We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crystal Palace

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
36 Jamaica Street, Glasgow G1 4QD, Scotland
+44 141 221 2624
Website
Today
08:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 287: English reviews
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have eaten here several times - average pub grub but good price. great choice of drinks at cheap prices. They now have White Zinfadel (rose wine) on tap !!

Helpful?
Thank jenny61160
Crystal P, Manager at The Crystal Palace, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting we're glad you enjoyed yourself - Graeme and the team More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend came for a meal after work. As you can imagine the drinks were good but my two long vodkas tasted completely different and also very different colours. There was a wait for food but Monday dinner time i wouldn't of imagined a nearly 45 mins wait. My half chicken was warm enough to eat but I... More 

Helpful?
Thank xdanielle3
Crystal P, Manager at The Crystal Palace, responded to this review

We're sorry you had to wait so long and hope that if you visit us again you will have a better experience. -Graeme and the team More 

Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came to the Crystal Palace today for a wee drink, it's usually standard Witherspoon experience which is fine but today felt the need to write a review 5/4/17. The young girls and guy that were working were really lovely, however, female manager came in and totally changed the atmosphere! Shouting at them in front of customers, pulling them up for... More 

Helpful?
Thank napier1984
Crystal P, Manager at The Crystal Palace, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. we will be reviewing this incident and trying to discover what the circumstances of this were. We strive to promote a positive atmosphere in our pubs and are sorry that it wasn't the case this time. We hope to see you again Graeme and the team More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here with the missus for a pub lunch waited half an hour for table to be cleaned ended up doing it ourselves the burgers we had were charcoal and dry no flavour at all it was like eating cardboard and as for the kids meal the pizza wasn't cooked properly it was white and soggy and as for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank boab1981
Crystal P, Manager at The Crystal Palace, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, reviews like yours help us improve our service. We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience and hope that if you should choose to visit us in the future you will have a more enjoyable time Apologies Graeme and the team More 

Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The service was not good and the food was just ok. It's a cheap place and I get why people go there but the food was like it was microwaved. The lasagne was good but the chicken was terrible. All the tables were dirty and I had to ask them twice to come and clean ours. Will not go there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria A
Crystal P, Manager at The Crystal Palace, responded to this review

Dear Maria First let me thank you for your review and apologise for the delay in replying to you. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us and disappointed that you felt our service was poor. We hope that if you ever choose to give us a second chance you will have a better time. yours, Graeme... More 

The Stunning Highlands
Level Contributor
274 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,224 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We were staying at the nearby Radisson Blu and fancied grabbing something to eat and watching Champions League Football so we wandered down to The Crystal Palace as we knew they had BT Sport. What can I say except it does exactly what it says on the tin, friendly staff, great beer and selection of real ales at great prices.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank goanjock
Crystal P, Manager at The Crystal Palace, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. We're glad that you enjoyed your steak club and head a good night. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Glasgow Yours, Graeme and the team More 

Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

My wife and I stopped here for lunch. They had a special for lunch that included a discounted beer, who could say no. Being from the US, It seems odd of having to go up to the bar to order drinks and food, the hardest part was trying to remember what my wife wanted to order LOL. It was nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank subwaymark
Crystal P, Manager at The Crystal Palace, responded to this review

We're glad you came to us for lunch. Especially all the was from the US. We do enjoy having visitors from all over the world. Thank you for your lovely review Graeme and the team More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Had breakfast here this morning and we were very disappointed. We had eaten here around a year ago and been very impressed with the breakfast but today it did not live up to the previous experience. Everything was over cooked but the breakfasts were all cold. My son was the only one who had no complaints with his pancakes and... More 

Helpful?
Thank fjt21
Crystal P, Manager at The Crystal Palace, responded to this review

We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your breakfast with us as much as you have done in the past. Unfortunately you must have caught us on a rare off day. We hope that if you come to see us again we can make it up to you. Apologies Graeme and the team More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Attended a small function here and met with the inevitable constant q to get drinks that seem to plague this pub chain. Bar staff were pleasant but far to often one was left on their own and others ignored the customers. At the end of the evening we were served a round of drinks and within 10 minutes our drinks... More 

Helpful?
Thank trevannie
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Went here for a meal and a few drinks. I had a steak which was cooked perfect for me and my partner a mixed grill, both healthy portions. We both had a drink and the bill came to around £25.00. Pleasant atmosphere and would recommend the service was fast and the staff were pleasant. I would return here if we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan S

Travellers who viewed The Crystal Palace also viewed

 

Been to The Crystal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 36 Jamaica Street, Glasgow G1 4QD, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
  • Phone Number: +44 141 221 2624

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Crystal Palace and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Bellshill, United Kingdom
11 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Crystal Palace staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?