We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Paseo Maritimo de la Barceloneta, 36, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
+34 932 25 92 00
Website
Today
00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,068 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 463: English reviews
middlesex
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Came here for a meal for 5, sat for over an hour before anyone took our drink or food order, looks like a nice venue but the service is horrendous and the food whilst okay is not worth the wait. There are so many much better restaurants so i'd avoid this one

Helpful?
Thank dollyshols
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Comida carísima y de calidad muy justa, carne seca y dura y las bebidas mejor ni hablar. El servicio fue, si cabe, lo peor de todo. The food was really expensive and the quality really poor. Better not to talk about the drinks. The service gived us a horrible treatment. We asked to talk with the manager and was better... More 

Helpful?
Thank carlesmgisbert
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very exclusive, smart, chilled place to eat. It's huge, but was totally packed when we went. It is set right on the beach. We had a table of 16 people, and all enjoyed our meals. The bill was also huge, but well worth it. A nice place to get dressed up for a celebration. It also turns... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alwyn H
shokoBarcelona, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Shoko, responded to this review

Dear Alwyn H, Thank you very much for your positive comment on your group experience at Shôko! Indeed, we enjoy a very privileged location with views to the Mediterranean Sea and a very relaxed and cosmopolitan ambience. As you mentioned, we turn into a Night Club in evening with the Best Hip Hop & RnB Music in town! We are... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fourth visit here, never disappoints me. Pricey, but well worth it. The sushi and grilled tuna are delicious, and so was the Chicken Terriyaki with noodles.

Helpful?
Thank Rob D
shokoBarcelona, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Shoko, responded to this review

Dear Rob D, Thank you very much for your positive comment on your experience at Shôko! We are always extremely happy to hear our frequent customers return to an equally as good experience every time! And indeed, you have named two of our star dishes! We are now preparing the new Spring/Summer Á la Carte Menu, which we are convinced... More 

Birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Seemed good to start with. A set three course meal with a drink from the bar and coffee for €21.50. Order the drinks. No problem. Starter arrives. Nice. The main comes along. Tasty. And then dessert. Average, but for the price it's quite acceptable. Someone neglected to say which drinks were and which drinks were not included, and there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank MartyBrum
shokoBarcelona, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Shoko, responded to this review

Dear MartyBrum, First of all, thank you for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to let us know about your experience with us. At Shôko our aim is to satisfy each of our clients and our only objective is your happiness and satisfaction. That is why we deeply regret when we do not fully achieve this. However thank... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rip off restaurant!!!! Do not eat in this restaurant - they will lie and say that a drink is included in the set meal price.....but will then charge you 10€ for a beer that they say is included........and to add insult to injury- the food was very average!!!.....when I tackled the staff about their 'rip - off' pricing.....they said it... More 

Helpful?
Thank David S
shokoBarcelona, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Shoko, responded to this review

Dear David S, First of all, thank you for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to let us know about your experience with us. At Shôko our aim is to satisfy each of our clients and our only objective is your happiness and satisfaction. That is why we deeply regret when we do not fully achieve this. We... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant looked very welcoming....had the set prices menu....food ok....drinks a total rip off....large beer was 10€......all other bars and restaurants along the beach charged 6€.....I was foolish in not looling at the prices. I would not set foot in this place again....feel totally ripped off!!!

Helpful?
Thank David S
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We went there based on the recommendation of a tour guide. We were looking for an alternative to the mediocre paella served in many of the restaurants on La Ramble and were looking for the real thing and the restaurant was within walking distance of where we were staying. Despite many of the rather negative reviews from many other members... More 

Helpful?
Thank David W
shokoBarcelona, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Shoko, responded to this review

Dear David W, Thank you very much for your positive comment on your dinner at Shôko and for choosing us to enjoy an exquisite paella at beachfront! There is nothing more important to us than your satisfaction! We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon at Shôko Barcelona! Best, Laura Palomino More 

1 review
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

An amazing paella, great flamenco live show, offered free welcome drinks and entries. A little bit expensive, but a great view and food. Totally worth it. Sugar was very welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank Angie B
shokoBarcelona, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Shoko, responded to this review

Dear Angie B, Thank you very much for your positive comment on your dinner at Shôko. There is nothing more important to us than your satisfaction! We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon at Shôko Barcelona! Best, Laura Palomino More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Went to eat in Shoko, thought we were going to a nice trendy restaurants that turns into a club. First thing I noticed was sitting for dinner on plastic chairs always a bad sign. If you go don't bother ordering the chick Paela 50 euros for a bowl of rice and chicken bones. Sent it back with not even an... More 

Helpful?
Thank AGP89
shokoBarcelona, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Shoko, responded to this review

Dear AGP89, Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your experience at Shôko Barcelona on Tripadvisor. First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our restaurant. We highly appreciate your opinion so we can improve continuously our service with the only objective to be the satisfaction of our guests. Our aim at Shôko is always exceed the... More 

Travellers who viewed Shoko also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Shoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$28 - US$45
Cuisine
Mediterranean, Japanese, Sushi, European, Spanish, Asian, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
Monday
00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
Thursday
00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
Friday
00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Paseo Maritimo de la Barceloneta, 36, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
  • Location: Europe  >  Spain  >  Catalonia  >  Province of Barcelona  >  Barcelona>  > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
  • Neighbourhood: Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
  • Phone Number: +34 932 25 92 00
Description
Shoko offers high quality Japanese and Mediterranean fusion cuisine. This huge restaurant lounge is right on Barcelona beach, next to Hotel Arts. The minimalist décor is modern and oriental and is based on Feng-Shui principals. The menu includes both exotic and traditional dishes based on a delightful combination of cultures and flavours. It is know for its great variety of main courses as well as its beautiful presentation and originality. All this is accompanied by oriental dance displays, martial arts demonstrations, Thai-Chi or other live shows. After dinner Shoko transforms itself into an exclusive lounge club where diners can enjoy the beach front terrace all year round. The restaurant is ideal for private functions and events.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Shoko and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Shoko staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica

Neighbourhood Profile
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
The sounds of Marina Olympica's rocking boats and clicking mastheads swaying to and fro set an impressive backdrop for Ciutadella and Villa Olimpica. Follow the aromas of garlic, wine, and fresh local fish to the various restaurants running along the marina. A grand bronze fish statue soaring high above serves as a beacon to those searching for the renowned Casino Barcelona or the extremely popular nightclubs which practically lie on the beach itself.
Explore this neighbourhood