We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Mere Madeleine

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2014 - 2017 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
French
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol

Location and contact

Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
French
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
4
5
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
4
5
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 12 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

Fast service even if the restaurant was full. We ordered a galette with jambon: not bad, but neither was special. On the contrary mussels with roquefort have been terrible: so drowned in heavy cream that was impossible even to taste the flavour of such a...More

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Treperzero
LaMereMadeleine, Propriétaire at La Mere Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

I regret that you did'nt have appreciated "Roquefort mussels". Roquefort it a very salted cheese, and without that you have called a "heavy cream", mussels would have been too salted...It was mussels with Roquefort sauce, not roquefort with some mussels... I apologize if you did...More

Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

We 've been there as we saw that they offer a big variety of mussels to choose from! We had the moules piquante (12,50 euros) and they were fresh (you could smell the sea!) and very nice! We had a small green salad also and...More

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank JNB2011
Reviewed June 13, 2017

Pancakes are fabulous and tasty, very good price quality, but mussels are a bit of a disappointment. Staff is friendly

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Trung L
LaMereMadeleine, Propriétaire at La Mere Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Staff is frendly... Good new... pankakes are fabulous ans tasty... Another good new... dIsapointed by the mussels? you should know that this product his a seasonned one...And it is not the best season...you should wait until mid of July... Sincelery y'ours Anne

Reviewed June 4, 2017

Very nice place to have a dinner (opened from 18:00). Really delicious food, quite big portion of a Galette. Nice stuff, english menu. No wi-fi. 8,50 for a Galette with mushrooms, egg and cheese + espresso. I saw a couple having mule with fries and...More

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank DannyWuu
Reviewed April 24, 2017

We have visited this unpretentious restaurant before and came again this week to sit in the sunshine and enjoy huge helpings of moules and frites. We had mussels in roquefort sauce and mussels in mustard sauce...absolutely delicious! The kids behind us were tucking into crepes...More

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank oldbat24
LaMereMadeleine, Propriétaire at La Mere Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2017

I really injoined your advice as it means that you decided to come twice, and this is, according to me, a beautiful recommendation, coming from rennes's visitors. I remenber you, your order and your place in outdoor...Just near the door. Welcome for perhaps an other...More

Reviewed September 25, 2016

Every time I am in Rennes, I visit this restaurant at least once. Although the prices are slightly higher compared to Rennes´s average, the meal and nice atmosphere is worth it.More

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank Jiří Š
LaMereMadeleine, Propriétaire at La Mere Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2016

Thanks a lot for your advice. We are trying to work with te better ingredients we can provide (most of them are coming from "french Bretagne"). I am not so sure that our prices are higher than the others crêperies or mussels sailers in Rennes...More

Reviewed July 2, 2016

We picked this moulerie/creperie from a row of eateries along the street simply because it looked busier than the others which we always take as a good sign. We sat outside and were served lunch by a charming young lady. Our choices of moules normandes...More

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Bimfan
LaMereMadeleine, Propriétaire at La Mere Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2016

Many thanks for your advice and for your comment about Anne, as she was serving you. Anne joigned us 2 days ago ans I'am really appreciating her. Anne(another one, (me)...I fear that it will be complicaded in te "crêperie-mussels"" to know who is asked for...More

Reviewed January 17, 2016

Rats!!! I saw the biggest rat I ever seen walking under the table next to me!! When I told to the staff I'll pay my beer but not the crepe I was about to receive because of it, they didn't even apologize and knew there...More

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Antoine M
LaMereMadeleine, Propriétaire at La Mere Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

inrfortunately english people have the reputation to act bich driking...I am remenbering perflecty our second custumer,Simon, as he was used to come twice a a week ,on sunday and saturday for more than one year as he is studiant in supelec rennes, he is since...More

Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

It is a very atmospheric place, in a genuinely old building. They offer many types of modules done in lots of interesting ways, and lovely crepes too. However you need to leave room (which is tough!) for the glaces...

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank RichardC383
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I had started out looking for a crepes restaurant. The first place I tried was a good-sized restaurant just off the Place de Parlement. It was busy which was a good sign; but there was no table available inside for me and I decided it...More

Date of visit: June 2012
1  Thank TPKerrCA
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from La Mere Madeleine staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing