We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Hop Pole

94 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RS, England
+44 1684 274039
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good38%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (26 reviews)
“mixed grill” (5 reviews)
“curry” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
94 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 486 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Really well run pub, always very busy and you can tell why! Great beer, great food and great service. Ive never been to a wetherspoons as good as this and what a beautiful garden and location. Very impressed and will be back often!More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Alex W
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Alex W, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoy great beer, great food & great service when visiting us at The Royal Hop Pole - that's what its all about! We are pleased that you will be...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

All sorts of nick nacky rooms. Tasteful decor. Pleasant breakfast and evening meal on New Year's Day. Prices higher than other nearby 'Spoons, possibly in view of the place having a captive market, as it is a hotel, or perhaps it is an affluent area...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank alanwY1100GY
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear alanwY1100GY, Thank you for your review. We are an amalgamation of historic buildings, which creates lots of different rooms to sit in. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and evening meal with us on New Years Day, and we hope...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Haven’t been for a while. Due to inedible avocado salad. Put me off. Was really impressed this last visit. Small fish and chips was perfectly cooked. Husband enjoyed his food also. Keep up the good work.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank sa11y2017
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear sa11y2017, Thank you for your review, We are pleased to hear that you returned after you previously poor visit, and that you experienced our usual high standards on your return visit. We will pass on your kind comments to the team, and hope to...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Have stayed here before and will stay here again. Inexpensive, clean, great staff, fantastic selection of food and drink, cracking breakfast, love it! This hotel is a credit to Weatherspoons.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank John F
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear John F, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had another great weekend with us, and that you enjoyed the food & drink too! Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked by my husband as a Xmas present to each other, this was a break that didn’t disappoint! Great history contained in this well managed and restored ‘Spoons’! Fab and comfy room and nothing to much trouble, especially for Reception staff, Linda and Karen. Thank...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 381yvettew
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 381yvettew. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that your husband chose well when booking for your Christmas present for eachother, and that you weren't disappointed. It is great that you were looked after by Linda and Caron on our reception...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hop pole is an ancient inn - with lots of history- today it is our local - normal spoons value for money - great staff - a really lovely building, with great atmosphere. If you are visiting Tewkesbury drop in - you won’t be...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank James W
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear James W, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you use our pub as your local, and that you enjoy good value for money & are looked after by great staff too. Thanks for recommending us and we hopefully will...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Located in the heart of Tewkesbury this hotel is extremely good value. Our room was very clean and have everything you could need. However, it was at the top of the hotel under the eaves which while not a problem for us, it could be...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank sandracul
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that everything was as it should be for your stay with us, and that you would definitely return. If you do return and would prefer a room with slightly better access, please just...More

Reviewed November 28, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I visited Tewksbury and decided to have lunch here, it was very busy but our meals which were very good value, were served very quickly. I would definitely recommend eating here.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank DebE63
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review. It is great to know that you enjoyed your lunch here with us, and that despite being busy, you were served quickly. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards...More

Reviewed November 27, 2018 via mobile

We come to Hop Pole most weeks and very rarely are let down. Food is always good, atmosphere is always good and the staff are fab. So glad it’s our local!More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank justineo974
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Customer, thank you for your review. We are so pleased to read that you always enjoy good food, a good atmosphere, and find our team to be fab too. Thank you for using us as your local, and we look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed November 27, 2018

Stayed here for two night .On booking in reception gave us a free parking card for car park at rear of hotel,must be one of the cheapest places to stay with no lack of quality.All food purchased in Hop Pole was hot, good quality and...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Andy T
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is great to know that you enjoyed a good value stay with here at The Hop Pole, and that you found the quality wasn't compromised either. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed good quality food...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Tewkesbury
The Royal Hop Pole
1,111 reviews
.01 km away
Tudor House Hotel
626 reviews
.43 km away
Tewkesbury Park
727 reviews
1.65 km away
Premier Inn Tewkesbury Hotel
602 reviews
2.19 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Caffe e Vino
268 reviews
.03 km away
My Great Grandfather's
509 reviews
.06 km away
Touching Souls Tea Room
115 reviews
.11 km away
Crumpets
158 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tewkesbury Abbey
1,618 reviews
.23 km away
The Roses
119 reviews
.50 km away
Rosehill Travel - Day Tours
15 reviews
1.38 km away
John Moore Museum
74 reviews
.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
robpam47
August 19, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 538harryp | Reviewed this property |
Hi. Opens at 7am and closes at 11pm on Sunday. Hope this helps :)
0
Votes
dinkytewkesbury
February 5, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from JANET G | Reviewed this property |
They were on the menu in January , and they were lovely x
0
Votes
dinkytewkesbury
February 3, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Markku M | Reviewed this property |
By their site, they are jdwetherspoon com
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 94 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Tewkesbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1684 274039
  • This restaurant is at The Royal Hop Pole
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing