We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plume Of Feathers - Crown Carvery

Stratford Road | Shirley, Solihull B90 3BW, England
+44 121 744 1021
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good32%
  • Average22%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“chili beans” (2 reviews)
“hash browns” (3 reviews)
“ham” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Stratford Road | Shirley, Solihull B90 3BW, England
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Although under the same management and staff and the carvery is the same, it has had a refurbishment and is now called a "stonehouse pizza and carvery". Approximately half is set aside for pizza and gives the impression of a "fast food" outlet, and there...More

Thank Norman7357
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time visit since refurbishment popped in for birthday meal...it was not busy but not empty. Looked nice in side more spacious moved carvery from the back to more up front..staff friendly. Now for the moans.... plates cold. Food looked great but unfortunately meal was...More

Thank Monica G
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my family were regulars at the old carvery, it was always good value for money and enjoyable; albeit the room needed redecorating and refurbishing. The circular tables don't work, felt like sardines backing on to each other. The high chairs don't push right...More

Thank jdmproperties
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Has been a while since we visited but def not impressed with new surroundings so much space wasted not enough seating menu not much choice on veg no mash talking to other customers same feelings will not be in a rush to go backMore

Thank Cathy M
General Manager A, Manager at Plume Of Feathers - Crown Carvery, responded to this review

We're sorry you aren't happy about the loss of seating in the restaurant, but we do have a new seating area on the other side of the pub where the old bar use to be. Unfortunately our masher is broke and we are awaiting and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I ate here last week for teh first time since the refurb. The refurb is nice and moden but I think maybe a bit of lack of planning means there seem to have ended up with less seating in the original seating area which I...More

Thank SwampyAJC
Chris M, Manager at Plume Of Feathers - Crown Carvery, responded to this review

Good Evening, We take all feedback whether positive, negative or neutral on board. I'm sorry that the starters were not up to standard, but we are glad you enjoyed your carvery. I will be speaking to all the team that were on the night of...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were recommended to have a meal at this pub following the latest renovations. Unfortunately each one of us had to change their choice due to lack of availability: no King Prawn Starter, no Pineapple with the Gammon and no Spring Onions with the Pizza....More

Thank John B
Chris M, Manager at Plume Of Feathers - Crown Carvery, responded to this review

Good Evening John, All team are trained to bring starters to the guest when they're ready from the kitchen. I am Also disappointed to hear that we had items missing from our menu, this has now been resolved, Our menu does state that the gammon...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been a regular here for years but stuck to just drinks (apart from the occasional breakfast) as I was never convinced about the food quality.... The refurb changed all that! Since it has been done I have eaten here a few times....and I...More

Thank kkh07
Chris M, General Manager at Plume Of Feathers - Crown Carvery, responded to this review

Good Evening, It's nice to hear you love the change!! It is always to positive feedback from our guests. I would suggest you try our mega meat calzone next time your in!! You'll be more blown away. Regards Chris

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is no longer a Crown Carvery and has been re-branded Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery and refurbished. When we first started coming here the carvery was £2.69. And for that price no complaints could be made about the carvery. It has never been anything special...More

2  Thank Susan L
Chris M, General Manager at Plume Of Feathers - Crown Carvery, responded to this review

Good Evening, Sorry that the refurb isn't to your taste. The Plume 6 weeks ago was very run down, leaking toilets, loose carpets, smoke stained walls, a miss match of seating, and generally poor. We were re-branded by Mitchell's & Butlers to Stonehouse Pizza &...More

Reviewed 13 April 2017

Arrived at 18.30 hrs and eventually found table in dining area next to kitchens and pizza oven but had to move within matter of minutes as heat was overbearing even with all windows open and fact it was not particularly warm outside.Having found suitable table...More

3  Thank oshmark
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

this was my first visit to the plume of feathers so i cant comment what it was like before although it was busy i had no problems as i am in a wheelchair i got round ok their was a good selection of meats and...More

Thank john w
Chris M, General Manager at Plume Of Feathers - Crown Carvery, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, We are glad you enjoyed your visit Regards Chris

Nearby Restaurants
Fukuoka Japanese Restaurant
176 reviews
.15 km away
Jalfrezi Indian Takeaway
10 reviews
.33 km away
Indico Street Kitchen & Bar
99 reviews
.70 km away
Desco Lounge
289 reviews
.69 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shirley Park
43 reviews
1.31 km away
Akamba Garden Centre
490 reviews
2.28 km away
Shirley Golf Club
16 reviews
.08 km away
David Lloyd
14 reviews
1.69 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Plume Of Feathers - Crown Carvery staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$3 - US$7
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
08:00 - 23:00
08:00 - 23:00
08:00 - 23:00
08:00 - 23:00
08:00 - 00:00
08:00 - 00:00
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stratford Road | Shirley, Solihull B90 3BW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Solihull
  • Phone Number: +44 121 744 1021
  • E-mail
As a family-friendly restaurant in Solihull, we pride ourselves on serving up a royally good roast dinner, whenever you want it. Tuck into cracking value carvery meals any day of the week, with your choice of tender, slow-cooked joints, traditional trimmings and unlimited freshly steamed veg.Eating in Solihull made easy. At The Plume of Feathers Crown Carvery restaurant in Solihull we don't stand on ceremony. There's no need to book; just pop in when you're hungry. We also offer Sky and ESPN Sports, a pub quiz every Thursday, and plenty of parking.