We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Hop Pole

94 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RS, England
+44 1684 274039
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good38%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (26 reviews)
“curry” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
94 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 469 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Thoroughly lovely place to stay . From very charming and helpful receptionist to very spacious and well kept room : toasty warm , cosy and quiet . . and of course the great food in Weatherspoon with beer / cider where we are not being...More

Thank John M
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Walking in the building seemed nice, then when you continue it's dark dank and dingy. The tables were sticky and not clean. The food and staff overall and nice. You need to make the place a bit lighter so when you eat you can see...More

Thank Izzy B
Reviewed 1 week ago

A good example of a town centre Wetherspoons pub, A lovely old building, well preserved and a good range of cask ales. As ever, there is something for everybody here.

Thank DeeC53
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited Tewksbury for the morning and decided to stop by for coffee and a snack Excellent customer service and great value

Thank Sqib
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review, We are pleased to hear that you received excellent customer service when you stopped by for coffee and a snack one morning. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in a beautiful room in the oldest part of the hotel. Clean and comfortable with all the essentials. Busy pub, as you would expect from a Wetherspoons.More

Thank PaulB27August
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of the older parts of the hotel, and that you found it to be clean and comfortable with everything you needed. It is also...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Royal Hop Pole has a large beer garden which is great for warm summers days, however the inside, although nice, is very dark. This is probably not the best place for a winter daytime but is a great place for a summers day or...More

Thank JXXXR
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Customer, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you found the interior of the pub to be dark, as a listed amalgamation of buildings, we are restricted with what we can do, but have tried to improve the lighting where...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having become recent converts to the Wetherspoon brand we popped in here for lunch. The first thing that strikes you is how dark it is even though the lights are on. (I can remember when a restaurant was dark so that you couldn’t see what...More

1  Thank johnny-glen
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Customer, Thank you for you review. We are sorry that you didn't fully enjoy your meal with us, we will feedback your comments to the kitchen team regarding your meal and its presentation during your visit. One of the downsides to having such a...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Food was great. Service fast and friendly. Reason for 1 star - the manager needs some equality and diversity training. If you have a dog in the pub ask if it is a service dog. Do not just assume and order the dog is removed....More

1  Thank StuartM1479
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Customer, We are sorry to hear that you didn't fully enjoy your experience with us. We as a pub team undertake frequent equality, diversity and inclusion training. We do also have a no dogs (except service dogs) policy, which sometimes, its not always immediately...More

Reviewed September 14, 2018

How often can you eat and drink in a place mentioned in the Pickwick Papers? The Hop Pole has good, solid pub grub, pizza, curries, pies -- nothing fancy, but everything fine, and in quantity at amazingly good prices. The staff is great: friendly, helpful,...More

1  Thank Porcophile
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Dear Customer, thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to us, and found we offer value for money good food! We are spread across 3 building so there are plenty of places to take a seat. It...More

Reviewed September 9, 2018

Explore the garden, sit by the river if the weather is nice. Otherwise plenty of room inside, historical building with many plaques explaining the conservation and history of the building. Normal great choice of Wetherspoons pub meals, and spoilt for choice with Real Ales. Bottomless...More

1  Thank Adrian A
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us, and enjoyed some nice weather in our riverside garden too. There is so much history to our hotel, we even have a medieval hall upstairs -...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Tewkesbury
The Royal Hop Pole
1,093 reviews
.01 km away
Tudor House Hotel
614 reviews
.43 km away
Tewkesbury Park
689 reviews
1.65 km away
Premier Inn Tewkesbury Hotel
585 reviews
2.19 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Caffe e Vino
260 reviews
.03 km away
My Great Grandfather's
500 reviews
.06 km away
Touching Souls Tea Room
112 reviews
.11 km away
The Abbot's Table
157 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tewkesbury Abbey
1,580 reviews
.23 km away
John Moore Museum
74 reviews
.16 km away
Rosehill Travel - Day Tours
14 reviews
1.38 km away
Tewkesbury Museum
78 reviews
.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
robpam47
August 19, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Harry P | Reviewed this property |
Hi. Opens at 7am and closes at 11pm on Sunday. Hope this helps :)
0
Votes
Nigel R
February 5, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from JANET G | Reviewed this property |
They were on the menu in January , and they were lovely x
0
Votes
Nigel R
February 3, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Markku M | Reviewed this property |
By their site, they are jdwetherspoon com
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 94 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Tewkesbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1684 274039
  • This restaurant is at The Royal Hop Pole
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing