We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Snow Goose

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
A96 | Stoneyfield, Inverness, Scotland
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,072 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,052: English reviews
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked a table to dine here on a Friday night and stayed in the Holiday Inn which is just next door to it. I emailed the Snow Goose in advance with our order as there was a total of 11 in our party and after a long journey knew everyone would just want fed and then off to bed. Staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank happyfeetScotland
Chabanais, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have eaten many times before, this time was a bittie different as it was half closed due to impending renovation work, which had started! Still, good beer and menu, excellent food, well prepared and presented by cheerful staff, despite the "problems" We wish them well with the changes and look forward to "normal service will be resumed" - probably... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig M
SnowgooseInverness, Manager at The Snow Goose, responded to this review

Hi Craig, thank you for the review and your understanding and patience with the refurbishment work. We are now open again and we would love for you to come and see the new look Snow Goose Inn Regards Mike More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great night and food was lovely, because I had already signed up to vintage inns I got a free bottle of prosecco for my birthday fantastic treat!!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
SnowgooseInverness, General Manager at The Snow Goose, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for the review and we are gals you enjoyed the birthday prosecco Regards Mike More 

Caithness and Sutherland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I visited here as we used to always enjoy our meals here. We were not impressed by the food this time. I had ordered a side of Sweet Potato Fries which were very tepid and rock hard! My Chicken Caesar Salad was served with Flatbread which was inedible as burnt on the underside so not aware of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary T
SnowgooseInverness, General Manager at The Snow Goose, responded to this review

Hi Mary T I am sorry your visit to us was disappointing and disrupted by the refurbishment work. We are now re open and we would love you to come and see the improvements we have made. if you would like to discuss this further, please contact me on 01463701921 regards Mike More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had family up from down Devon direction and they had asked that we book somewhere nice so here goes .We had booked mcgonagall's steakhouse and upon arriving ( they had our phone number ) were told CASH only No card payments which was an inconvenience so we thought hmmm where now for 8 of us .We thought about a... More 

Helpful?
Thank mm3pts
SnowgooseInverness, General Manager at The Snow Goose, responded to this review

Hi mm3pts Thank you very much for the excellent review. I am very pleased you enjoyed all your meals and the steaks were cooked to perfection. Jordan will be happy to learn you enjoyed his service. We hope to see you again soon Regards Mike More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very pleasant pub with good food at reasonable prices. Nice atmosphere and very popular. Great if you are staying in nearby hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
SnowgooseInverness, Manager at The Snow Goose, responded to this review

Hi Andrew Thank you for the review. I am very happy you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again Regards Mike More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Vintage inns have a place in my heart, the chain has consistently provided good fayre to my partner and myself however on this occasion it was a terrible experience. Service was lacking, food was cold, glasses were unclean. All in all a bad experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart M
SnowgooseInverness, Manager at The Snow Goose, responded to this review

Hi Stuart, I am very sorry to read tour recent visit was so disappointing. If you would like to contact me on 01463701921, I am happy to discuss this further with you Regards Mike More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for lunch, my wife and nephew enjoyed their meals which were Hunters chicken with chips, mine the Steak and Mushroom pie on the other hand was a different story, the puff pastry top was the main part of the pie with not much of anything else in it, the potatoes and veg were nice,

Helpful?
2 Thank HamishMacdog
SnowgooseInverness, Manager at The Snow Goose, responded to this review

Hi HamishMacdog, Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Sorry you did not enjoy your pie on this occasion. We have recently re opened after a large refurbishment. We hope to see you again and to make amends for your last visit Regards Mike More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bar meals with children's menu, you can eat for about £12 per head depending on choice. A la Carte dining room available, didnt use i.

Helpful?
Thank marylin603
SnowgooseInverness, General Manager at The Snow Goose, responded to this review

Hi Marylin603 Thanks for taking the time to review us. I hope everything was to your liking Regards Mike More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have always made the effort to come to the Snowgoose when we visit Inverness . Not any more , I ordered by usual Fish and Chips but had to send it back as it was 'off ' . The waitress was excellent and replaced it with a different dish . This was well below par. really disappointed

Helpful?
1 Thank neil849
SnowgooseInverness, General Manager at The Snow Goose, responded to this review

Hi Neil849, I am really sorry about your fish. This was a supplier issue we have had which caused our fish to be tough. I am really sorry you had a bad one on this visit. As you have said you come a lot and this is the first bad one I really hope you will come again, our fish... More 

Travellers who viewed The Snow Goose also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Snow Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: A96 | Stoneyfield, Inverness, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Inverness
Description
Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Snow Goose offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Snow Goose and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Snow Goose staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?