We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Bonne Auberge

Theatreland 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
+44 141 352 8310
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good35%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“loin” (8 reviews)
“pate” (20 reviews)
Opens in 3 min
All hours
CUISINES
French, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Theatreland 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

First visit for us here and not disappointed! Lovely atmosphere, busy but not crowded. Stuart served us our drinks and even searched for a strawberry for my prosecco. He was polite and seemed well in control on the bar despite a large group of pompous...More

Thank Jenny1232013
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We dined here on the 'couples' menu. Choice was pretty restricted but soup and chicken were good quality. Very attentive staff. I was surprised to find a 12% service charge added without prior warning. It's difficult to remove this charge without seeming miserly but we...More

Thank tgmcdonald
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide some feedback about your recent visit. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your meal. I have to disagree with you little bit about the no prior warning about the service charge, however, as...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely meal, pre Van Morrison concert. Food and service all very pleasant. Only one small niggle, one of our party had ordered the parfait as a starter, this came with two very small pieces of brioche bread, on asking for another slice...More

1  Thank Goose135
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide some feedback about your recent visit. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. I will most definitely discuss your comments about the parfait with our kitchen team. Hope we can...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had voucher which was for soup and sandwich for two for ten pounds staff seemed a tad unsure about voucher but after checking with three individuals we were shown to our table order was taken and w g enjoy it arrived it was lovely soup...More

Thank Jinty478
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. The service charge is completely optional so do not hesitate to ask for it to be removed next time you are dining with us. We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The atmosphere was very pleasant for a business meeting with teas and coffees. Stuart was very attentive, helping us to rearrange tables etc. We were very well look after.

Thank bobby228
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by Stuart. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived in time for our 6 pm Booking for a pre concert meal. This would allow time for a leisurely meal and a glass of wine.Our one course order was quickly taken and the wine and water arrived within minutes. So far so good....More

3  Thank nicholasjack
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide some feedback about your recent visit. While it is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your meal, I am sorry that you encountered some service issues and that you ended up having to rush. I...More

Reviewed 13 October 2017

Had an excellent lunch with friends from Edinburgh courtesy of a Groupon Voucher. Great two course meal with a glass of wine for £10 per head. Service was very good and courteous. Food was well cooked and presented in an attractive fashion. Seating was comfortable...More

Thank Clansman139
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for this 5 star review of your recent lunch with us. It is fantastic to hear that you and your friends thoroughly enjoyed your time at our establishment and that you also found the offer to be of great value as...More

Reviewed 8 October 2017

Excellent location next to hotel. Reasonably priced, good service. Enjoyed relaxing meal. Would recommend.

Thank Tracy M
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tracy, thank you very much for these lovely comments about your recent visit. We will be looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Having tried many afternoon teas in Glasgow we looked forward to the French alternative. It was a pleasant change to have warm quiche and croque monsieur , the cakes and warm sones with Normandy butter were delicous. The offer included a glass of Prosecco Chin-chin.More

Thank 212jacquelinef
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jacqueline, thank you very much for this 5 star review of your visit. It is really great that you would rate your afternoon tea so highly. Maybe next time you can give our brand new lunch or dinner menu a try. We will be...More

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Great attentive staff and traditional French cuisine in a cosy friendly atmosphere. House white wine also very good and good value.More

Thank Michael H
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Michael, thank you very much for this lovely review. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, were impressed by the service provided and found everything to be of good value as well. It was our pleasure. We will be...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Amalfi
518 reviews
.13 km away
O Sole Mio
462 reviews
.17 km away
Thai Lemon Grass
351 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Glasgow Royal Concert Hall
658 reviews
.09 km away
Theatre Royal
219 reviews
.21 km away
Buchanan Galleries
152 reviews
.23 km away
The Pavilion Theatre
250 reviews
.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Susan O
6 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from LBA M | Property representative |
Hi there, yes, we do. The options and menus change seasonally so your best option would be to visit our website to see the full most up-to-date menu.
0
Votes
bigstevie7255
8 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from LBA M | Property representative |
Hi, just to confirm we do have disabled toilets and also a wheelchair friendly entrance via the Holiday Inn.
1
Vote
Shadylady124
27 February 2017|
Answer
Response from LBA M | Property representative |
Hi, Sorry for the late reply, at the minute the psychic we use June L. Harrison and friends.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$32
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
6:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
6:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
6:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
6:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Friday
6:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
7:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Theatreland 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow>  > City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 141 352 8310
  • E-mail
Description
The original La Bonne Auberge first opened its doors on Bastille Day in 1975, and it's had something to celebrate ever since. Glasgow's first French-Mediterranean brasserie and Bar, this smart restaurant with its aproned waiters and blackboard menus now has an AA Rosette to confirm what the locals have known all along. Set in the fashionable Theatreland district, this is a feast of Riviera cuisine.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing