We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saltxipi

Calzada Vieja de Ategorrieta, 3, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
+34 943 32 33 10
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good30%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“clams” (15 reviews)
“baked crab” (7 reviews)
“monkfish” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, Spanish, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Calzada Vieja de Ategorrieta, 3, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came across this restaurant by chance and thought ourselves lucky as the setting was lovely and we had not made a reservation. We sat down, made our selections from the menu and were anticipating a pleasant evening of good food in pleasant surroundings. Unfortunately...More

2  Thank Becky_TdS
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning Becky. Our daily objective is to make people enjoy our food and service. We regret we did not achieve this goal in your case. We take a note of your review, as we do with all of them, and will keep working hard...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had not booked a table and were searching for a slightly out of town reastarurant when we came across Saltxipi. What a beautiful setting! However, this turned out to be the high point. The head waiter had an aloof manner and arrogant manner. When...More

2  Thank Shiran235
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning. We regret you did not feel as well attended as we would have liked. Of course, we read all the comments and try to use them to improve in every aspect of our job. We will d so with your review. Kind regards.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The waiter is positively rude at every opportunity. He took a dismissive attitude every time he came to our table. The food was nice, but nothing special, and very overpriced.

2  Thank craig M
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning Craig. We regret you did not find the experience as enjoyable as we would have liked. We will keep working hard to improve in every aspect. Best.

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The head waiter was repeatedly rude. He kept us waiting and when he appeared he immediately left us, with no explanation, to deal with another table. His surly rude attitude continued, including failing to inform us that items on the menu were unavailable. The dishes...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning. We regret you did not enjoy the visit as we would have liked. We take a note and will keep working hard to improve. Best.

Reviewed 8 August 2017

Recommended by our hotel. We both chose monkfish and it was great. It was also a very large piece of fish which was nice. Great service and would definitely go back

Thank 08pank2017
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Good morning. Thanks a lot for sharing your review. We are glad you have had such a great experience with us. It would be nice to see you back soon. Best.

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

For sure the place to visit for a lovely dinner if you stay a cuple of nights in St.Sebastian... This is the place where Dustin Hoffman or Meryl Strip were for dinner when they came to the Cine Festival!The grilled fish is superb!! And the...More

Thank gorkazm
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Good morning. Thanks a lot for the comment. We are glad you have such a great concept of our restaurant. That means you have had enjoyed your experience with us, so we are happy for it and we hope to see you back. Best.

Reviewed 4 August 2017

We were excited to dine in this restaurant as it was recommended by the concierge, as well as written up in a travel magazine. The restaurant is quaint, with a nice outdoor seating area. While the waiter taking our order was gruff, the rest of...More

Thank MSGW12
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Good morning. We regret the experience was not as great as we would have liked. We take a note of the things to improve and we will keep working for it. Best regards.

Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We went yesterday to this fish restaurant kind of 15 min walk from the old town. Very nice flowery garden. Chic environment with a warm touch of Spanish style. Perfect service. Great food. Great cava. I would recommend crab crockettes and baked crab. Wheelchair friendly.

Thank Fabiola B
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Good morning Fabiola. Thanks a lot for sharing your experience. We are really happy to read that the visit went great and that you enjoyed the food and the attention. It would be great to see you back soon. Best.

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

What a treat. Just about everything was great. Started with Jamon Iberico, house made seeded bread and shared a t-bone with my daughter accompanied with a bottle of pintia and finished it with torija recomended by our server. Excellet service and even better food.

Thank Vyrhkgist
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Good morning. Thank you very much for sharing your comment. We are glad to read you enjoyed the food and the service so much. We hope you are having or have had a great time in San Sebastian and to see you back soon. Best.

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

This restaurant is absolutely amazing! You have to have the steak and the torija! Will definitely come back! Overall an amazing restaurant.

Thank Sabrina D
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Good morning. Thanks a lot for sharing your review. We are glad you enjoyed the food and the visit so much. It would be great to see you back to San Sebastian soon. Best.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Zelai Txiki
307 reviews
.30 km away
Bar Bergara
518 reviews
.35 km away
Tatami
130 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
Zurriola Beach
659 reviews
.51 km away
La Gintoneria Donostiarra
234 reviews
.70 km away
San Ignacio Church
43 reviews
.59 km away
Basque Tours
537 reviews
.64 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
wluk
16 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Atencion_Restaurante | Property representative |
Good morning wluk. Thnaks for your question. Yes we have a parking for 15-20 cars just in front of the restaurant's garden. Looking forward to seeing you soon. All the best.
0
Votes
Google Translation
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$71
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
13:30 - 15:30
Tuesday
13:30 - 15:30
20:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
13:30 - 15:30
20:30 - 22:30
Thursday
13:30 - 15:30
20:30 - 22:30
Friday
13:30 - 15:30
20:30 - 22:30
Saturday
13:30 - 15:30
20:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Calzada Vieja de Ategorrieta, 3, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
  • Location: Europe  >  Spain  >  Basque Country  >  Province of Guipuzcoa  >  San Sebastian - Donostia
  • Phone Number: +34 943 32 33 10
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional basque cuisine since 1973. Large terrace.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing