We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Calcutta Brasserie

7 High Street | Stony Stratford, Milton Keynes MK11 1AA, England
+44 1908 566577
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good24%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“mutton” (8 reviews)
“curry” (27 reviews)
“poppadoms” (31 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 High Street | Stony Stratford, Milton Keynes MK11 1AA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

We always look forward to having a curry when the inlaws stay over for the weekend! Calcutta Brasserie is set in a beautiful old church! Great value for money and the food is amazing! Just remember to order your takeaway before 7:30 pm because you...More

Thank Autobot_Bumblebee
Mo A, Manager at Calcutta Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks very much for your review Autobot_Bumblebee. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We always look forward to visiting Calcutta Brasserie and this time did not disappoint! We booked for an early dinner on a Saturday night and they happily accommodated 4 adults and a 3 1/2 month baby (with pram) We knew we were going to have...More

Thank j9night
Mo A, Manager at Calcutta Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you. Children are very welcome at all times and glad we made your visit a happy one.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four of us visited mid November after promising to go for years. A really lovely building and very good food. The service was fairly quick though the food was quite slow to come - but it was quite clearly fresh so I have no complaints...More

Thank Joe90ofWoburn
Mo A, Manager at Calcutta Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much, have a great Christmas!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

👍🏻We enjoyed the food. The tables are laid with white linen, the food is well presented and with care. The service was efficient and friendly. The restaurant is very large, bustling and busy. Too busy and large for our liking but the service was speedy...More

Thank PaddingtonBear63
Mo A, Manager at Calcutta Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry to hear about this rogue piece of dust ruined your experience. With 40ft high ceilings can be tricky to reach even for our long-armed cleaner, who is on holiday. We deep clean the restaurant every two months and this includes hiring a very tall...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first visit and the setting certainly makes for a unique experience. Could do with being a bit lighter though as it's a bit gloomy. The food was good but certainly not the best Indian I've had. We didn't have the Sunday buffet...More

Thank phillyfoo
Mo A, Manager at Calcutta Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for this. We're going through a slight refurbishment in the New Year so we will take these comments on board, including the lighting issue. Thank you again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This has to be one of the worst Indians I have ever been too. Dips for popodoms poor and minimal selection available. Main courses dry all aspects were dry from chicken to potatoes and even naan bread was dry. The service was quite poor and...More

Thank Leanne M
Mo A, Manager at Calcutta Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Really sorry to hear this Leanne. As you will read, the vast majority of people have a wonderful experience and sorry to hear this wasnt the case for you. We will look into this but I've not had a report from the staff with such...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Superb food served by excellent and friendly staff in the most wonderful old 17th century chapel building.

Thank MrQuiet1949
Mo A, Manager at Calcutta Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for 'shouting' about us 'MrQuiet'

Reviewed 4 November 2017

First visit on recommendation, will certainly revisit as setting, food & atmosphere were perfect. Made extra special by the service received from Elin Would defiantly recommend.

Thank Sueh1972
Mo A, Manager at Calcutta Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you very much Sue, much appreciated and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

I don't feel this restaurant should be rated 4/5 stars. The decor is extremely dated, the staff need be more attentive and the food was average. My advice is to look elsewhere if you are looking for fine dining curry cuisine. There are plenty more...More

Thank Kacie H
Mo A, Manager at Calcutta Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Sorry to hear this. Other than a couple of balti houses, our prices are very competitive and because we use fresh ingredients and high quality meats, this has to reflect sometimes in the price. If it's cost that drives your choice and not quality or...More

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Me my sister and my partner who is 7 months pregnant ordered takeaway food from this establishment. Once we were home I opened the dishes to find more than one hair in our curry dish. When I called to complain the staff member who answered...More

Thank mikey_gunn
Mo A, Manager at Calcutta Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Hello Mikey, I'm sorry to read this and apologies that this hasn't been handled better. The Friday you mentioned we were very busy indeed and short staffed (not an excuse). Apologies regarding the naan but your order had already gone to the kitchen and was...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cameron's Kitchen
328 reviews
.29 km away
MacIntyre Coffee Shop
69 reviews
.49 km away
Passage to India
96 reviews
.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cloud 9 Spa
10 reviews
3.18 km away
Milton Keynes Museum
622 reviews
3.45 km away
Milntown House and Gardens
94 reviews
5.24 km away
Grafton Spa & Wellness
20 reviews
4.83 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
AD93979
19 October 2017|
Answer
Response from stevenhutchings | Reviewed this property |
Busy. I would recommend booking. Despite being fairly large, it fills up quickly.
0
Votes
FootballMad1889
8 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Mo A | Property representative |
Sorry for the delay, we would suggest at 10pm please thank you
0
Votes
Stanley B
20 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Mo A | Property representative |
Hello there. It is 9pm. Thank you.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$23 - US$40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 High Street | Stony Stratford, Milton Keynes MK11 1AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Milton Keynes
  • Phone Number: +44 1908 566577
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing