We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Bolton

) #157 of 422 Restaurants in Bolton $ , British,
Crompton Way, Bolton BL1 8TJ, England
+44 1204 591798
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good27%
  • Average14%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“roast spuds” (3 reviews)
“pudding” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Crompton Way, Bolton BL1 8TJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely family meal here. Food was good, plates could have been hotter though, helps to keep the dinner hot whilst wading through the vast amounts of dinner that's on your plate!! It's a treat to eat in such a lovely building. We'd...More

Thank Julie C
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Julie C, thank you for your feedback and review. I will look into the plates as they are kept on a hot plate but they may have been fresh ones that hadn't had chance to warm up for you. Hope to see you again soon...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was good . Good place to go for you tea . The staff were friendly. We had a choice of tables . Will go again. It's comfort food

Thank ianlineker
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much Ian, glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you back here enjoying it again soon!

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Awful just Awful. Food was below average but worse than this the place is dirty and I mean dirty. All the surfaces were sticky and grimy but worse of all underneath our plates and several I checked on the stack were covered in dry food,...More

2  Thank Dave L
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

I'm sorry you felt our restaurant was this dirty Dave. Our cleaners and kitchen team will focus on these areas mentioned to get our restaurant looking great again.

Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Went on Mother's Day shocking service and rushed over the meal. Rude staff too including a manger who told us we only had the table for an hour and this was after we complained nothing had been said sooner to us. It was a shocking...More

1  Thank Samantha-m2017
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

This is a slightly unfair review as your husband was informed that we where on a bookings only basis due to it being Mother's Day before you where seated. Sorry you felt rushed and we can only apologise you felt this way.

Reviewed 30 May 2017

We arrived at 12.30 pm to very hot and great looking food. Had Turkey & Gammon, very tasty, lots of roasties, cauli cheese and peas and great yorkshires, other veg looked good too but only so much you can fit on a plate!!! Staff were...More

Thank Michael G
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you for leaving this great feedback Michael, really glad you enjoyed your visit and that the food was great too. I'll let you in on a little Toby secret that maybe you aren't aware of, you can keep helping yourself to the veg as...More

Reviewed 5 May 2017

went for lunch with two friends, lovely carvery and plenty of chose,nice dessert,but was over charged as the board outside was saying one price and we were charged more,we did see the manager and he returned the over payment and took the board away

Thank beehenry47
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Sorry about the inconvenience caused Beehenry. Glad to see you still enjoyed your meal and dessert. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 29 April 2017

Lovely roast, great staff but don't have the Eton mess unless you like a dish full of cream. We had one strawberry, a little bit of meringue and half a teaspoon of passion fruit. Looking at the photo on the menu is was nothing like....More

Thank Norma D
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Thank you for leaving us your feedback Norma. I will look at our desserts to make sure they are being made correctly with our kitchen team. Glad you enjoyed the rest of your visit though.

Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

The food is always fresh and nice. The staff is friendly and helpful. I booked a table for 7 people. We got a really nice table and the booking was handled well. The chocolate fudge cake is incredibly nice ^_^ The building is beautiful.

Thank Viktória B
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Thank you very much for your review and feedback Viktoria. Glad you enjoyed the fudge cake too!!

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Visited today with the other half. Pleasantly surprised with the food and amount of meat carved. Other carveries slice the meat paper thin. Not so here. Great service too. Will definately return.

Thank Shaz H
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Thank you for your review Shaz, my team will be really happy to see your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 14 April 2017

Went on my own to treat myself on my birthday, and boy did they doi me proud, especially a tall young lad, (new member of staff I believe). He was wonderful, even put a ballon on my table, the thought made the day for me....More

Thank Mrs A A
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Thank you for your review Mrs A, glad we made your day and glad you took the time out to leave us your feedback. I will pass your comments on to him.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Tonge Thai
134 reviews
1.11 km away
Dolce Cafe
203 reviews
.55 km away
The Pavilion Indian Restaurant
174 reviews
.52 km away
Su's Fish & Chips
81 reviews
.74 km away
Nearby Attractions
Smithills Open Farm
712 reviews
1.87 km away
Hall I’ th’ Wood Museum
42 reviews
1.27 km away
Bolton Methodist Mission
15 reviews
2.09 km away
Market Place
19 reviews
2.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Toby Carvery Bolton staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$16
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Validated Parking
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:30
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Crompton Way, Bolton BL1 8TJ, England (Formerly Toby carvery)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Bolton
  • Phone Number: +44 1204 591798
Description
Welcome to the Toby Carvery Bolton. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Lancashire’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing