We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Merchant

97-99 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland
+44 141 553 1577
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (92 reviews)
“seafood” (71 reviews)
“venison” (43 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
97-99 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 897 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Amazing food,great choice especially for gluten free,brillant staff very friendly atmospher...we will definitely be returning thank you!!More

1  Thank mags74wilson
Maria N, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello there, Michelle here from the restaurant. Just wanted to thank you very much for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed your meal here and that you were looked after! We want all our visitors to receive the best experience possible. Thank you soooooo much...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with some colleagues for lunch. This is the first time I've been for lunch, I had been for dinner twice previously. This time it was as good as it was before. I had the haggis to start, which was well presented and very tasty....More

Thank RSutherland
Maria N, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Well we will most certainly welcome you back! I am very glad and the team are too that you enjoyed your experience! I love the haggis too! Its my downfall!!! And not good for my waist :-) I am so glad too that you had...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First up, I would say that we ate on a 5pm deal of two courses (plus glass of wine) off the pre-theatre menu. So it wasn't as if we were expecting the full quality of the a la carte offerings. But even so it didn't...More

3  Thank allanglens
Maria N, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Business up for sale? this is news to me I am afraid! I do apologise that you were disappointed with your 5pm deal. Our deal is very reasonably priced and other diners who have experienced the same menu have enjoyed it. However, I totally understand...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in here, as the set lunch menu appealed to us and because it was reasonably priced. Two course or three course. A la carte menu also available. Also specials on a board- mainly fish. Good variety for starter and main meal. Friendly pleasant service....More

Thank LBJNrTunbridgeWells
Maria N, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and do hope to welcome you back again! Kind regards Michelle and the team at City Merchant

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked our table for 19:30 and the lady looked confused to see us. She eventually put us upstairs, where we noticed there was some confusion downstairs. I have read the previous report where they waited 2 hours....well, we eventually got out at 11pm! We...More

Thank SallyScot
Maria N, Owner at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Sally This is Maria, I was the person looking after you on this night. As you know I was trying to get you a nice table to sit at - there was no confusion at all. I understand if the mains were longer as...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Almost 2 hours before starters appeared then another hour before mains. Very little contact from staff during the wait and no real explanation offered. Completely unacceptable. Won't be going back here.More

Thank JimD4075
Maria N, Owner at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jim This is Maria, I understand if the mains were longer as they are all cooked to order however starters should never take 1 hour. Unfortunately you have dined at an exceptionally busy time and a bit of an unfortunate weekend! Our head chef...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Group of fourteen friend recommended by hotel concierge. 2 hour wait and so far no food. Drink orders messed up. I would not recommend this restaurant.More

Thank JoelTifton
Maria N, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear diner I am extremely disappointed in this review. Unfortunately you came to the restaurant on a day where we are unsure how many diners we would have. With the City Merchant festival on we had a surge of customers and tried to deal with...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here for an early evening meal. Deal was 2 courses for 15.50, and this proved to be excellent value. I had polenta starter, my partner had mussels- both dishes were very tasty. Mains were lamb and pork - again very tasty. For sweet we...More

Thank finedinerScotland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located in the heart if the Merchant city, it is easy to find. Without a reservation on our second visit, we were warmly welcomed and offered a nice table. We were lucky to visit for the debut of its new Theatre Menu, served up to...More

1  Thank TACustomer
Maria N, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review. Our head chef and team have really pushed to give some fantastic variation to our menu in July and all I can say is that I look forward to further months as there is some great opportunity for excellent taste...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

1st class from start to finish, why not 5 out of 5 - the dropped point was time taken from starters to serve mains and the ridiculous price you charge for 6 slices of bread - "Basket of Fresh Crusty Bread (V) served with butter...More

2  Thank Scottex
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Koolba
1,532 reviews
.02 km away
The Wilson Street Pantry
180 reviews
.08 km away
Cafe Gandolfi
1,064 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Glasgow Police Museum
274 reviews
.09 km away
Sharmanka Kinetic Theatre
280 reviews
.22 km away
Tron Theatre
53 reviews
.23 km away
Trades Hall of Glasgow
31 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
0123bettyboo
8 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from SATraveller07 | Reviewed this property |
Yes I think that would be ok. They always offer both menus on arrival.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$48
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 97-99 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow>  > City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 141 553 1577
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing