We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cafe 1

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
75 Castle Street, Inverness IV2 3EA, Scotland
+44 1463 226200
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 21:30
Sat 12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

828 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 770: English reviews
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We come here when we are up for the etape Loch Ness. The food is usually of a high standard and having to veggies in the party, finding a place that actually tries to provide something different is a blessing. The menu is always interesting and the food is cooked to a high standard. The place does get busy and... More 

Helpful?
Thank haggibasher
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I enjoyed my dinner here and had main and desert, with wine. It was a clean and well maintained place and the staff were very good. Though the wait for service at the table was a little slow, the place was busy so it can be forgiven. The food was delicious, fresh and the menu quite exciting. I went for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fresh ingredients and friendly service. Well intentioned restaurant but the menu lacks in 'harmony'. Regarding our dishes, they could certainly explore more the quality of the main ingredient ( I ate a beef based dish) with more harmonic combinations.

Helpful?
1 Thank Erika D
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Real great find ! Great smoked salmon starter. A really tender rib eye and a succulent burger for mains. Good kids menu with very fresh and tasty fish and chips. The owner has some great wines to choose from. Many French tourists there which is a good sign too 😉 Finally good service from young but friendly staff. Book as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark L
Norman M, Manager at Cafe 1, responded to this review

Hi Mark Sounds like you and your family enjoyed your meal with us. As a family run restaurant it is important that we can look after all age ranges. Thanks More 

Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked this restaurant online and were impressed by the surroundings when we went in. Although the restaurant was busy , the service was great and the staff were efficient and friendly. The food was excellent also!

Helpful?
Thank Christine C
Norman M, Manager at Cafe 1, responded to this review

Hi Christine, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for your kind compliments. More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have been here many times before but I'm so disappointed that the standard was nowhere near what it used to be. Meals were plain and missing some of the items described on the menu. The chicken salad was described with egg, Parmesan and crutons - this was just chicken, lettuce and ceaser dressing. Malteaser crepe was good but did... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 2989a
Norman M, Manager at Cafe 1, responded to this review

As Cafe1 owner for 18 years having had 4 head chefs in this time and the same management team continuously for the last 10 years I find this review very personal and disappointing. I am most disappointed in tripadvisor publishing this from an anonymous source, using only a number as their identity and their only other review being another personal... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everyone loved their food. Chips were the best we've had in a long time. Kids wanted seconds on their meals. Very slow service. 1 hour after ordering to get our food. And no niceties like asking if everything was okay with our meals etc. So a few hospitality rules to be learned by the (young) staff. Not really excusable for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ewen B
Norman M, Manager at Cafe 1, responded to this review

Hi I am sorry to hear that you think our staff need to re-learn the 'hospitality rules' As we are working with new, experienced and long serving staff we try and get a varied mixture on each night, with the intention that the new will learn from the experienced. Can you email me the time and day you were with... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to us by our B&B host, and we could not thank her enough for doing so. The menu is fabulous, backed up by quality food and excellent service, as well as a great atmosphere. A must for all to try!

Helpful?
Thank 2bshaw
Norman M, Manager at Cafe 1, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your kind review and thank you too your B&B host. Will hopefully see you again another time. Thanks More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dinner for two, table booked 30 mins before arriving. Pigeon for entries a bit gummy. Mains dishes took a while to be served but the angus was very good and well cooked, as well as the fries, thought the sauce was a bit too watery. Smiling and friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank Cristina G
Norman M, Manager at Cafe 1, responded to this review

Hi Sorry to hear you did not enjoy the pigeon, I often have this dish and am yet to be disappointed. Thank you for the pictures and I will investigate further. More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to Cafe 1 last night with my brother and his wife and had a lovely meal.It was the first time my brother was at this restaurant and he will definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank KathMunro

Travellers who viewed Cafe 1 also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Cafe 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$58 - US$59
Cuisine
European, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75 Castle Street, Inverness IV2 3EA, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Inverness
  • Phone Number: +44 1463 226200

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe 1 staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?