We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

't Vonder

$$ - $$$
Dutch, European
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Binnenpad 14, 8355 BP Giethoorn, The Netherlands
+31 521 361 244
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 9: English reviews
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We got here just because it was the first place entering the town. Bad luck! First customer service is poor (the waiter was really unprofessional with a group sitting beside us) apart from being slow (not many people apart from us and long waiting time). We got the 'homemade' hamburger because usually in the NL that is a standard safe... More 

Helpful?
Thank alpheo83
Team_SmitsPaviljoen, Guest Relations Manager at 't Vonder, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We're sorry that you didn't like the taste of our burger. We strife for satisfaction with each of our customers. We wish you had said something that day, so we could have solved your problem and could have made sure that you weren't disappointed. We hope to see you again so we can show you our usual high... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Very bad quality food, and add to that the fact that we just asked about some dish, and decided not to take it and it came anyway. When we told we didn't order this eventually they insisted we do and made us pay for it. Bat quality and worst than that - bad service! Find other place...

Helpful?
Thank Ofir N
Team_SmitsPaviljoen, Guest Relations Manager at 't Vonder, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We're sorry that we couldn't deliver our usually high quality of service because of the unusually busy day so late in the season. We're sure our service will be great the next time that you'll visit us. With kind regards, Team 't Vonder More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Too slow, too slow, too slow. It took them 2 hours to serve a burger. And when i tried to call the waiters they completely ignored me.

Helpful?
Thank Quỳnh Anh N
Team_SmitsPaviljoen, Guest Relations Manager at 't Vonder, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We're very sorry that the service wasn't as good and as quick as usual. We hope to see you again soon, so we can prove our high quality. With kind regards, Team 't Vonder More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016

We stumbled across this place after traveling for almost 24 hours and desperately hungry for a late lunch. Now reading some of the reviews, my experience was better than others posted here. We had two wonderful salads with honey and goat cheese. They were very substantial and one of the top salads I've ever had. Service was a little spotty.... More 

Helpful?
Thank missamandajones10
Team_SmitsPaviljoen, Guest Relations Manager at 't Vonder, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the nice review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our salads so much. We hope to see you again soon! Team 't Vonder More 

Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2016

Nice view by the canal. Good food (we had fried fish and crepes with mozzarella and spinach). The espresso was not good (brown colored water).

Helpful?
Thank Alexander K
Team_SmitsPaviljoen, Guest Relations Manager at 't Vonder, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We're glad that you enjoyed your stay on our terrace and that you like the food. We have no idea what happened to the espresso because it's usually very strong (even for an espresso). Please tell us while you're still on our terrace next time, so we can check and improve right away. We hope to see you... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Okay food. Nice view. Uninterested staff. Typically dutch non service attitude. Prices were okay. They just rely on people passing by to stop and have a drink or snack. Nothing to make someone want to come back.

Helpful?
Thank Barry M
Team_SmitsPaviljoen, Guest Relations Manager at 't Vonder, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It's good to hear you enjoyed the view and the food. We think it's strange that you thought our staff was uninterested, because they're usually very friendly and attentive! We hope you'll come again soon, so we can show you our usual high quality service and food. Kind regards, Team 't Vonder More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

Good service. Does not accept international credit card. The burger was not good. Kids dish was fine but industrial naugets.

Helpful?
Thank tamir_adari
Team_SmitsPaviljoen, Guest Relations Manager at 't Vonder, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comment. We test all possible burgers ourselves each year, we liked this one best. Maybe next year we'll have another. It's true that we don't accept creditcards, only bankcards or cash. The kids dish with nuggets is a popular dish and because of the large demand for it we're not able to make all the... More 

Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2015 via mobile

We had mixed grill: grilled chicken, pork and beef , and it tasted good. Chicken soup was too salty, but apple pie was delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Grillcorn
Team_SmitsPaviljoen, Guest Relations Manager at 't Vonder, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It's good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We will check our soup. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again sometime! Kind regards, Team 't Vonder More 

Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Horrable coffee ("slootwater" as we use to call it in Dutch) but excellent pie-soup (erwtensoep)! This previous doctor (general practitioner) house is a nice atmosphere, especially the serre. Friendly service and very reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank Bert J

Travellers who viewed 't Vonder also viewed

Giethoorn, Overijssel Province
Giethoorn, Overijssel Province
 
Giethoorn, Overijssel Province
Giethoorn, Overijssel Province
 

Been to 't Vonder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Dutch, European
Restaurant features
Waitstaff
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Binnenpad 14, 8355 BP Giethoorn, The Netherlands
  • Location: Europe  >  The Netherlands  >  Overijssel Province  >  Giethoorn
  • Phone Number: +31 521 361 244

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 't Vonder staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?