We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Milan

Rue Chaponniere 9, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
+41 22 732 46 65
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good34%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“pasta” (19 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
French, Italian, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rue Chaponniere 9, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 153 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
266
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Simple place with excelent food! I ordered the oreille d'elephant with pasta and it was marvelous! Recomend it! Would definetely come back!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are lots of great Italian restaurants in Geneva, but this is definitely not amongst the nicest ones. The service is at best inexistent, art worst intrusive and rude. The vitello tonnato is not the freshest on I tasted (to say the least), the ham...More

4  Thank Francois-Serge
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Both my friend and I chose oven baked pasta dishes. The food was excellent and super cheesey which is exactly as we'd hoped. In the menu it states that these will take around 25 minutes to cook (presumably longer than other dishes) and although this...More

1  Thank Ella G
Daniel G, Owner at Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ella, I'm sorry to hear about the lack of service during your visit. Only one waiter speaks a very good English. I was not at the restaurant that night and I will investigate what happen. Please accept our apologies regarding this issue. On the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The worst experience ever. The staff is extremely impolite and not welcoming. They don't even allow children to enter. Don't go their families.More

3  Thank Abdullatif A
Daniel G, Owner at Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Abdullatif, I prefer to correct right at the beginning. First of all, we informed you in a very polite way that we do not accept children under the age of 4yo. You did not want to understand the policy we apply in our restaurant....More

Reviewed 30 August 2017

Very nice service, attentive but not intrusive, excellent food started with Mozzarella Burrata Pugliese, followed by Penne Alfredo, all washed down with a bottle of Cannonau, thanks to the fanastic team in the kitchen ! Very nice terrace to enjoy watching the world pass by,More

Thank Daviduzbek
Daniel G, Owner at Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear David, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at le Milan. Our team always enjoys reading comments from happy customers. It helps a lot in improving the quality of food and service. Thanks again and see you soon. All...More

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Great service, good, and wine! Sitting out on the terrasse makes you feel like you're on holiday. Thank you, Daniel, for making me feel welcome! Next time I'll try the dessert!More

Thank Janet P
Daniel G, Owner at Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Janet, A big thank you for taking the time to write a review on TA. I know you enjoyed the Seafood Spaghetti. It was a pleasure having you at le Milan and next time I wish you would have more time to relax and...More

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We had a very good dinner at Le Milan! As mentioned in some other reviews the staff is very helpful, friendly and professional. Of course most important was the quality of the food. Every thing we ordered was well prepared with everything having good textures,...More

Thank JohnInHvl
Daniel G, Owner at Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear John, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your experience at restaurant Milan. Our team is always happy to hear from happy customers. It helps us to improve day after day the quality in food and service. Thanks again...More

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Normally just want to eat Vietnamese food but all close because National day. Near the hotel found this Restaurant Milan. Service is very nice, food is excellent. If back to Geneva for sure will back.

Thank DavosYY
Daniel G, Owner at Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear Davos, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TA. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your time in our restaurant. We will be pleased to receive you again during your next trip to Geneva. Sincerely, Daniel

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

I had the special osso bucco ravioli which was absolutely beautiful, but there was only about 6 pieces! Which for 36 CHF, I would have liked more. Even the creme brûlée for dessert was tiny. The restaurant has a lovely ambiance, so if they made...More

Thank Kazbar1981
Daniel G, Owner at Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear Kazbar, I would like to thank you for your review. I'm sorry to read you found the ravioli as a small portion. It's the first time we hear about the size of the dishes for paste. The weight of the 6 pieces filled with...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Got to the restaurant without reservation, they were welcoming, the food is tasty, the service is nice and the attention to customer need is very good. I recommend to go for a meal if visiting GenevaMore

Thank Wael Y
Daniel G, Owner at Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Wael, I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding your meal at le Milan. We are pleased to read you enjoyed our food and service. It's always a pleasure to hear from happy customers. Thanks again and we wish you all...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Parfums de Beyrouth
708 reviews
.08 km away
Au Petit Chalet
557 reviews
.05 km away
Il Monte Bianco
110 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Manor
130 reviews
.29 km away
Notre Dame Basilica
136 reviews
.16 km away
Office du tourisme de Geneve
39 reviews
.15 km away
Holy Trinity Church
12 reviews
.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
younghanchoe
13 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Daniel G | Property representative |
Dear Young Han, We are pleased to confirm your reservation for Saturday July 15th, at 19H20 for 3 people. Thank you for choosing Milan Restaurant for your evening in Geneva. Sincerely, Daniel
0
Votes
yckong2017
18 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Daniel G | Property representative |
Dear Esther, Thank you for your message. Unfortunately, Milan Restaurant is closed on Sundays and Mondays. We can book a table for you tomorrow if you wish. Sincerely, Daniel
0
Votes
yckong2017
18 June 2017|
Answer
Response from Lyn D | Reviewed this property |
Not my restaurant I did a review!!!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$80
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Tuesday
11:45 AM - 3:00 PM
6:45 PM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
11:45 AM - 3:00 PM
6:45 PM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
11:45 AM - 3:00 PM
6:45 PM - 10:30 PM
Friday
11:45 AM - 3:00 PM
6:45 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:45 AM - 3:00 PM
6:45 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rue Chaponniere 9, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
  • Location: Europe  >  Switzerland  >  Canton of Geneva  >  Geneva
  • Phone Number: +41 22 732 46 65
  • E-mail
Description
"MILAN" Restaurant in Geneva is not a 3 stars Michelin. We are just an Elegant Italian "Brasserie" working with the best ingredients to elaborate great dishes. Our mission is to give the best time possible to our guests while eating at Milan Restaurant. Dress code casual but no shorts, no flip flops! No baby strollers! Milan is the oldest Restaurant in Geneva! For a century, le "Milan" delivers exquisite gourmet dishes. This is the first Italian Restaurant in Geneva opened in 1910. Our specialties, spaghetti vongole, escalope milanese (elephant ear), sea bass in zucchini crust, homemade raviolis and risottos, One of the best Entrecote & Filet Mignon in town. Our beef is from Geneva without antibiotics and no GMO's
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing