We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant Le Plantagenet

5 Place des Plantagenets, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
+33 2 41 51 71 11
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good42%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“risotto” (3 reviews)
“cod” (2 reviews)
“amuse bouche” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
French, European, Gastropub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5 Place des Plantagenets, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped here at 2 pm for a snack, not realizing that a "restaurant" closes between 2 and dinner. The bartender told us it was impossible to seat us. But as we were leaving, the owner ran after us and told us to come back,...More

Thank Susan1923
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Susan, thank you for posting a review. In summer we serve until 2.30pm so there was no reason not to accept your table. Delighted to read that you enjoyed our new autumn dishes on the lunch menu. I am delighted to have been able...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This restaurant is located just outside the main entrance to Fontevraud Abby in a cobbled square overlooking the Town Hall. The food is excellent and is reasonably priced. The house wine is really nice too. Please note they stop taking food orders circa 21:00.

Thank Gary M
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

What a delightful review, full of practical advise for our future guests!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in La Croix Blanche and had five days of half board here. Always interesting menu choices, the hardest part was deciding what to go for. Just superb.

Thank CBRNTroll
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear British gourmets, we very much enjoyed welcoming you in our hotel for 10 days and were pleased that our dinner suggestions were appreciated by all ! Kindest regards, Christophe & Mieke, proprietors

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visit this area every year and had always intended visiting this restaurant but unfortunately we were disappointed. The waiters were very pleasant but the service was awful with orders going to the wrong tables and after waiting for half an hour for our starter...More

Thank frenchtraveller43
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear that your expecations were not met. Your order arrived at a French table, these guests also provided feedback along the same lines, same date. Thank you for pointing out that the chicken and the desserts were to your liking. Let...More

Reviewed 7 August 2017

Update: after I posted the original review below, I was contacted by the proprietor of Le Plantagenet, who did the right thing and offered to refund me for my wife's untouched dish. The refund was made in short order. I am re-posting the review because...More

Thank jykll
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Jykll, we have come to known eachother a bit better through our email exchanges - thank you for posting an update althought the original review dates back some months and many improvements have been made, as well as staff changes! Kind regards, Mieke, proprietor.

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We decided to test the menu, only 36 euros,and discovered an incredible terrine of sardine with lemon gelée,and regretted it was just an appetizer, we wanted more, but the starter, poached egg in red wine and mushroom sauce opened our appetite, then we split, my...More

Thank ArnaudLefevreBaril
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Looking at your name we think you are French but your review is in English. We are pleased to consider your review for both nationalites, what a pleasure to read it, much appreciated - thank you.

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Attentive service (although we had to wait for our bill to come), great food... and a little something (amuse bouche) before dinner. Generous refill of their excellent bread. $$.

Thank Attila B
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Your comments are most helpful and appreciated! a little trivia for you: in France no one will ask 'if you want the bill ?' as it is considered very rude; the guest has to indicate that he/she is finished.

Reviewed 15 July 2017

We booked a table for 8.30. When we arrived the restaurant was probably about half full with most diners probably on their desserts. Our drinks & food order was taken promptly. A nice bottle of rose from Saumur. My husband chose the lamb shank &...More

Thank Brigette
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Bonjour Brigette, We are so pleased that you enjoyed the service, decor of our restaurant, the food and the dessert presentation - however what a shame that your only negative remark (some flies) influenced your mark by 40% ....! As we are 'in the country'...More

Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We were in a mixed group of kids and adults and one thing I will say is that the kids menu is good, a limited selection of main menu items... We were left for ages before a drink order was taken. When the wine arrived...More

1  Thank Coffee-Nazi
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Bonjour dear guest, the private message we sent you in order to obtain a bit more information about your meal remains without reply. Therefore it is difficult to comment on the review you left here ... we are not quite sure it really went the...More

Reviewed 5 July 2017

We always visit here when we are staying at Clos Chavigny and we are never disappointed.Although much of the staff are young they are all very pleasant and the food is enjoyable.More

1  Thank Pat M
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear Pat M., thank you for your compliments. Most of our staff is indeed rather young, we spend a lot of time training apprentices and workexperience students in order to provide them with their first 'real life' employment contrat, which is very rewarding! (as we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fontevraud Le Restaurant
322 reviews
.30 km away
L'Abbaye le Delice
85 reviews
.57 km away
La Licorne
266 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Abbaye Royale de Fontevraud
1,326 reviews
.01 km away
Collegiale de Candes-Saint-Martin
38 reviews
3.70 km away
Chateau de Montsoreau-Museum of contemporary art
303 reviews
3.86 km away
Chateau du Petit Thouars
97 reviews
4.43 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Restaurant Le Plantagenet staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$23 - US$54
Cuisine
French, European, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Place des Plantagenets, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Pays de la Loire  >  Maine et Loire  >  Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
  • Phone Number: +33 2 41 51 71 11
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing