We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Tickled Trout Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Smiths Hall Lower Road | West Farleigh, Maidstone ME15 0PE, England (Formerly The Chequers)
+44 1622 814717
Website
Today
08:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Fri 08:00 - 22:00
Sat 08:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 227: English reviews
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

After reading a few negative reviews, I was sceptical about what to expect, but I had nothing to worry about. The food (Sunday roast 2 course deal) was fantastic and all of the staff were polite and helpful - even when we asked for more of the 'bottomless' roast potatoes (which were the best I've ever tasted) Drinks were London-priced,... More 

Helpful?
Thank adamflewers
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Started badly two calls and ansaphone messages & an email leaving a booking were not answered. Arrived after eventually getting through by phone (2 attempts phone not answered first time). Very poor atmosphere cheap furniture grubby unstable table. Ordered drinks on arrival took 15 mins to reach our table. Then ordered roast beef NB £4 extra. Plate arrived with oversized... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry S
TickledT, Regional Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Tickled Trout. I am extremely disappointed with your feedback and would ask you to call me on 01622 814717 to discuss in more detail. We received extremely positive and complimentary feedback from our guests on Sunday regarding both service and food quality so I am concerned that... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyable dinner. Food really full delicious, we had the chicken and the haddock. Good atmosphere and cheerful service.

Helpful?
Thank nicki7008
TickledT, Regional Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Tickled Trout. We are delighted that you found the food to be "delicious" and the service "cheerful". The team strive to deliver excellent food quality and great service and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very young waiting staff that could do with more training, waited longer then we should have for our order to be taken and our drinks to arrive. Food was excellent and very reasonably priced for the quality and variety. the scotch egg with black pudding was exceptional. You will need to book early as the restaurant isn't vey big, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank sheilabarnard2017
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit yesterday to the Tickled Trout. We are delighted that you found the food the food to be "excellent" and reasonably priced. Our team are committed to delivering first class service so are disappointed that on this occasion we seem to have fallen short of our usual high standards. Your feedback... More 

Sheerness
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First visit to this restaurant set in the Heart of Kent, the building has obviously undergone a recent refurb but retained the character of a traditional country pub. We ate from the Sunday Lunch Menu and food whilst being very traditional could not be faulted in any way, quality of everything was perfect. Also to mention the very attentive (but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kentship
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Tickled Trout on Sunday. We are delighted that you were "very impressed" and that the team delivered friendly and excellent service. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Maidstone
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first visit since the refurbishment, felt very cold inside, not much atmosphere. We were greeted and asked if we had booked, gave the name and someone started to take our drinks order, however, that person just then walked away. We were asked again if we had booked and gave the name again, we were then asked again for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank PhilipDrury
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Tank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Tickled Trout on Sunday. We are surprised that you did not receive our usual excellent standards of service, as you can see from reviews of the same day, our service standards are usually reviewed extremely positively. Your feedback has been discussed with the team. We hope that you... More 

Yalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We live locally to The Tickled Trout and were very impressed when Hush Heath took over and completely refurbished it. We visited a few times when it first opened and the following few months but unfortunately our last couple of visits last year were awful. Although we could not fault the food the service was appalling. We brought this to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zoe A
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Tickled Trout. We are delighted that you gave us another try and were impressed. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The pub has had a serious upgrade, and everything is there to compare it happily alongside the likes of The Chaser at Shipbourne, The Milk House at Sissinghurst and The White Horse at Bearsted. (I assume these are the types of pubs that it aims to emulate, as their prices are at least up there with theirs!). But, it is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Quiffa
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Quiffa Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Tickled Trout and your comparison to other businesses in the area. The team strive to deliver excellent standards of guest service and food quality and as you can see from previous reviews manage to exceed our guest expectations. We are delighted that you were impressed... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stumbled upon this restaurant in this delightful village while passing through on our way to an appointment. We were so impressed with the welcome we received from the Restaurant Manager, who on finding we were strangers to the area took time to talk to us about the area and what it has to offer, the local vineyards and English... More 

Helpful?
Thank EILEEN W
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Eileen Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Tickled Trout. We are delighted that you found us and enjoyed your visit. It is always great to receive such positive feedback and we hope that you will visit us again soon. More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2017

This place promised so much but delivered so little. The food was below average for the prices charged. The staff were good but struggled, didn't appear trained. I think the problem is the management, all wrong for this place, in appearance and attitude. Would be better I a beefeater or a pub pub. Shame because its a beautiful place with... More 

Helpful?
Thank 145Katy13
TickledT, Regional manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear 145Katy13 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Tickled Trout. I am concerned about you comments regarding the management and team training at the Tickled Trout and would ask you to call me on 01622 814717 to discuss in person. As you can see from previous reviews the team are extremely passionate about... More 

Travellers who viewed The Tickled Trout Restaurant also viewed

Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
East Farleigh, Maidstone
 

Been to The Tickled Trout Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$44
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups, View
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Smiths Hall Lower Road | West Farleigh, Maidstone ME15 0PE, England (Formerly The Chequers)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 814717
Description
The Tickled Trout, West Farleigh is a modern and stylish pub with 6 boutique hotel rooms and a fabulous fish themed restaurant with an Italian twist. It also features an impressive fresh wine and beer bar where our guests can eat or drink in a relaxed yet sophisticated environment. We are open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Like all our other venues, we pride ourselves on serving delicious wines, ciders and craft ales including those produced by our own winery Hush Heath Estate in nearby Staplehurst. Our beautiful boutique hotel rooms, with their own private entrance, are designed with comfort and luxury in mind and in the summer we open our sun filled deck and terrace 'al fresco' dining area which overlooks the large, landscaped garden, complete with children's play area. An outside bar complements this area and is a fantastic 'go-to' destination and meeting place to gather friends and family together.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Tickled Trout Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Tickled Trout Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?