We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Port House

#194 of 1,997 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
South City Centre
As featured in One Day in Dublin
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
64a South William St | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 1 677 0298
Website
Today
11:30 - 02:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 00:00
Mon - Wed 11:30 - 00:00
Thu - Sat 11:30 - 02:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

626 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 593: English reviews
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Eight of us ate here at weekend as part of my 50th birthday celebrations whilst visiting Dublin.the meal here was amazing and was the highlight of my weekend.The service was faultless,the waitress was very cheery and helpful. The food was 100 per cent perfect and absolutely delicious,especially the pork belly and meatballs,all washed down with sangria. Also loved the port... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg P
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Such a good atmospheric restaurant, amazing food, great staff , good location, really tasty food. Highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Toml1981
Dublin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Ate here with friends and were not disappointed. The food was excellent as was the wine. Our waiter Alex made some great food suggestions and were wonderful. Good selection of wines and at reasonable prices.Great value for money, we were 4 people, a bottle each of red & white wine, 11 various tapas and the bill was €131 which we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bidtaker
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

We are delighted you have shared your experience in our restaurant here with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you had a wonderful time with us and enjoyed the value for money that you received with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I calm here straight from the airport, I was starving and I was not disappointed. We got a 5/6 tapas dishes and a couple bottles of the delicious house red. The food was glorious, couldn't get enough of it! And for dublin not crazy expensive. I was shocked that we were able to find a seat in... More 

Helpful?
Thank CriticComments
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for this fantastic review. We are thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your meal with us. Cant wait to greet you again soon. More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had eaten here on a previous visit to Dublin. The service is OK, the tapas menu gives good choices. We ordered a few at a time which worked well. The theme is candle light, which is very dark. After 10/15 minutes we got used to it-----what is the point--more light would improve the experience.

Helpful?
Thank susieQ321_12
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your dining experience in our restaurant. We are pleased you are a returning customer and hope to see you again during your next visit to Dublin. Our candlelit theme adds to the ambience and is a wonderful distraction from the outside world of the hustle and bustle. More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I just had dinner here, the food was excellent however the service was poor if not non existent. We waited for a table so my husband got us drinks at the bar, we were seated and our orders taking. Our drinks were nearly empty when our food was served and I presumed someone would come to check... More 

Helpful?
Thank bmyarennan
PortHouse2016, Owner at The Port House, responded to this review

It is with deep regret that we learn of your experience with us in the New Year. We are so disappointed and have addressed this with the staff on duty. I can assure you this is not how we normally operate and would be delighted if you would give us one more chance and come dine with us again. We... More 

County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Looking for some small bites and not a big dinner and this was the perfect place. Had the mushrooms on toast (ordered a second portion they were so nice), the prawns, the stuffed pepper, the flat iron steak and patatas bravas - every mouthful was delicious. Also got a beautiful bottle of Spanish Albariño wine. Looking forward to a return... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre K
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this fantastic review, we are honoured and delighted you thoroughly enjoyed dining with us. We can't wait to welcome you again soon. Also, thank you for the recommendation. More 

Lyon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The place is cosy and the atmosphere is really nice with the lights ! They were kind to give us three times bread ! Only one thing the cheese selection of 14€ is quit small ! But nice place !!!

Helpful?
Thank Janet S
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this fantastic review of our restaurant. We are delighted you had a pleasant evening with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely dinner at The Port House. We got there a bit late in the evening but they were still busy. However they did manage to find us a nice table for two. The interior is very neat, feels like you're in a wine cellar. The service was prompt and not intrusive. We ordered a number of tapas... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed dining with us and found our restaurant to be value for money too. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016

I had a rather good meal here last week from the vegetarian set menu. While the portions may seem small at first there are a lot of them. And the portions kept on coming!!! A lovely mix of bread olive hummus, followed by Spanish style bruschetta, follow on from that breadcrumb covered spinach and cheese balls finally a ptatas bravas... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for this very pleasant and indeed positive review of our restaurant. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed The Port House also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Port House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$3 - US$11
Cuisine
Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Wine Bar
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
11:30 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 00:00
Thursday
11:30 - 02:00
Friday
11:30 - 02:00
Saturday
11:30 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 64a South William St | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin>  > South City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: South City Centre
  • Phone Number: +353 1 677 0298
Description
Located at 64A South William Street this beautiful and solely candle lit wine cavern has been stripped back to its original features. As a traditional Spanish tapas bar it boasts a fantastic selection of authentic tapas.
The Port House wine menu is varied and full of interesting wines, ports and sherries at a very reasonable price, carefully selected from Spanish and Portuguese regions.
It is the ideal place for one to relax, enjoy some tapas with a glass of wine and soak up the ambiance that makes this spot a must try.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Port House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?