We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hungry Gecko - CLOSED

In In the garden of The Beech Inn, Beech Road | Chorlton-cum-Hardy, Manchester, England
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good8%
  • Average8%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible16%
11 Jul 2015
“Not good...”
6 Feb 2014
“Excellent food, timely delivery”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
In In the garden of The Beech Inn, Beech Road | Chorlton-cum-Hardy, Manchester, England
All Details
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

Coming out of both ends! Steer clear of the sloppy beef rendang! Tasted great but after effects outweigh the taste. Real shame.

Thank Dan R
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A cold wet Thursday night led us to order a takeaway from here. We saw on the website that they do local deliveries. Perfect. All dishes were outstanding. Great flavours, taste and spice all in the right combinations, and you could tell it was all...More

1  Thank tuttodue
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

That sounds like the start of a complaint. But no, I mean why did I wait so long to try the Hungry Gecko when I live only 3 minutes away? I did actually wait a bit for my main course - almost exactly the 20...More

Thank Michael S
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Have wanted to go to this place for a while after seeing Jackie on masterchef a couple of years ago, hoping for some tasty and authentic far eastern food and we were not dissapointed we will be going again soon despite the 40 mile round...More

Thank Arnold A
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We met in The Beech Beer Garden on a sunny sunday afternoon, on the recommendation of several friends . It was a brilliant atmosphere, already very busy when we arrived. After getting some quality ales and finding a seat, we digested the menu (plenty of...More

Thank Boaty68
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

I went to the hungry gecko yesterday and couldn't believe the rudeness and arrogance of the owner/chef. She was openly obnoxious and rude to her staff who were visibly shaking with nerves/fear because of it. Worst of all she was rude to myself and other...More

6  Thank Emyusjt
HungryGecko, Owner at The Hungry Gecko, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

I'm sorry you were so offended by my so called rudeness, however I think your comments here are uncalled for. If I need to reprimand a member of my staff, that is my right as their employer. It is a noisy environment and we have...More

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Visited on a sunny Saturday afternoon. The food was pretty good but was totally overshadowed by the horrendous service. Jackie shouted at both her staff and customers at every opportunity. She was so rude. Wish we had cancelled our order and walked away but they...More

2  Thank UKHazel
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Whilst walking around Chorlton on Saturday we were hit by a strong smell of amazing Asian food. Following our noses (and the crowd), we found The Hungry Gecko set up in the beer garden of The Beech Inn. The menu has enough to offer every...More

1  Thank Tom543
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The Hungry Gecko's Airstream Trailer nestled in the beer garden of the Beech Inn, Chorlton is one of the most unexpected and delicious experiences. The food is top notch and it is obvious that Jackie (the owner) takes a lot of pride in what she...More

Thank Mark E
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I love the Beech Inn, so it was great to find The Hungry Gecko taking up residence in the garden area. The food is good, no doubt about it, but fairly pricey given the portion size...i.e. small. My first visit was good, however, during the...More

3  Thank Denise_Manchester_12
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bar San Juan
692 reviews
.04 km away
The Laundrette Chorlton
485 reviews
.05 km away
Lead Station
325 reviews
.01 km away
The Parlour
240 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sale Water Park
114 reviews
1.30 km away
Jacksons Boat
106 reviews
1.05 km away
Manchester Disc Golf
20 reviews
1.11 km away
Comedy at Chorlton Irish Club
34 reviews
.23 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information
  • Address: In In the garden of The Beech Inn, Beech Road | Chorlton-cum-Hardy, Manchester, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Manchester
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing