We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Walkabout

) #1,573 of 1,950 Restaurants in Glasgow $$ - $$$ , ,
128 Renfield Street, Glasgow G2 3AL, Scotland
+44 141 332 8209
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent13%
  • Very good22%
  • Average29%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible18%
Travellers talk about
“flatbread” (3 reviews)
“aussie beer” (3 reviews)
“bite to eat” (4 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
128 Renfield Street, Glasgow G2 3AL, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

large expansive pub, we went In just after six on a Thursday evening and it was quite, ordered chicken strips and the Aussie all star burger, Chicken Strips very tasty, excellent, the burger was not bad but nothing special. The young girl who served us...More

Thank alfie50
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Hi Alfie Thanks for your response we are due a huge refurb which will hopefully take us from 3 star to 5.

Reviewed 14 June 2017

First visit to Walkabout ,booked on telephone when arrived told our booking wasnt made ,sorted by staff we were taken to a corner area not ideal for football but we erent to bothered ,our waiter arrived and wasnt happy with out table moving us to...More

1  Thank John L
Management response:Responded 16 June 2017

Hi John sorry about the mix up but glad we were able to sort it for you

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Total dump, unclean, beer was stale. John Paul( boss)....was rude and basically a ned....the venue was smelly and it was horrendous...wouldnt use this place ever again.

Thank Jasperlee67
Management response:Responded 16 June 2017

Sorry you felt that way but as we had over 700 in that night it's very difficult to keep pristine but it most certainly isn't smelly and your comments about our sales manager couldnt be further from the truth perhaps you could expand on that?

Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Been a few times, very handy for a few drinks if your waiting on a film starting in the cinema just around the corner. Food is lovely and the service is always fast. Very busy at sport events times. No doubt will be back again...More

Thank kimbrona
Management response:Responded 16 May 2017

Thanks for the review and we appreciate your kind words and custom.

Reviewed 11 May 2017

Booked a booth here for Wrestlemania for a small group of people. For the most part it was a good night but with a few drawbacks. 1st, when we reserved the tables there was no mention of a charge at the door. It wasn’t expensive...More

Thank Pauly-101
Management response:Responded 12 May 2017

Thanks for the review Pauly. There is a door charge for every major sporting event we have as you probably see from the crowds we get we are the place to go for live sport. We do have our flaws of course with our interior...More

Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Visited for meal and drink. Booked online, easy and efficient. Noisy venue due to football match and kinda hard to manover about as people had moved all the seats to see screen. Had not expected this. Rather rundown looking place but I suppose it is...More

Thank janice g
Management response:Responded 16 June 2017

Thanks for the feedback Jan and you are right the place is getting quite rundown and the toulets are in need of an overhaul but we are due to recieve a major refurbishment soon so positive changes on the way.

Reviewed 19 March 2017

Large size sports bar popular with students. Big screen sports and TV's around the place. Food is based around pub grub - burgers/steaks etc ... but includes Kangaroo! It's meant to be Australian after all. Ok for what it is... good selection of beers and...More

Thank Demodd
Management response:Responded 13 April 2017

Thanks for your feedback we are getting a refurb in July so big changes ahead

Reviewed 12 March 2017

We went in here looking for brunch. It was a Saturday lunchtime and although it was not busy a lot of the tables were reserved later in the day as the rugby was on. But we found a table ok and ordered the Walkabout Platter...More

Thank Chris H
Management response:Responded 13 April 2017

Thanks for your feedback Chris we are getting a refurb in July so big changes ahead

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent place to watch sport. I don't go anywhere else in Glasgow for football. I've even started coming in for the NFL on Sundays too!

Thank EdwardSharpe90
Management response:Responded 13 April 2017

Thanks for your feedback we are getting a refurb in July so we'll be even better come then Edward

Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Came in for a few pints with my friends honestly this place is a dump. It's smells of dampness toilets are disgusting needs a deep clean and the place needs a lick of paint more than 1 coat. I would not recommend to eat out...More

3  Thank eddie c
Management response:Responded 13 April 2017

Eddie thanks for your feedback our toilets are in dire need of an upgrade and we are aware of this but I can assure you our kitchen has a very high food hygene ranking and is spotless. We have been on a waiting list for...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Amalfi
476 reviews
.14 km away
La Bonne Auberge
765 reviews
.08 km away
O Sole Mio
444 reviews
.13 km away
Thai Lemon Grass
344 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Glasgow Royal Concert Hall
634 reviews
.12 km away
Theatre Royal
212 reviews
.17 km away
Buchanan Galleries
138 reviews
.25 km away
The Pavilion Theatre
240 reviews
.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Walkabout staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Australian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 03:00
Monday
11:00 - 03:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 03:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 03:00
Thursday
11:00 - 03:00
Friday
11:00 - 03:00
Saturday
11:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 128 Renfield Street, Glasgow G2 3AL, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow>  > City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 141 332 8209
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing