We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chameleon Restaurant

#101 of 2,007 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
South City Centre
As featured in Dublin for Foodies!
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Lower Fownes Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 1 671 0362
Website
Today
16:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Sun 16:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

674 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 605: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time in this restaurant last night, great service and meal, We went through the menu with the waitress who was friendly and informative. I got the steak which was so tender and tasty, and the sumatra taster menu to share which was seafood. The prawn starter was so good, we will defo be back

Helpful?
Thank zildspud
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review

There's nothing we love more than reading the words, "we will defo be back". It always makes us smile :-) Thank you for the review, see you again soon. Carol & Kevin. More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
RESTAURANT'S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From start to finish, the whole experience was top 👍 from the friendly helpful attentive atmosphere to the tasteful delectable food leaves me with lovely memories. Can't wait to go back when I'm in Dublin again More 

Helpful?
Thank SecretLOC
About Restaurant's Favourite Review
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First time trying Indonesian food. It's so so tasty. I got the seafood menu, and my boyfriend got a few meat dishes. The steak was so tender you could cut it with a spoon. The service was excellent, very informative. Will defo be back :)

Helpful?
Thank glocko1
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, I'm really glad you enjoyed the seafood menu and that your boyfriend loved our short rib, it's one of my favourites too :-) See you next time, Carol & Kevin. More 

Cranage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chanced upon this restaurant and enjoyed a superb meal with three friends (we all chose the Java set menu). Service was great - helpful but not intrusive. Would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Glynis W
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we're really pleased you enjoyed your experience. Hopefully we will see you another time! Carol and Kevin 😀 More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I didn't know this place existed but I'll be back. The staff are friendly and informative ... I thought the Bao were amazing and when I go back I might not do the sharing option so I can get more of them :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruairi77
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much Ruari yes the Bao are a great dish, you will have to try the dessert Bao also deep fried with ice cream and a whiskey butterscotch sauce, Yummie. Carol More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Walked by the restaurant on many occasion while in Dublin shopping etc. From reading reviews about the restaurant and the accolades that are hanging around the doorway I decided to give it a go last Saturday. Myself and my partner walked into the restaurant at around 3:52pm not knowing when it opened. The initial person we met at the door... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Joekite
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it's a pity it wasn't to your liking. When potential customers arrive before we are open, we always ask the kitchen if they are ready, as we wouldn't want any delays in serving the food and it's important to have good communication between the front of house and kitchen teams.... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Been planning a weekend away for 12 months as it is our 10 year wedding anniversary and my husbands50th, due to us visiting on St Patrick's day we thought we had better be organised. So I booked here after doing lots of research. I was so looking forward to it. I received a lovely email confirming my reservation and to... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank DandAW
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review even though you did not get to visit us this weekend, we asked if you could speak with you and explain why we could not open, to which you did not reply instead you decided to take to social media to vent your anger. We also offered to get a reservation in another restaurant... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

I am a Dubliner and have been visiting Chameleon restaurant for years. I brought two American visitors here last Saturday. My daughter and I eat vegan... the menu delicious.The ambience is subtle, the service light and excellent and engaging. My visitors are raving about the place..still. I always think of this place as a little secret... but it isn't really...... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clare B
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank's very much, please keep coming back to us as you are the lifeline of the Chameleon. Carol More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Amazing food, served on hot plates. Great vegan options for me and meat options for the others in the group. Highly advise this restaurant. The staff were just so accommodating too.

Helpful?
Thank Wanita M
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much we have a great team around us and will keep working on the menu to make sure we have great vegan and vegetarian dishes. Carol More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Absolutely love this place. Plenty of choice on the menu and the staff are great for suggesting when you can't pick between them all :) the portion sizes are perfect and the food Is really tasty. Also really reasonable price for the quality of the food! I keep coming back here and have never been disappointed. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Aoibhe D
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write the review, and delighted to hear that consistently we are pleasing you. Keep coming in please. Carol More 

Travellers who viewed Chameleon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chameleon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$33
Cuisine
Asian, Indonesian, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
16:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
16:00 - 23:00
Thursday
16:00 - 23:00
Friday
16:00 - 23:00
Saturday
16:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Lower Fownes Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin>  > South City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: South City Centre
  • Phone Number: +353 1 671 0362
Description
Chameleon in Temple Bar is an intimate, ambient restaurant that specialises in Indonesian rice-table (set menus) as well as a large selection of tapas dishes with the flavours of South East Asia, from Javanese short rib to our super tasty steamed bao to free range chicken satay to our delicious desserts, all made in-house! Since opening in 1994, its owners, husband and wife team, Carol & Kevin have made a point in using as much locally sourced Irish produce as possible, including only using free range Irish chicken and locally caught, seasonal Irish fish.Chameleon is ideal for a romantic get together or indeed, for your birthday party or Christmas party, as they can cater for groups of up to 40 in our private dining rooms. 100 Best Restaurants in Ireland 2013 - 2017

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Chameleon Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Chameleon Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?