We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Wetherby Road, Harrogate HG2 8QZ, England
+44 1423 797979
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 500: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Food was good value for money. Service staff need some customer service training for when they are working under pressure.

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor L
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this review

Oh dear! It's always difficult to work under pressure and when the flower show is on. We do get an influx of guests all at the same time which makes it even harder! I'm sorry we didn't give you the service you deserved on this occasion but I take your comments on board and hope to see you again very... More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We often call in here for lunch. This time we were resident so we had dinner. The Staff are always friendly and welcoming. The service is very good. We were looked after by Julie. The meal was excellent, lovely starter - prawns and crayfish, the special was beef. Both were delicious. Look forward to next meal.

Helpful?
Thank margaret148
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5* review We really do appreciate such great feed back! We hope to welcome you again very soon! Regards Jo Beevers General Manager More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We turned up at teatime on a Friday without a booking and were greeted by the manageress who was very obliging and seated us in the bar area. We didn't even have to go to the bar for drinks, a waitress came and took orders for them. The menu was extensive with good old pub favourites but others too. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank colouredimages
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5* review We really do appreciate such great feed back! We hope to welcome you again very soon! Regards Jo Beevers General Manager More 

Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thoroughly enjoyed the food. Good selection, great quality and nicely presented. Great value. Lovely helpful and friendly staff. All in all a great dining experience in a friendly pub atmosphere. Will definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Benji6857
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your 5* review It means a lot to me and my team when we receive such great feed back! We hope to see you again very soon Regards Jo Beevers More 

Hoylandswaine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ate here on Easter sunday and were lucky to get the only table unbooked. Given it was busy the service was pleasant and speedy and the food was fair enough for a pub chain such as this.

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
Key West, FL
Level Contributor
164 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Five of us went for lunch and it was early and fairly quiet. By the time we left it was busy. The server was pleasant but disinterested. The food was average, but it took 50 minutes to arrive. Way too long for a lunchtime. People have to get back to work. The food reminded me of pub fare in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank atayqed
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I'm very sorry you were not entirely satisfied with your visit. I hope it does not put you off returning to us in the near future. Regards, Jo Beevers General Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited this pub in the middle of April 2017, and were very pleased with this place. Nice, authentic, warm, welcoming... The food was excellent. Service prompt and pleasent. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Lunabel_Rhian
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived on Saturday afternoon and was greeted by a lovely lady who soon got us checked in and into our room. We were put into room 4 and at first glance this was lovely and well presented. We got settled and was when we was laid on the bed that we noticed cobwebs around the top of the walls... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this review

Hi Sarah thank you for taking the time to review us, however it would have been much better if you had let us know the problems you had at the time of your visit then we could tried to have put them right or made some kind of good will gesture. I am very sorry that you were not happy... More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited The Kestrel on Saturday for a very late afternoon lunch. We were with friends and this was their choice of venue. We've had drinks/eaten here before and been very disappointed with the quality of food and service, so this wouldn't have been our first choice, however I'm glad we gave it a second chance. We ate from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roosty15
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We are very pleased you had an enjoyable visit this time and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon Regards Jo Beevers General Manager More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We called into the Kestrel on a Monday lunchtime (27.3.17) it was busier than I thought it would be. I ordered the lamb shank with a caramelised onion chutney & red wine jus served with bubble & squeak & honey glazed carrots. The meal was served in a large dish, the lamb was nice & tender but the jus was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpiogal1963
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal with us and that our service wasn't up to our usual standard. I will pass your comments on to my team and I hope this does not put you off returning to us in the future. Regards Jo Beevers More 

Travellers who viewed The Kestrel also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Kestrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wetherby Road, Harrogate HG2 8QZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Harrogate
  • Phone Number: +44 1423 797979
Description
The Kestrel in Harrogate is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Kestrel and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Kestrel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?