We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery The Friary

Elstree Way, Swindon SN25 4YX, England
+44 1793 702081
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good28%
  • Average18%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“roast dinner” (21 reviews)
“gammon” (21 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Elstree Way, Swindon SN25 4YX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Was the worst breakfast I've had, think you need new plates!! All chipped and look dirty, definitely won't be returning, not much to chose from than 5 options, person serving was rude as well. Need to train your staff to be polite.More

Thank johndaniels12
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly at 01793 702081 when you have a chance. Thank you, and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Toby Carvery is cheap, luke warm food, served by chefs that all look like they need a good wash. The Carvery is ok but all the veg is over cooked. The sauce station was a complete mess. I couldn’t wait to leave as their...More

Thank Michael P
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Michael P thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. It is discouraging to learn of your experience with us. Your feedback helps us improve and we always would like to learn more about how we can make this better....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great carvery meal today, I had turkey and my wife had turkey & beef, the meats was excellent quality, generous portions and very tasty, the selection of vegetables was wide and well cooked. They have a good selection of wines, beers etc...More

Thank WAVEYDOTS
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Waveydots, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! We share all our feedback with the team, and your kind comments will be much appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We hope you will visit us again very soon. Kind...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice breakfast but does not get replenished very quickly would be nice if unlimited juice as well but nice food when it’s out

Thank EmsPeppie
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast. We will pass your comments on to the team and aim to speed up our delivery of the food items to the deck. Kind regards The Friary.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would like to thank the manager and his team for making a terrible day into a super day. We were out all day on a Sunday and were hungry so we stop at Toby carvery for a meal The first one in Gloucester was...More

Thank countryfan71
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much. I am really please that myself and the team made your Super Sunday. Also thank you driving all the way to us for a Sunday roast and we are all glad you enjoyed great service and food. We will take your...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a Wednesday afternoon. Not busy. Partner had carvery I had salad which took so long to come my partner had finished his meal. Salad not as shown on menu very basic. Restaurant was filthy. Carpets covered in food looked like had been there...More

Thank Swindon E
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Swindon E, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Please contact us at 01793 702081 so we can work with you to make this right. Kind regards The Friary.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went in for lunch, got seated quite quickly, and put in an order for drinks, after 10 mins, we asked if we could order our food, and was told there is only one staff taking orders, could we wait?I replied Yes if we even...More

Thank ShawnCozens
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Shawncozens thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly at 01793 702081 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well should be a good evening in family. The food was good and how we can expected. The only thing about my negative is the atitude from the manager. A lady that first took 12 min to came and speak with us because no sorry...More

Thank Linda Mónica Ro... S
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are sorry to here about your recent experience. We would appreciate it if you would like to call in and we can discuss what happened. It is not acceptable that your son was hurt by a highchair. Your feedback will enable us to ensure...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped here on way back from holiday to fill up on a roast. Dirty floors, food all over the floor by the serving hatch, sticky tables and generally unpleasant. Toilets smelt terrible too. Food cold. The best part was the Yorkshire pudding. Some veg overlooked...More

Thank auntiedooble1
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What is going on, of late all we do when we venture out to eat is to then just write how dull and uninteresting and poor the food is we have just spent good money on, in this case not a lot; maybe that’s its...More

1  Thank Antony l
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Antony L, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We appreciate you bringing this experience to our attention. We do try our very...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Cold Harbour
645 reviews
1.54 km away
Seven Star
37 reviews
1.33 km away
Harvester Swindon
509 reviews
1.46 km away
The Manor Farm
207 reviews
.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
STEAM Museum of the Great Western Railway
1,215 reviews
4.04 km away
Swindon Designer Outlet
1,504 reviews
3.99 km away
Stanton Park
156 reviews
4.10 km away
Swindon & Cricklade Railway
123 reviews
3.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Thesiberian
11 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mike K | Reviewed this property |
From memory! I know the floor plan seating layout is pretty tight and the standing in a long line is another obstacle. Assistance with the buffet food serving may also be necessary. I didn't use the toilet so I am... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$20
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Elstree Way, Swindon SN25 4YX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Swindon
  • Phone Number: +44 1793 702081
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to the Toby Carvery The Friary. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Swindon’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing