We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercado Tapas

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
17 Bell Street | G1 1NU, Glasgow g1 1nu, Scotland
+44 141 552 3400
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 339: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a wonderful tapas meal at mercado ! Food was delicious! Great value , good service , great atmosphere! Love the music! I will be back!!

Helpful?
Thank redragged
Andy Y, General Manager at Mercado Tapas, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to post your review. If you liked the music we have a great DJ every Friday & Salsa dancing every Saturday till 1am, tables can be reserved in the bar for both events, Hope to see you there Kind Regards Team Mercado More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a groupon deal 5 tapas & wine Wanted to buy another btl of wine they didn't have our choice only the cheap house wines were available to buy! The table was so sticky and our plates we got we had to send back as they were greasy. The restaurant was quiet although they took ages to serve us... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MichaB18
Andy Y, General Manager at Mercado Tapas, responded to this review

Hi, Please accept my apologies for your poor experience. I will be investigating all aspects of your complaint as there is no excuse for having to wait on your drinks when quiet or being served food that is not up to our usual high standard. We can run low on wine stocks over the holiday period but you should have... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent Tapas and amazing Sangria!! I had a wowcher deal for 5 Tapas and Sangria. The Tapas were the best we have had in the city and Sangria was fabulous!! My partner never drinks it and I usually get both,however not this time 😥.He loved it!! Forget any negative reviews!! about this place both the food and staff are excellent!!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jukedawn
Andy Y, General Manager at Mercado Tapas, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the great review, it means great deal to all the staff ! Hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind Regards Team Mercado More 

Houston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went to Mercado with family this week and was surprised at the great value for money. 3 tapas for £6.95! I had broken egg and ham, chorizo and garlic king prawns. The food was excellent, and the staff were attentive. A great place to eat in the merchant square. Will be back soon.

Helpful?
Thank YelloHappyMo123
Andy Y, General Manager at Mercado Tapas, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for posting a review, our £6.95 for 3 tapas is the best you will find for freshly prepared dishes such as ours. Great food with great service from friendly staff is what keeps our customers coming back for more .. Thanks Again Kind Regards Team Mercado More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lukewarm food and service, didn't bring the water we asked for, not a smile in sight. Had the croquettes which were cold inside, the chicken strips were really bland and oily and the potatoes were hard in the middle. Won't be back.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
Andy Y, General Manager at Mercado Tapas, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, I'll investigate your complaint with waiting staff and chefs. Our team are always friendly and welcoming to all our customers so I'm very surprised by your comment on the unsmiling staff. Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. Happy New Year Kind Regards Team Mercado More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table on 5pm for 3pm .Turned up and were seated and told it would be 30 mins or longer before our food would be served that's even before a food or drink order was taken.Place is a joke and staff are useless.Advise anyone to avoid it at all costs.

Helpful?
Thank davron11
Andy Y, General Manager at Mercado Tapas, responded to this review

Hi, With the high volume of customers through our doors we always let diners know if there is a wait on food. Bearing in mind the quality of cooking this is sometimes the only way to maintain our consistency. I am always ready to accept negative feedback but not if is simply disparaging remarks. We are not a Joke and... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was our friends birthday and the 4 of us chose Mercado as it was fairly quiet allowing us to have a conversation. We sat at one of few empty tables at the restaurant to be told by the waitress that we couldn't sit there as they had bookings ( none of the tables had a reserved sign). We moved... More 

Helpful?
Thank MonikaWait
Andy Y, General Manager at Mercado Tapas, responded to this review

Hi, We have been extremely busy over the holiday period and we have to manage our bookings very carefully to be able to accommodate all our guests. I remember allowing you a table on the terrace but the conversation in Spanish had nothing to do with it. You may have sat and observed what you thought was less than capacity... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fab deal on 5pm.com. Staff and service excellent. Tapas brilliant. Lovely Christmas ambiance in merchant square live entertainment. X

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Andy Y, General Manager at Mercado Tapas, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your most welcome comments. The 5pm deal has been really popular and we have tried hard to allow most deals to be available during the busy festive period. Hope to see you again in the New Year All The Best Team Mercado More 

South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I had the 5pm.com deal which was £24.95 for 6 tapas and a bottle of wine. Really good choice to choose from and the wine was lovely for house wine. Portions were a great size for us both. We also had a pudding which was delicious. There were salsa lessons in the main bar so we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank SuziePAP
Andy Y, General Manager at Mercado Tapas, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the feedback, the staff appreciated your comments. Hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Team Mercado More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016

I have emailed and tried contacting the restaurant via social media with my complaint with no response! A few weeks back my sister and her partner came to visit from England and we choose this restaurant. Before our meal was served unfortunately my Sister's partner took ill, he passed out and fell from his chair hitting the concrete head first!... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie B
Andy Y, General Manager at Mercado Tapas, responded to this review

Hi Stephanie, I recall the incident and I seem to remember we offered every assistance at the time once we realised what had happened but the doctor quickly took charge of the situation. We have staff who are fully trained in first aid and are confident when dealing with customers who feel unwell. However I must apologise for the apparently... More 

Travellers who viewed Mercado Tapas also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Mercado Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Mediterranean, Spanish
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17 Bell Street | G1 1NU, Glasgow g1 1nu, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
  • Phone Number: +44 141 552 3400

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Mercado Tapas and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mercado Tapas staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?