We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pippin

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
78 London Road, Maidstone ME16 0DR, England
+44 1622 750747
Website
Today
11:30 - 22:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 11:30 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:30 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 251: English reviews
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here to try somewhere new with 2 friends. Needless to say none of us will be back! I think they forgot the 'chicken' in my burger! See photo for size comparison! 2 small balls of what can only be be described as an attempt at 'pop corn chicken'.

Helpful?
Thank Jade K
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Every time we have come to The Pippin we have received nothing but excellent service , the friendly staff couldn't do enough for us the food is well presented and of a high quality , great value for money and I would recommend it to all my friends and family as a great place to eat 👍👍👍👍👍👍

Helpful?
1 Thank 28carl
Mataro, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's a nice place, we had no food, only some drinks. Cosmo cocktail was regular - too sweet. The pub is large and clean.

Helpful?
Thank KatjaLo
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Main mean come up out of 7, 2 meals were sent back chicken that was so hard my knife wouldn't go through. Apple and raspberry crumble that was like baby food absolutely no consistence. We were not even offered something else to eat instead of the main meals that were sent back. One person behind the bar serving the whole... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just finished our birthday meal at the Pippin. The food was awful. The food had obviously been left under the hot lights for way too long. Two of the chicken meals were like leather. Service was slow and in the three hours we were at our table we wasn't offered any drinks. The menu was small and over priced for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

waiting for friend so ordered something to eat. the pub is very large and very clean and bright was served very quickly and it was presented very well

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa Maria C
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We attended a function at the Pippin on Saturday 23rd April. This included a buffet lunch at a cost of £10 per head. A total of 67 people attended this function. The buffet lunch was probably the worst I have seen. The quality and quantity of the food was disgusting. For 67 people this included a couple of small plates... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrianTN40
ThePippinManagement, General Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback however. I think you need to take this up with the organiser of your function. This is not normally what we cater for however we agreed to do out best with what we were given the customer chose the items of food he wanted which we outsourced especially for this function as its not our... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Very good food was very good staff were nice and helpful small menu but the food was good service was quick big range of ale and wine

Helpful?
Thank David G
ThePippinManagement, General Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

Thank you Dave, please come and visit us soon and try our new ales they change regularly. More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Visited The Pippin as a group of 9 for Mothers Day Lunch and what a disappointment. The service was good but the food was terrible. The roast beef was very fatty the rest of the food had a greasy taste to it and the Yorkshire pudding was like a large flat bit of batter. Only one of us managed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy J
ThePippinManagement, General Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

I apologise you feel the need to give us further feedback after we discussed this at the time and resolved with you. All of you table agreed at the time the food was lovely except one meal where the roast beef was a bit fatty. Unfortunately we cannot control the amount of fat in the roast beef joints. However we... More 

Staplehurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Visited the Pippin for the first time in years to meet friends and have a meal. The fish and chips is the best I have had in a long time! The fish was fresh and perfectly cooked in a nice crisp batter, the chips were thick cut and perfect. The only down side - they had run out of mushy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tinacjordan
ThePippinManagement, General Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

Thank you for you comments the fish is chips is a great choice. see you soon. More 

Travellers who viewed The Pippin also viewed

 

Been to The Pippin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 00:00
Saturday
11:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 78 London Road, Maidstone ME16 0DR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 750747
Description
Purveyors of fine wines and good times, we're no strangers to the art of quality thirst quenching.

With our extensive wine list, new and improved cocktail menu and Cask Marque certified ales, you can be sure to find just the tonic, whatever your tipple, in Allington's best local boozer.
But we're not just about eating and drinking... We firmly believe that any pub should be the hub of its local community, and try to provide a selection of events to cater for all the eclectic and wonderful people who live in Allington. Our door is always open (during designated opening hours) and there's always something going on to get involved with or laugh at in equal measures. It's not a pub, it's a way.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pippin staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?