We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

La Taverna del Borgo Antico

$$ - $$$
Neighbourhood:
Brera
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Via Madonnina 27, 20121 Milan, Italy
+39 02 8646 1186
Website
Today
11:30 - 01:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

815 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 140: English reviews
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This place was very close to the Duomo di Milano, we went there in search for an authentic pizza, and we found it. We had one Quatro Formaggi Pizza and one Sea Fruits Pizza. Both were excellent, served very fast and in an elegant manner. The prices were a little too high for a small place but the it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank RaducuRoman
Massimo T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Taverna del Borgo Antico, responded to this review

Thanks dear Customer for your friendly review. We are very hapy for your complete satisfaction. Our loyal Customers testify every day we have correct value for price, also depending to the first quality food used to prepare our plates. Hope to see you again very soon! More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pizzas are really delicious. Pasta versions are good and varieties are a lot. Recommend. Portions are big. If you are two persons, order for one and share.

Helpful?
Thank korhan s
Massimo T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Taverna del Borgo Antico, responded to this review

Thanks dear Guest for your kind review. We are happy for your liking and we hpe to see you again very soon to imrpove your level of satisfaction. More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was magnificent the staff were very friendly the cost was responsible to cheap but however the quality of the food and wine was outstanding for the price. Will be back here for sure next time I'm in Milian

Helpful?
Thank Deirdre M
Massimo T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Taverna del Borgo Antico, responded to this review

Thanks dear Customer for your friendly review. We are very happy for your complete satisfaction and we hope to see you again in our restaurant for other pleasant moments. More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We came here cause I wanted to have a pasta with fresh porcinis by all means-we had it couple of days go in other restaurant around the corner and it was just amazing!!! However, the pasta we had in Taverna was worlds apart from what we have hoped for. The sauce was too liquid and the mushrooms I'm afraid was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stefan G
Massimo T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Taverna del Borgo Antico, responded to this review

First of all thanks Stefan for the time spent reviewing our restaurant. We are very sorry for your disappointment about gastronomic proposals found in our restaurant. I know it's very difficult to satisfy every kind of Customers but we assure you our loyal Guests testify every day first quality of ingredients used in preparation of our plates. Concerning covered charges,... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We were looking for Italian cuisine at an affordable price, ordered focaccia (the best of it all), risotto milanese, pizza marinara and half a bottle of red Chianti. The service was very pleasant and most of the waiters spoke English. A good place when you just need to eat, but if you're looking for some dining experience - keep looking.

Helpful?
Thank Rafał S
Massimo T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Taverna del Borgo Antico, responded to this review

Thanks dear Rafal for your kind review. We are very happy for your liking and we hope to see you again in our restaurant to improve your level of satisfaction. More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

I am not normally a complainer, but I actually sent the food back. The polenta with Gorgonzola cheese and mushrooms was not only inedible but was perfectly disgusting. The mushrooms, clearly from a can and inadequately heated, were dumped on thickened unseasoned polenta next to some partially melted wads of cheese. To give them credit, the waiters seemed abashed and... More 

Helpful?
Thank outtasighte
Massimo T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Taverna del Borgo Antico, responded to this review

Thanks dear Customer for the time spent reviewing our restaurant. We are very attentive to the comments of our loyal Guests and we are very sorry for your disappointment also due the fact the plates you mentioned are normally very well appreciated. When something wrong happened our staff is ready to replace the plate apologize for the incident. Hope to... More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

I went there two times in a week because the pizzas and service was very very good. Especially find Rafael for good recommendations, good attitude, helpful and a professional service. The second time we were 4 people, try the pastas which were not good (maybe the choices were not good maybe the pizza was so good). 1 pizza two pasta... More 

Helpful?
Thank Soniz3
Massimo T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Taverna del Borgo Antico, responded to this review

Thanks dear Customer for your friendly review. We are very happy for your liking also because you decided to come again in our restaurant. Hope to see you again very soon! More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

After just arriving in Milan, this was an ideally located eating option with quick service and a smile. We sat outside under the outdoor heaters which was perfect and between us we sampled the pizza and pasta, both which were nice. 7€ a beer for 0.4l - this must just be Milan!!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Massimo T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Taverna del Borgo Antico, responded to this review

Thanks dear Customer for your review. We are happy for your liking and we hope to have a chance to welcome you again in our restaurant to improve your level of saisfaction. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2016

Have spent a lot of time in Italy over the summer and this stands out as the one place where I felt like I fell into a tourist trap. Thought we would try here for a bite to eat for lunch, ate off the lunch menu and the food was immediately unappetising. Have a high degree of certainty that eating... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pete R
Massimo T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Taverna del Borgo Antico, responded to this review

First of all thanks for the time spent reviewing our restaurant. We are very sorry for your disappointment however we want underline our loyal Customers does not consider our restaurant as a "tourist trap" because we serve first quality food and our staff is always "guest oriented". We are still sorry for your stomach trouble but I do not think... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Very good service , fine dishes , very good wines , cheerfull service staff.. Good compliment ( sparkling wine ).. You really get whay you pay for . 👍

Helpful?
Thank Alp B
Massimo T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Taverna del Borgo Antico, responded to this review

Thanks dear Customer for your friendly review. We always try to join warm and professional service with first quality gastronomic proposals. Hope to see you again very soon! More 

Travellers who viewed La Taverna del Borgo Antico also viewed

 

Been to La Taverna del Borgo Antico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Mediterranean
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 01:00
Monday
11:30 - 01:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 01:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 01:00
Thursday
11:30 - 01:00
Friday
11:30 - 01:00
Saturday
11:30 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Via Madonnina 27, 20121 Milan, Italy
  • Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Lombardy  >  Milan>  > Brera
  • Neighbourhood: Brera
  • Phone Number: +39 02 8646 1186

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of La Taverna del Borgo Antico and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from La Taverna del Borgo Antico staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Brera

Neighbourhood Profile
Brera
Brera captures the real essence of the city. It is an excellent mix between history and modernity, where tradition meets innovation. Here design and beauty reign. On Via Brera there are the famous Pinacoteca (galleries), the National Gallery of Modern and Antique Art, and the Academy of Fine Arts. Interior design boutiques and intellectual cafes are typical of the district. Walking along Via Madonnina is a must to admire the architecture of buildings and the design stores. On Sundays, going to the local market is an unmissable opportunity for fashion, style and art. Tucked away, there is the Orto Botanico di Brera botanical garden that seems like a painting framed in an ancient fairy structure. Last but not least, it’s worth a visit to Giardini Pubblici Indro Montanelli with its Planetarium, the Civico Museo di Storia Naturale (Natural History Museum).
Explore this neighbourhood