We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Yamazato Restaurant

Ferdinand Bolstraat 333 | Hotel Okura, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 678 7450
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good17%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“sashimi” (59 reviews)
“shabu shabu” (6 reviews)
“black cod” (6 reviews)
Closes in 20 min
All hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ferdinand Bolstraat 333 | Hotel Okura, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I arrived at the Okura for a conference, but since I realized there were three Michelin Star restaurants, I knew I had to try them out. Unfortunately, Yamazato comes out as the worst of them. Don’t get me wrong, the food was ok, but the...More

Thank Antonio G
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I had lunch with my girlfriend, the atmosphere was relax and calm and overlooking the Japanese garden with pond. We ordered the sparkling sake, which was sweet and very tasty. The sushi and sashimi just melt in your mouth. So delicious. The tuna is smooth...More

Thank Jeffrey C
HotelOkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Yamazato Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Mr. Jeffrey C, First of all I would like to thank you for your visit to Yamazato Restaurant and taking the time and efforts to review us. I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable and serene diner in Yamazato Restaurant. Thank you...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We had there 5 course signature menu, including wines. We paid for four persons euro 1,000. A ridiculous price for the offered experience. The food was tasteless far from Japanese quality. The wine, euro 85 p.p. was bad. The white wine was a Dutch wine...More

Thank Herb P
HotelOkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Yamazato Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Herb P, Thank you for recently visiting Yamazato Restaurant and reviewing us via TripAdvisor. I am sorry to learn we could not meet your expectations. Yamazato Restaurant serves the traditional Japanese "Kaiseki" cuisine. This kitchen bases on traditional Japanese dishes, differing in many ways...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the hotel Okura and went to Yamazato three night on the row for the very best reason: This is a fantastic place. The food was excellent, so was the match of wine and sake, and the service is Japanese; friendly, present and...More

Thank Espen B
HotelOkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Yamazato Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Espen B, Thank you for recently visiting Yamazato Restaurant and Hotel Okura Amsterdam. We truly appreciate the time and effort you took to review us on TripAdvisor. Given the fact you visited us three times in a row and your wonderful review shows we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

High-quality service. Amazing nigiri-sushi, nice dessert, excellent plum sake. Large selection of good wines.

1  Thank antifrigo
Reviewed 1 week ago

Every time I was truly enjoyed and impressed by the authentic Japanese food and it gave me genuine pleasure to visit Yamazato. However I was disappointed that One Harmony point has not been properly managed given the fact that no points were added despite I...More

Thank groveside83
HotelOkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Yamazato Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest, Thank you for returning with Yamazato Restaurant and for sharing a review via TripAdvisor. I am sorry to learn we could not meet your expectations with regards to our loyalty-programme, "One Harmony". Please rest assured I will internally follow-up what went wrong. As...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We ordered the menu and apart from being fantastic the staff were very kind and the venue was made ver traditional Japanese. In all it was a very good experience, if you are ready to pay high prices for high quality and service then this...More

Thank Danny H
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our lunch was of great taste. But beside that, we were treated with a great respect and interest (thank you Arisa for your company). Any decent eating place should be like that. A perfect place to taste a piece of Japan in Europe.

Thank mrparis2017
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a good idea from my father to take me to Yamazato. I enjoyed every bite of the chef's menu. We ordered a bottle of Grunerveltliner and it fitted the food. Because of the delay of one of the courses they gave us a glass...More

Thank Demi D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Before coming here I was told by one friend that this was the best meal he ever had, and another friend said it was nothing special. It certainly was not the best sushi I have ever had, nor was the service Michelin star standard. I...More

1  Thank wwrrkd
HotelOkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Yamazato Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest, It is very unfortunate to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Therefore I have read your review with your valuable feedback with great attention. It is extremely unfortunate to read that your experience did neither meet your expectations nor our...More

Nearby
De Pijp
Bustling Albert Cuypstraat serves as the main drag
through De Pijp and the location for Albert Cuyp
Market, the largest and most famous of Amsterdam’s
many outdoor markets. Beyond this sometimes-frantic
thoroughfare, tiny lanes beckon urban explorers in
search of the latest trends and hidden gems. Nearly
half the residents living in De Pijp are foreigners
and a good number of them are students. Here you'll
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Ciel Bleu Restaurant
729 reviews
.09 km away
Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka
909 reviews
.03 km away
Brouwerij Troost de Pijp
201 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sarphatipark
99 reviews
.65 km away
Dageraad Complex
13 reviews
.35 km away
Boaty Boat Rental
475 reviews
.11 km away
CC Music Cafe
70 reviews
.39 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jeff R
3 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PaulB994 | Reviewed this property |
sorry jeff but you are not worth my time
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$157
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333 | Hotel Okura, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Location: Europe  >  The Netherlands  >  North Holland Province  >  Amsterdam>  > De Pijp
  • Neighbourhood: De Pijp
  • Phone Number: +31 20 678 7450
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing