We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

O'Donnell's Bar & Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Mounthawk, Tralee, Ireland (Formerly O'Donnell's)
+353 66 718 9961
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 151: English reviews
County Kerry, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

One of the best meals we have ever had!! Ordered the daily special, pan seared hake with herb crust. It was without a doubt one of the nicest meals we have ever had!! We cannot fault O'Donnells in any way! The bar itself is extremely comfortable and relaxing. The staff and manager are extremely friendly and go out of their... More 

Thank CylonKeg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Always a warm welcome! Ross and his team diligently ensure that patrons enjoy their visit to this popular Bar Restaurant. Service is always coupled with a smile and great choice of food available from extensive breakfast , lunch and dinner menus. Recent lunch to celebrate a friend's birthday ...Kerry lamb was delicious , great atmosphere in comfortable surroundings. Well done... More 

Thank DerekTGibson
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited O'Donnells at the week end, not for the first time and as usual, were not disappointed; I had the 10oz fillet of beef, medium well and it was delicious; my wife had the roast rack of lamb and she was delighted with it- it was cooked to perfection, tender and moist. The staff, especially Ross were very helpful and... More 

Thank Pat F
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I visited here with family last Sunday. Our server (not the friendliest) took our food order and took my drink order but she then walked away without taking the drinks order for the rest of table. We waited 20 mins for our starters, which arrived only after we brought our wait to the attention of the manager. To be fair,... More 

2 Thank Aine H
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We had our daughters christening here the staff and service was excellent and the food was delicious and plentiful and also very reasonable. I would highly recommend this place for family event

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ross A, Manager at O'Donnell's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure to look after you & your family as you celebrated your daughter's christening. We hope you had a great day. Many thanks Ross Ahern Manager. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We decided to go for dinner as an occasion I was hoping for good food but to be honest it wasn't that great but it wasn't all bad I had the pan fried steak that was good but the vegetables were very hard and wasn't that hot was very disappointed the desert was lovely no complaints there

Thank GeraldineO741
Ross A, Manager at O'Donnell's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Geraldine0741 for taking time out to review O'Donnell's Let's work on the positives first. We're delighted you enjoyed the Steak, it's one of our most popular dishes & the desserts are lovely too. I've got to watch my figure every time I walk through the kitchen i'm so tempted by them. On the flip side, I can only... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

rude staff particularly one,wrong change giving,service poor,rashers uncooked,chicken uncooked as cold was,felt ill pain after eating it,to me disaster was.staff turning her back when serving and grumpy.

Thank Emalou O
Ross A, Manager at O'Donnell's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Emalou O for reviewing O'Donnell's. First off let me say i did report your review to Trip Advisor HQ and ask them to remove it as I thought it was over critical & incorrect. They however have denied my request & it stays here for all eternity.... I've spoke to the waitresses involved and looked at the cctv... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

In August 2016 we had a surprise 40th for my husband. When I rang to book the venue the staff were very helpful. Ross the manager was very helpful with any queries I had. We had a private room for the night, food was lovely, all our guest enjoyed the venue. Staff are very friendly. I would recommend O' Donnell's... More 

Thank Mary H
Ross A, Manager at O'Donnell's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks Mary H for the great review. I can't believe it was August that we helped you celebrate your husband's birthday, it feels like only a few weeks ago. It was an absoloute pleasure to look after you and your family & we're delighted you enjoyed it. Many thanks again for posting such a wonderful review. Ross Ahern Manager. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was a family gathering. There was a big gang of us and due to a delayed flight we were late to order. However the staff were patient and accommodating. When everyone was assembled they did a great job of taking our orders and ensuring everyone had a drink swiftly in their hands. They helped make our family gathering great... More 

Thank simon m
Ross A, Manager at O'Donnell's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you simon m for the great review. It was an absoloute pleasure looking after your family for your Grandmother's birthday. We hope she enjoyed her evening here too. Many thanks for your kind words, I've passed all the comments on to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you all back to O'Donnell's again. Many thanks. Ross Ahern Manager. More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a lovely meal last night. Good food, very reasonably priced. Nice atmosphere and great service from Ross and team.

2 Thank Maurice O
Ross A, Manager at O'Donnell's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Maurice O for such a wonderful review. It was an absoloute pleasure to look after your family & friends. We're delighted you enjoyed your meal. I've passed on your kind remarks to all involved. Many thanks again, Ross Ahern Manager. More 

Travellers who viewed O'Donnell's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Tralee, County Kerry
Tralee, County Kerry

Been to O'Donnell's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
American, Thai, Irish, European, Pub
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mounthawk, Tralee, Ireland (Formerly O'Donnell's)
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Munster  >  County Kerry  >  Tralee
  • Phone Number: +353 66 718 9961

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from O'Donnell's Bar & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?