We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Horse Shoe Bar

#333 of 1,889 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
$
City Centre
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
As featured in Vibrant and cultured
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
17 - 21 Drury Street, Glasgow G2 5AE, Scotland
+44 141 248 6368
Website
Today
10:00 - 00:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 378: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Popped in for a quick pint. Bar was heaving with Saturday post-shopping punters. Was quickly served and even found a seat. Good for what it was: city centre pub.

Helpful?
Thank CatYoung28
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

a great old fashioned bar it does get very busy with people on their way home after work so if you want a quiet drink avoid 5 through to 7pm but it is just a great atmospheric bar which you simply must visit can,t wait to go back again they do meals as well!

Helpful?
Thank michael y
richpollock0807, Front Office Manager at Horse Shoe Bar, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your 5 star review of your visit to The Horseshoe Bar. Yeah we do get busy between 5pm and 7pm ( and quite often other times as well ) the perks of being so good I suppose haha, usually some space at the back of the downstairs bar most of the time... More 

Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A friend and I spent 6 nights in Glasgow recently as part of a three week tour of the UK. I had done considerable research before embarking on this adventure, and read that the Horse Shoe was not to be missed. We were not disappointed. The food the first night was only so-so. On subsequent visits the Steak and Guiness... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
richpollock0807, Front Office Manager at Horse Shoe Bar, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your 5 star review of your visit to The Horseshoe Bar. So glad we were planned in on your schedule on your UK tour and also very pleased to hear that we did not disappoint. Our aim is to create a community pub type atmosphere which we feel we achieve even though we are in... More 

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having been to Glasgow many times we called in as it sounded lively and we weren't disappointed. There is a karaoke bar up stairs and it was packed. The prices aren't bad and the bar itself have plenty of character which I like. I would recommend a visit

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
richpollock0807, Front Office Manager at Horse Shoe Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to The Horseshoe Bar. So glad that after many visits to the city you finally gave us a visit and happy to hear that you were not disappointed. Karaoke in the upstairs lounge is on 7 nights a week and we are the most popular and busy karaoke bar in Glasgow.... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Won't let kilted men in, that's both sexist and racist and will be reported. It's illegal behaviour, my friend and I were told we weren't allowed in due to some weird trouser tyrants dress code, yet females are Allowed in without trousers, and Asians can wear their clothing, how odd, don't go there, racist and sexist doormen

Helpful?
Thank Richard F
richpollock0807, Front Office Manager at Horse Shoe Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. To clarify kilts and tartan are welcome in The Horseshoe Bar at any time , I assume you are reviewing re an incident last weekend where a guest was refused entry due to wearing a kilt ? Steward on duty who refused entry and the stewarding company have been advised... More 

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

utterly filthy place, served by bad manners staff, litter and uneaten food all over the floor. the food when it did come was in uncooked in the middle .told staff and did not seem to bother. AVOID !!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank kenj3452016
richpollock0807, Front Office Manager at Horse Shoe Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. Never had any responses remotely similar to this in the past re our staff who if you care to look at previous reviews always get complimentary remarks, litter and food all over the floor and a filthy pub ? Again never have I saw the pub like this or had... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Pathetic to be refused entry because of the kilt as it happened to me also in July this year took it as just me but to happen to two pipers Is unacceptable this needs addressed soon could t give you a review on food or drink as wasnt allowed in the piper in question had just attended a charity event... More 

Helpful?
Thank anonscot2016
richpollock0807, Front Office Manager at Horse Shoe Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. Regarding the incident last Friday where the piper was refused entry because he was wearing a kilt the steward on duty who refused entry and the stewarding company have been advised that this was wholly unacceptable and it is not a policy enforced by the pub in any way and... More 

Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

Good selection of food which also tasted good, can see service area. CHANGES to some items for 'fussy' eaters amongst us no fully accommodated but otherwise small exceptions made.

Helpful?
Thank Lorna G
richpollock0807, Front Office Manager at Horse Shoe Bar, responded to this review

Thank you so much for 5 star review of your visit to The Horseshoe Bar. We have a wide range of food options as you say from our traditional scotch pie with mushy peas or beans , our famous 3 course lunch at just 4.50 plus a full extensive menu available all day from midday until 10pm. We look forward... More 

Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016

Bar always busy at weekends not the greatest of service but is one of the most popular city centre bars. There last week & apart from not able to get a seat the pint of lager I got was poor to say the least

Helpful?
Thank Brian S
richpollock0807, Front Office Manager at Horse Shoe Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to The Horseshoe Bar. Disappointed that you thought the service you received was not the greatest which I do not understand as at the weekend we always have plenty of staff on to deal with demand as we know our busy periods. No surprise you did not get a seat in... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

I found this place during a walk at lunch. I came back over the weekend to check it out. Friendly atmosphere. Note to the ladies, when you come in the front door the ladies room is upstairs - immediately to the left.

Helpful?
Thank divekitty1965
richpollock0807, Front Office Manager at Horse Shoe Bar, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your 5 star review of your visit to The Horseshoe Bar. Glad you found us on your walk around town and we hope to welcome you again on your next visit to the city. More 

Travellers who viewed Horse Shoe Bar also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Horse Shoe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$14
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Free Wifi, Seating, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:00
Monday
10:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 00:00
Thursday
10:00 - 00:00
Friday
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17 - 21 Drury Street, Glasgow G2 5AE, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow>  > City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 141 248 6368

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Horse Shoe Bar and other visitors
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Horse Shoe Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?