
23 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from 127theadamson | Property representative |
Dear Teena, Many thanks for your question. Yes, we are happy to see children of any ages at any time. We look forward to seeing you. Regards, Julie Lewis
0
Votes
Vazeli
2 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Steve G | Reviewed this property |
We went in Jeans and T-shirt. Despite the food being of a very high standard, they aren't pretentious with it.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 127 South Street, St Andrews KY16 9UH, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St Andrews
  • Phone Number: +44 1334 479191
  • E-mail
Description
In the heart of St Andrews with a fresh take on contemporary dining using the finest locally sourced produce. The perfect place to eat,drink and socialize. Separate contemporary cocktail and wine bar which is open: Monday - Thursday 17.00 - late Friday 15.00 - 01.00 Saturday 12.00 - 01.00 Sunday 15.00 - late
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing